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Thank you for providing child care through the use of a Child Care Assistance Provider 
Agreement.  If you have any questions concerning the minimum requirements or need help in 
setting up or improving your program, please feel free to ask for consultation from a child care 
worker in your local Department of Human Services office or from your local child care 
resource and referral agency. 

This handbook explains the minimum requirements for child care providers that are not 
registered but have a child care assistance provider agreement.  These requirements are 
outlined in Iowa Code 237A and 441 Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 120.  When you sign 
the application form, you are certifying that you meet all of these requirements. 

Definitions 

Legal reference: 441 IAC Chapter 120 

“Adult” means a person aged 18 or older.  

“Assistant” means a responsible person aged 14 or older.  The assistant may never be left 
alone with children.  Ultimate responsibility for supervision is with the child care provider.  

“Child” means either:  

♦ A person 12 years of age or younger.  
♦ A person 13 years of age or older but younger than 19 years of age who has a 

developmental disability as defined under the federal Developmental Disability Assistance 
and Bill of Rights Act.  

“Child care” means the care, supervision, or guidance of a child by a person other than the 
child’s parent, guardian, or custodian for periods of less than 24 hours per day per child on a 
regular basis.  “Child care” does not mean special activity programs that meet on a regular 
basis, such as: 

♦ Music or dance classes, 
♦ Organized athletics or sports programs, 
♦ Scouting programs, 
♦ Hobby or craft classes or 
♦ Clubs.  

“Child care home” means a person or program providing child care to five or fewer children at 
any one time that is not registered to provide child care, as authorized under Iowa Code 
section 237A.3. 

“Department” means the Department of Human Services.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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“Involvement with child care” means: 

♦ Licensed or registered as a child care facility, 
♦ Employed in a child care facility, 
♦ Residing in a child care facility, 
♦ Receiving public funding for providing child care, 
♦ Providing child care as a child care home provider, or 
♦ Residing in a child care home. 

“Parent” means parent or legal guardian.  

“Person subject to an evaluation” means a person who has committed a transgression and 
who is described by any of the following: 

♦ The person is being considered for registration or is registered. 

♦ The person is being considered by a child care facility for employment involving direct 
responsibility for a child or with access to a child when the child is alone, or the person is 
employed with such responsibilities. 

♦ The person will reside or resides in a child care facility. 

♦ The person has applied for or receives public funding for providing child care. 

♦ The person will reside or resides in a child care home that is not registered but that 
receives public funding for providing child care. 

“Transgression” means the existence of any of the following in a person’s record: 

♦ Conviction of a crime. 
♦ A record of having committed founded child or dependent adult abuse. 
♦ Listing in the sex offender registry established under Iowa Code Chapter 692A. 
♦ A record of having committed a public or civil offense. 
♦ Department revocation or denial of a child care facility registration or license due to the 

person’s continued or repeated failure to operate the child care facility in compliance with 
licensing and registration laws and rules. 
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Application for a Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.2(237A.12) 

If you want to become a nonregistered child care home provider, you will need to fill out: 

♦ Form 470-2890, Payment Application for Nonregistered Providers, and 
♦ Form 470-3871, Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement. 

Also form 470-2890 to inform the Department of any changes in circumstances that would 
affect your provider agreement.  If your household composition changes, you must notify DHS.  

Renewal of your provider agreement shall be completed every 24 months. 

Check with the appropriate authorities to determine how the following local, state, or federal 
laws apply to you:  

♦ Zoning code  
♦ Building code  
♦ Fire code  
♦ Business license  
♦ State and federal income tax  

♦ Unemployment insurance  
♦ Worker’s Compensation  
♦ Minimum wage and hour requirements  
♦ OSHA  
♦ Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)  

 
Record Checks 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.11(237A.12) 

For the protection of children, Iowa Code Chapter 237A requires that child care providers and 
others in the home must submit to checks for criminal or child abuse history.  The Department 
submits record checks for:  

♦ Every operator of a child care home. 
♦ All staff members, including substitute providers, with direct responsibility for child care.  
♦ Anyone 14 years and older who is living in the child care home.  
♦ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone.  

