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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RELEASE TO CONSUMER REPORTING AGENCIES 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 Amount Owed: Date: 
 
 
 
Case Number(s): 
 
 
Our (Child Support Recovery Unit) records show you owe past-due support in the amount listed 
above.  Federal and state laws require us to report past-due support amounts greater than 
$1,000.00 to consumer reporting agencies (credit agencies). 
 
The amount owed is calculated through the date listed above and is the total past-due support we 
are enforcing.  NOTE:  Because the amount only includes past-due support we are enforcing, it 
may not include all the past-due support you owe. 
 
We will send your name, address, date of birth, social security number, and information listed on 
this notice to credit agencies 30 days after the date on this notice.  After your name is referred, we 
send to the agencies a monthly update of the amount of past-due support you owe until the balance 
is paid. 
 
If you believe the amount listed above is incorrect, you have 15 days to request a conference.  
Instructions for requesting a conference are on the back of this page. 
 
 
Child Support Recovery Unit      Phone: 
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To request a conference, notify the office listed on page 1 of this notice and state that you want a 
conference.  We must receive your request within 15 days of the date on this notice.  Be sure to 
include your name, address, and the case number shown on page 1 of this notice. 

• You may ask that the conference be in-person or by telephone. 
• If you ask for a telephone conference, you must provide a telephone number where we 

can reach you for the conference. 
• If you do not provide a telephone number, your conference will be in-person. 
• We will schedule a conference and notify you of the date, time, and place of the 

conference. 
• You may represent yourself or have a lawyer represent you at your expense. 

 
The only issue that may be discussed at the conference is whether we made an error in determining 
that you owe over $1,000.00 in past-due support. 
 
You must provide documentation for any changes you believe should be made in our records.  
After the conference is completed, we will notify you of the result. 
 
If we receive your request for a conference within 15 days from the date on this notice, we will not 
report your name to credit agencies until after your conference.  If you do not attend the conference, 
we will send your name to the credit agencies. 
 
To pay all past-due support, send your payment labeled with your case number to: 
 Collection Services Center 
 PO Box 9125 
 Des Moines, IA  50306-9125 

 

Policy Regarding Discrimination, Harassment, 
Affirmative Action and Equal Employment Opportunity 

It is the policy of the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS) to provide equal treatment in 
employment and provision of services to applicants, employees and clients without regard to race, 
color, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, religion, age, disability, political 
belief or veteran status. 

If you feel DHS has discriminated against or harassed you, you can send a letter of complaint to: 

Iowa Department of Human Services, Office of Human Resources, Hoover Building – 1st Floor, 
1305 E. Walnut, Des Moines IA  50319-0114; phone (515) 281-4243, or via e-mail stopitdhs.state.ia.us  
 


