Rates and Payments

Funding for CWES components other than shelter beds varies depending on the services provided and the geographical area covered by each contractor. This funding is defined in each contract. The maximum state payment for the use of an emergency juvenile shelter bed is defined by the Iowa Legislature. 

Iowa Code 232.141 subsection 8 states, in part, "If the actual and allowable costs of a child's shelter care placement exceed the amount the department is authorized to pay in accordance with law and administrative rule, the unpaid costs may be recovered from the child's county of legal settlement.  However the maximum amount of the unpaid costs which may be recovered under this subsection is limited to the difference between the amount the department is authorized to pay and the statewide average of the actual and allowable rates in effect...  In no case shall the [emergency juvenile shelter care] home be reimbursed for more than the home's actual and allowable costs..."                                                       

The rate the department is authorized to pay for CWES shelter care is identified annually in appropriations' language and set in the DHS contracts with its providers.  This amount may be changed annually with legislative appropriations language.  Appropriations language also states whether the statewide average of the actual and allowable of providers' costs will remain at the same amount in effect for the preceding fiscal year or whether it will change.                                 

Each CWES shelter care provider completes an annual cost report.  The provider's actual and allowable unit cost is calculated by a fiscal consultant hired by DHS to complete a desk review of the cost report. The finalized unit cost includes the actual and allowable unit cost and other program allowances.                                                           

The amount of a county's reimbursement to an individual CWES shelter provider is based on the fiscal consultant’s findings and is effective on the first day of the month following DHS' receipt of the provider's desk review and unit cost from the fiscal consultant.  (See the County Reimbursement Calculation below.)                                 

To view a complete listing of monthly provider unit costs and maximum county reimbursements for child welfare emergency services shelter care by state fiscal year please select from the list below.

Contact Jana Dunt at jdunt@dhs.state.ia.us, Bureau of Service Contract Support, Department of Human Services with questions.

An explanation of the County Reimbursement Calculation is provided below.

COUNTY REIMBURSEMENT CALCULATIONNote:  On February 29, 2016, Governor Branstad signed Senate File 2035 into law which retroactively increases the amount of the statewide average of the actual and allowable rates for reimbursement of juvenile shelter care homes utilized for the limitation on recovery of unpaid costs by $4.85 over the amount in effect for the fiscal year beginning July 1, 2014.  This change increases the statewide average of the actual and allowable from $143.63 to $148.48 effective July 1, 2015.

To calculate a provider's maximum reimbursement from counties:  

Use the lesser of:

  • The provider’s most recent finalized unit cost as calculated by the Department's fiscal consultant    or
  • The Statewide Average of the Actual and Allowable (SWAAA).  This is $148.48, for the state fiscal year beginning July 1, 2015.

Subtract:

  • The state rate. The state rate is $101.83 for the state fiscal year beginning July 1, 2015.                        

Net difference:

  • The provider's maximum county reimbursement if greater than zero.

         

Example of CWES Rates Payments - Example 1	$120.00	Provider's most recent finalized unit cost 	$148.48	Statewide Average of the Actual and Allowable  	$120.00 	$120.00 is the lesser of the finalized unit cost and the SWAAA  			 	$120.00 	Use the finalized unit cost 	- 101.83  	Subtract the State Rate				$  18.17 	Equals the provider's maximum reimbursement from a county 	  Example 2	$150.00	Provider's most recent finalized unit cost 	$148.48	Statewide Average of the Actual and Allowable 	 	$148.48	$148.48 is the lesser of the finalized unit cost and the SWAAA   	$148.48	Use the SWAAA 	- 101.83  	Subtract the State Rate 	$  46.65 	Equals the provider's maximum reimbursement from a county

Historical State Rate and
Statewide Average of the Actual and Allowable (SWAAA)
Effective Date State Rate SWAAA Max. County Reimb.
7/1/2017 $101.83 $148.48 $46.65
7/1/2016 $101.83 $148.48 $46.65
7/1/2015 $101.83 $148.48* $46.65*
7/1/2014 $96.98 $143.63 $46.65
7/1/2013 $96.98 $143.63 $46.65
7/1/2012 $92.36 $139.01 $46.65

* On February 29, 2016 legislation was signed in to law that increased the Statewide Average of the Actual and Allowable by $4.85 retroactively to July 1, 2015 thereby increasing the maximum county recovery from $41.80 to $46.65 for state fiscal year 2016.