The purpose of the record checks is to determine whether the person has any founded child 
abuse reports, criminal convictions, or is on the sex offender registry.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Criminal Records Check 

Iowa criminal records checks must be completed before a child care assistance provider 
agreement will be issued.  Under Iowa law, form 470-5143, Record Check Authorization, must 
be completed by:  

♦ Every operator of a child care home.  
♦ All staff members, including substitute providers, with direct responsibility for child care.  
♦ Anyone 14 years and older who is living in the child care home.  
♦ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone.  

You are responsible for the completion of all required criminal record check forms.  State of 
Iowa record checks are repeated every 24 months and when the Department or registrant 
becomes aware of any new transgressions committed by that person in another state. 

National Criminal Records Check  

Effective July 1, 2013, national criminal records checks, based on fingerprints, must be 
completed before a home can become or renew a child care assistance provider agreement.  
Under Iowa law, DCI Waiver Agreement, form DCI-45, and Federal Fingerprint Card, form 
FD-258, must be completed by:  

♦ Every operator or registrant of a child care home.  
♦ All staff members, including substitute providers, with direct responsibility for child care.  
♦ Anyone 18 years and older who is living in the child care home.  
♦ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone.  

Providers will be responsible for having their fingerprints “rolled” before submitting their 
registration materials.  The provider is responsible for the completion of all required criminal 
record check forms.  

The national criminal history record check shall be repeated for each person subject to the 
check every four years and when the Department or registrant becomes aware of any new 
transgressions committed by that person in another state.  The Department is responsible for 
the cost of conducting the national criminal history record check.  
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Child Abuse Registry Check 

Child abuse registry checks must be completed before a home becomes registered as a child 
care home.  A child abuse registry check is to be completed on:  

♦ Every operator of a child care home.  
♦ All substitute providers or assistants, with direct responsibility for child care.  
♦ Anyone 14 years and older who is living in the child care home.  
♦ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone.  

The child abuse registry check is initiated by the completion of form 470-5143, Record Check 
Authorization. 

Absolute Prohibitions 

Individuals with the following convictions or founded child abuse reports are prohibited from: 

♦ Being a child care home provider, 
♦ Employment in a child care home, 
♦ Living in a child development home, 
♦ Receiving public funding for providing child care, or 
♦ Living in a non-registered child care home that receives public funding.  

The convictions or founded child abuse reports include: 

♦ Founded child or dependent abuse that was determined to be sexual abuse.  
♦ Placement on the sex offender registry.  
♦ Felony child endangerment or neglect or abandonment of a dependent person.  
♦ Felony domestic abuse.  
♦ Felony crime against a child including, but not limited to, sexual exploitation of a minor.  
♦ A forcible felony. 

Five-Year Prohibitions 

Individuals with the following convictions and founded abuse reports are prohibited from: 

♦ Being a child care home provider, 
♦ Employment in a child care home, 
♦ Living in a child care home, 
♦ Receiving public funding for providing child care, or 
♦ Living in a non-registered child care home that receives public funding.  
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Individuals are prohibited for five years from the date of conviction or founded abuse report for 
the following: 

♦ Conviction of controlled substance offense under Iowa Code Chapter 124.  
♦ Founded child abuse that was determined to be physical abuse.  

Individuals with these convictions or founded child abuse reports may reapply after the five-
year period has passed.  

Individuals with other founded child abuse reports or criminal convictions may be approved for 
registration, employment, or residence, depending on the Department’s evaluation of the 
incident.  

Record Check Evaluations 

The person having a record of criminal conviction or founded abuse will be sent form 
470-2310, Record Check Evaluation, to complete and return to the child care worker.  This 
form must be returned to the Department within ten days.  If the form is not returned within ten 
days, you will be sent a Notice of Decision denying or cancelling your child care home Child 
Care Assistance Provider Agreement.  

If the Department receives the completed Record Check Evaluation within ten days, the 
Department will evaluate the criminal conviction or founded child abuse record as required 
under Iowa Code section 237A.5.  The purpose of the evaluation is to determine whether or 
not the criminal conviction or founded child abuse merits prohibition of employment or 
residence in a child care home.  Based on the evaluation results, a Child Care Assistance 
Provider Agreement may be approved, denied, or canceled. 

