
 
 
                   Iowa Department of Human Services 
                 Notice of Termination of Child Support 
 
 
 
                   _________                   DATE:  __________ 
 
______________________________           IA Case Number:   ___________ 
______________________________           Other State’s Case Number:    
______________________________                __ _____________________ 
______________________________              Effective Date: __________ 
                                            Obligor: _________________ 
 
The Child Support Recovery Unit will terminate its services on the effective 
date shown above.  The reason for ending services is: 
 
 Paternity cannot be established because the child is at least 19 years 
old.  Action to establish paternity is barred by the statute of 
limitations. 

 The obligor’s location is unknown.  For three years, we have made regular 
attempts using multiple sources to locate the obligor, but have been 
unable to do so. 

 The obligor or alleged father’s social security number is unknown.      
For the past year, we have made regular attempts using multiple sources  
to locate the obligor or alleged father, but have been unable to do so. 

 There is no longer a current support order.  All support and/or 
delinquencies are paid. 

 There is no longer a current support order and past due amounts are under 
$500 or unenforceable under state law.  No payment has been made in the 
last three years. 

 The obligor or alleged father is deceased.  No further action, including a 
levy against the estate, can be taken. 

 
If you do not agree that services should end, you may discuss the decision 
with us.  The decision will be explained and you will have an opportunity to 
show why you disagree.  You may speak for yourself or you may have an 
attorney, a friend, or a relative represent you.  This conference will not in 
any way affect your right to a hearing described on page 2. 
 
NOTE:  You may reapply for services if a change in circumstances could lead 
to establishment or payment of a support order.  Notify us when such changes 
happen.  If you are not receiving public assistance, a new application and 
fee will be required. 
 
 
Legal references:  Iowa Code Section 252B 
                   441 Iowa Administrative Code 95.14  
                        
Manual reference:  Employees' Manual 9-I, Case Closure 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
                       Child Support Recovery Unit 
                       ______________________________ 
                       ______________________________ 
                       ___________________ 
                       __________________ 
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                            You Have the Right to Appeal 
 
What is an appeal? 
An appeal is when you ask for a hearing because you do not like a decision 
made by the Department of Human Services (DHS).  You have the right to       
file an appeal if you disagree with the decision.  You do not have to pay to 
file an appeal.  441 Iowa Administrative Code Chapter 7.                     
 
How do I appeal?                                                             
It is easy to file an appeal.  You must appeal in writing for all programs,  
except for Food Assistance.  You can appeal verbally for Food Assistance.    
To appeal in writing:                                                        
  *  Complete an appeal electronically at www.dhs.state.ia.us/appeals.asp,   
  *  Write a letter telling us why you think the decision is wrong, or       
  *  Fill out an Appeal and Request for Hearing form.                        
Send or take your appeal to the Department of Human Services, Appeals        
Section, 5th Floor, 1305 E Walnut Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0114.       
Your county DHS office will help you file an appeal if you ask them.         
 
How long do I have to appeal?                                                
For Food Assistance, you have 90 calendar days to file an appeal.  For all   
other programs, you must file an appeal within:                              
  *  30 calendar days from the date of this decision, or                     
  *  Before the date this decision goes into effect.                         
If you file an appeal more than 30 days, but less than 90 calendar days, you 
must tell us why the appeal was filed late.  If you have a good reason for   
filing your appeal late, we will decide if you can get a hearing.            
We are not able to give you a hearing if you filed your appeal 90 calendar   
days after the date of the decision.                                         
 
Can I continue to get benefits when my appeal is pending?                    
You may keep your benefits until the appeal is final or through the end of   
your certification period, if you file an appeal within:                     
  *  10 calendar days of the date on this decision, or    
  *  Before the date this decision goes into effect.                         
Any benefits you get while your appeal is being decided may have to be       
paid back if the Department's action is correct.                             
 
How will I know if I get a hearing?                                          
You will be sent a hearing notice that tells you the date and time an appeal 
hearing is scheduled.  You will be sent a letter telling you if you do not   
get a hearing.  This letter will tell you why and explain what you can do if 
you disagree with the letter.                                                
 
Can I have someone else help me in the hearing?                              
You or someone else, like a friend or relative, can explain why you disagree 
with the Department's decision.  You may also have a lawyer help you, but    
the Department will not pay for one.  Your county DHS office can give you    
information about legal services that may be available to you based on your  
ability to pay.  You may also call Iowa Legal Aid at 1-800-532-1275.  If you 
live in Polk County, call 243-1193.                                          
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                 Statement of Nondiscrimination                             
 
DHS will not discriminate against you on the following basis:               
*  Age                    *  Color              *  Creed                    
*  Disability             *  Sex                *  National Origin          
*  Political Beliefs      *  Race               *  Religion                 
 
If you feel we have discriminated, you can ask for a Discrimination         
Complaint form from any DHS office or the DHS Diversity Program Unit.       
To file a complaint of discrimination, you may also write any of the        
addresses below.  If you need help, you may call your county DHS office.    
 
                      Iowa Department of Human Services                     
                      Diversity Programs Unit 1st Fl                        
                      1305 E Walnut                                         
                      Des Moines  IA  50319-0114                            
 
                      Iowa Civil Rights Commission                          
                      400 E 14th St                                         
                      Des Moines IA  50319-1004                             
 
                      U.S. Department of Health and Human Services          
                      Office for Civil Rights Region VII                    
                      601 E 12 St Rm 248                                    
                      Kansas City  MO  64106-2808                           
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