
 

1305 E. Walnut Street, Des Moines, IA 50319-0114 
 

 

                      Iowa Department of Human Services 
 

Terry E. Branstad        Kim Reynolds      Charles M. Palmer 
 Governor    Lt. Governor     Director 
 
 

 
 
November 12, 2015    
 
 
 
Alison Frerichs 
801 Howard St 
Charles City, IA 50616 
 
 
Dear Child Care Provider, 
 
This letter is in regards to the 11-12-15 compliance check of your Level B, Registered Child Development 
Home.  Iowa Code Chapter 237A and 441 Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 110, describes specific 
requirements that must be met by a Registered Child Development Home.  The following areas were out 
of compliance at the time of my visit: 
 

 (4) All animal waste shall be immediately removed from the children’s areas and properly 
disposed of. Children shall not perform any feeding or care of pets or cleanup of pet waste.  
 
 (1) Documentation from the department confirming the record checks required under subrule 
110.7(3) have been completed and authorizing or conditionally limiting the person’s 
involvement with child care 

 
 441 IAC 110.5(8) “e”. A statement of health condition signed by a physician or designee 

submitted annually from the date of the admission physical. For a child who is five years of age or 
older and enrolled in school, a statement of health status signed by the parent or legal guardian may 
be substituted for the physician statement. 
 

Non-compliance with any of the mandated regulatory requirements listed above may lead to the 
cancellation or revocation of your Child Development Home Registration.  Please take whatever steps 
are necessary to completely address each of the violations noted above.  It is essential you correct all 
above-mentioned violations. 
 

Based on the items out of compliance listed above, you will be required to have a recheck or follow 
up visit to your home.   
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Please do not hesitate to contact me at DHS at 641-421-1219 if you have any questions regarding this 
letter. 
  
 
Sincerely,  
 
 
Amanda Nash 
Social Worker II  
 
Natalie Clapp 
Social Work Supervisor 
 
 
 
Always Remember: 
 
Child Care Resource and Referral is an excellent resource for providers to access training options and support in 
your area.  You can reach Child Care Resource and Referral at 641-424-9559.  
 
As you plan your future trainings to meet your 24 hours of training requirement, please remember that you need 
to use only DHS approved training and only 12 hours can be by self-study.  You can access the approved training by 
going to http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/Consumers/Child_Care/Professional_Development.html and you can sign up 
for training at https://ccmis.dhs.state.ia.us/trainingregistry/   
 
All providers need to maintain compliance with rules set out in Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 110, which 
includes:  441 IAC 110.5(1): Check with the appropriate authorities to determine how the following local, state, or 
federal laws apply to you: • Zoning code • Building code • Fire code • Business license • State and federal income 
tax • Unemployment insurance • Worker’s Compensation • Minimum wage and hour requirements • OSHA • 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). 