Issuance of Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(1)“k” 

The Department issues a Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement when the applicant 
meets all health and safety and fire requirements.  The Department reserves the right to 
conduct a pre-inspection to assess compliance with health, safety, and fire requirements for 
those persons that have a history of non-compliance with regulatory standards. 

If you operate in a home built before 1960, you must also submit a completed and signed form 
470-4755 or 470-4755(S), Lead Assessment and Control, (including interim control table) with 
any initial application submitted on or after December 1, 2009.   

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Compliance Checks 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.4(237A.12) 

An unannounced compliance visit shall be conducted not less than annually for compliance 
with health, safety, and fire standards.  Completed evaluation checklists shall be placed in 
agency files. 

Parental Access 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.5(237A.12) 

Parents shall be afforded unlimited access to their children and to the people caring for their 
children during the normal hours of operation or whenever their children are in your care, 
unless parental contact is prohibited by court order. 

Denial or Termination of a Provider Agreement 

The Department will deny or terminate a provider agreement if it finds a hazard to the safety 
and well-being of a child and you cannot or refuse to correct the hazard.  This policy applies 
even though the hazard may not have been specifically listed under the health and safety 
rules. 

Comment:  You have a right to appeal if the Department denies your application or terminates 
your provider agreement.  You may request a hearing within 30 days after the date the official 
notice was mailed.  You should submit your request for an appeal to the local Department 
office or to the DHS Appeals Section, 5th Floor, 1305 E Walnut St, Des Moines, Iowa 
50319-0114.  

If your application is denied due to a recent founded child abuse record, you may also consult 
with the local Department office about filing a request for review of the child abuse report 
findings.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Number of Children 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.6(237A.12) 

The number of children shall conform to the following standards: 

♦ No more than five children shall be received for care at any one time. 

♦ In determining the number of children cared for at any one time in a child care home, each 
child present in the child care home shall be considered to be receiving care unless the 
child is described by one of the following exceptions: 

• The child’s parent, guardian, or custodian established or operates the child care home 
and either the child is attending school or the child receives child care full-time on a 
regular basis from another person. 

• The child has been present in the child care home for more than 72 consecutive hours 
and meets the requirements of the exception listed above as though the person who 
established or operates the child care home is the child’s parent, guardian, or custodian. 

Provider Standards for All Child Care Homes 

Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.7(237A.12) 

You must meet the following requirements: 

♦ Give careful supervision at all times. 

♦ Exchange information with the parent of each child frequently to enhance the quality of 
care. 

♦ Give consistent, dependable care and be capable of handling emergencies. 

♦ Be present at all times except when emergencies occur or an absence is planned, at which 
time care shall be provided by a department-approved substitute.  When an absence is 
planned, give parents at least 24 hours’ prior notice. 

♦ Shall be free of the use of illegal drugs and shall not be under the influence of alcohol or of 
any prescription or non-prescription drug that could impair their ability to give careful 
supervision. 

♦ Be at least 18 years of age. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Substitutes 

As the provider, you are responsible for providing adequate and appropriate supervision at all 
times children are in attendance.  Ultimate responsibility for supervision is with you.  Any 
substitute provider shall have the same responsibility for providing adequate and appropriate 
supervision. 

♦ Substitute providers must be 18 years of age or older. 

♦ All child care home regulations regarding supervision and care of children apply to 
substitutes.  

♦ Except in emergency situations, inform parents in advance of the planned use of a 
substitute provider.  

Maintain a written record of the number of hours substitute care was provided, including the 
date and the name of the substitute provider.  Substitute care may be used in the home up to 
25 child care hours per month and for an additional period of up to two weeks in a 12 month 
period.  This limit applies to the child care home, regardless of the number of individuals who 
may be providing the substitute care. 

Note:  Limits to the number of substitute care hours allowed does not apply when the provider 
is engaged in jury duty or official duties connected with the provider’s membership on a state 
board, committee, or other policy related body. 

Standards 

The next sections state the standards that apply to all child care homes.  

Conditions in the home shall be safe, sanitary, and free of hazards. 

