Long Term Support Services (LTSS)

Long Term Support Services (LTSS) are available for Medicaid members to help them maintain a good quality of life in settings such as their home or, if needed, in a facility. Services are intended to help people reach the highest degree of independence possible. Additional information specific to long term care services can be found on the IME informational booklet, "Your Guide to Medicaid".

News and Announcements
  • Video Tips on Filling Out Prior Authorization Form and Nursing Facility Level of Care (LOC) Certification Form: The IME has released two videos that provide tips on how to fill out a Prior Authorization form and a Nursing Facility LOC certification form
  • CDAC Training Video: Learn more about being a CDAC provider by downloading the CDAC training video. You will be downloading a .zip file and when the download is complete, you will be able to view the training video. The training video is divided into six video segments: (download the training video)
    1. Introduction
    2. The CDAC Agreement
    3. Daily Service Record (DSR)
    4. Claim for Targeted Medical Care (TMC)
    5. CDAC Procedures
    6. Audits and Reviews


A. Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS)
Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS) are Medicaid programs that give you more choices about how and where you receive services and are for people with disabilities and older Iowans who need supports to live in their home and community instead of  in an institution. There are several programs that provide HCBS supports.

To be eligible for HCBS you must be:

  1. eligible for Medicaid
  2. need a certain level of care
  3. meet the specific requirements of the HCBS waiver for which you are applying

B. Intermediate Care Facilities for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/ID)
Intermediate Care Facilities for Persons with Intellectual Disabilities (ICF/ID) provide 24-hour active treatment and services for persons with intellectual disabilities and other related conditions.

C. Residential Care Facilities (RCF)
Residential Care Facilities (RCF) provide organized continuous 24-hour care and services for persons who need supports other than nursing care.

D. Nursing Facilities and Skilled Nursing Facilities (NF and SNF)
Nursing facilities provide 24-hour care for individuals who need nursing or skilled nursing care. Medicaid helps with the cost of care in nursing facilities, but you must be medically and financially eligible for care in a nursing facility.