Program Standards for All Child Care Homes 

Facility Requirements 
Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(1) 

♦ The home shall have a non-pay, working land-line or mobile telephone with emergency 
numbers posted and readily accessible for the following: 

• Police 
• Fire 
• Ambulance 
• Poison information center 
• The number for each child’s parent 
• A responsible person who can be reached when the parent cannot 
• Each child’s physician  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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♦ All travel vehicles must have a paper copy of emergency parent contact information. 

♦ Electrical wiring shall be maintained, and all accessible electrical outlets shall be tamper-
resistant outlets or shall be safely capped.  

♦ Electrical cords shall be properly used.  Improper use includes running cords under rugs, 
over hooks, through door openings, or other use that has been known to be hazardous. 

♦ Combustible materials shall be kept a minimum of three feet away from furnaces, stoves, 
water heaters, and gas dryers. 

♦ Approved safety gates at stairways and doors shall be provided and used as needed. 

♦ A private water supply shall have an annual laboratory analysis conducted to show 
satisfactory bacteriological quality.  When children under the age of two are to be cared for, 
the analysis shall include a nitrate analysis.  When private water supplies are determined 
unsuitable for drinking, commercially bottled water or water treated through a process 
approved by the health department or designee shall be provided. 

Comment:  If your water is not supplied by a public system, you must have an annual 
laboratory analysis on file with the Department.  You can get forms and a container for a 
laboratory analysis from the State Hygienic Laboratory in Iowa City, Iowa 52242, or from 
your local health department.  There may be a charge for this analysis.  If your water 
analysis report does not show satisfactory quality, you must provide a statement indicating 
your alternative plan for a safe water supply. 

♦ A safety barrier shall surround any heating stove or heating element, in order to prevent 
burns. 

Comment:  Anything that produces enough heat to burn a small child should have some 
type of barrier around it to prevent injury to a child.  Heat sources could include, but are not 
limited to, wood-burning stoves, space heaters, fireplaces, radiators, electric baseboard 
heaters, or steam-producing vaporizers, whenever in operation. 

♦ The home shall have at least one 2A 10BC rated fire extinguisher located in a visible and 
readily accessible place on each child-occupied floor. 

♦ The home shall have at least one single-station, battery-operated, UL-approved smoke 
detector in each child-occupied room and at the top of every stairway.  Each smoke 
detector shall be installed according to manufacturer’s recommendations.  The provider 
shall test each smoke detector monthly and keep a record of testing for inspection 
purposes. 
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♦ Smoking and the use of tobacco products shall be prohibited at all times in the home and in 
every vehicle in which children receiving care in the home are transported.  Smoking and 
the use of tobacco products shall be prohibited in the outdoor play area during the home’s 
hours of operation.  Nonsmoking signs shall be posted at every entrance of the child care 
home and in every vehicle used to transport children.  All signs shall include: 

• The telephone number for reporting complaints, and 
• The Internet address of the department of public health (www.iowasmokefreeair.gov). 

♦ Homes served by private sewer systems shall be in compliance with discharge restrictions 
identified at 567—Chapter 69.  Discharge of untreated waste water from private sewage 
disposal systems is prohibited.  Compliance shall be verified by the local board of health at 
the time of renewal or new application. 

Comment:  Contact your local public health agency to arrange for this testing. 

♦ A provider operating in a facility built before 1960 shall assess and control lead hazards 
before being issued an initial Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement or a renewal of 
the agreement.  To comply with this requirement, the provider shall: 

• Conduct a visual assessment of the facility for lead hazards that exist in the form of 
peeling or chipping paint; 

• Apply interim controls on any chipping or peeling paint found, using lead-safe work 
methods in accordance with and as defined by Department of Public Health rules, 
unless a certified inspector determines that the paint is not lead-based paint; and 

• Submit form 470-4755, Lead Assessment and Control, as verification of the visual 
assessment and completion of interim controls, if necessary. 

You should complete visual assessments on an ongoing basis and apply interim controls 
whenever a lead hazard is identified.  Record each visual assessment and each application 
of interim controls on the “Interim Control” portion of form 470-4755 or 470-4755(S).  When 
doing a compliance or complaint inspection, the Department may ask to view this form.  

Sign and date the first page of the form to verify that the visual assessment has been 
performed and interim controls have been applied before submitting the form to DHS.  
Make a copy for your records.  If a certified lead inspector has determined that the paint is 
lead-free, attach supporting documentation to the form.  

Comment:  See the “Lead Poisoning” section of this handbook for more information about 
lead hazards, visual assessments, interim controls, and contact information for the Iowa 
Department of Public Health. 

♦ The child care home shall be located in a single-family residence that is owned, rented, or 
leased by the provider. 

http://www.iowasmokefreeair.gov/
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Comment:  A “single-family residence” includes an apartment, condominium, townhouse, 
or other individual unit within a multiple unit residential dwelling, but does not include a 
commercial or industrial building that is primarily used for purposes other than a residence. 

♦ Any driver who transports children for any purpose shall have a valid driver’s license and 
adequate motor vehicle insurance that authorizes the driver to operate the type of vehicle 
being driven.  Child restrain devices shall be utilized in compliance with Iowa Code 
321.446. 

♦ Providers shall inform parents of the presence of any pet in the home: 

• Each dog or cat in the household shall undergo an annual health examination by a 
licensed veterinarian.  Acceptable exams shall be documented on form 470-5153, Pet 
Health Examination Veterinary Health Certificate. 

• Each pet bird in the household shall be purchased from a dealer licensed by the Iowa 
Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship and shall be examined by a 
veterinarian to verify that it is free of infectious disease.  Acceptable exams shall be 
documented on form 470-5153, Pet Health Examination Veterinary Health Certificate. 

• Aquariums shall be well maintained and installed in a manner that prevents children 
from accessing water or pulling on the tank. 

• All animal waste must be immediately removed from children’s areas and properly 
disposed of.  Children shall not perform feeding or care of pets or clean-up of pet waste. 

• No animals shall be allowed in food preparation, storage, or serving areas during food 
preparation and serving times. 

♦ You must document all injuries that require first aid or medical care using an injury report 
form. 

The form must include date of occurrence, when it was shared with the parent, and 
maintained in the child’s file. 

Outdoor Space 
Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(2) 

♦ A safe outdoor play area shall:  

• Be maintained in good condition throughout the year;  

• Be fenced off when located on a busy thoroughfare or near a hazard that may be 
injurious to a child;  

• Have both sunny and shaded areas;  

• Be kept free from litter, rubbish, and flammable materials;  

• Be free from contamination by drainage or ponding of sewage, household waste, or 
storm water.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Comment:  Equipment should be free of sharp, loose, or pointed parts that could cause 
injury to a child.  Permanent outdoor equipment like swing sets or climbers should be firmly 
anchored.  The play area should be well drained, and free from contamination caused by 
sewage, household drainage waste, or storm water. 

♦ When there is a swimming or wading pool on the premises: 

• A wading pool shall be drained daily and shall be inaccessible to children when it is not 
in use. 

• An above-ground or in-ground swimming pool that is not fenced shall be covered 
whenever the pool is not in use.  

The cover shall meet or exceed the ASTM International (formerly known as the 
American Society for Testing and Materials) specification intended to reduce the risk of 
drowning by inhibiting access to the water by children under five years of age. 

• An uncovered above-ground swimming pool shall be enclosed with an approved fence 
that is non-climbable and has a minimum height of four feet. 

• An uncovered in-ground swimming pool shall be enclosed with a fence that is non-
climbable and is at least four feet high and flush with the ground. 

♦ If children are allowed to use an above-ground or in-ground swimming pool: 

• Written permission from parents shall be kept on file. 

• Equipment needed to rescue a child or adult shall be readily accessible. 

• You must accompany the children and directly supervise during swimming or wading 
activities. 

• You must complete CPR for infants, toddlers, and children. 

Medications and Hazardous Materials 
Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(3) 

♦ All medicines and poisonous, toxic, or otherwise unsafe materials shall be secured from 
access by a child. 

♦ First-aid supplies shall include, but are not limited to, adhesive bandages, bottled water, 
disposable tweezers, and disposable plastic gloves.  A first aid kit must be available in any 
vehicle you use to transport children.  The first aid kit shall be stored in an area 
inaccessible to children. 

♦ Medications shall be given only with the parent’s or doctor’s written authorization.  Each 
prescribed medication shall be accompanied by a physician’s or pharmacist’s direction.  
Both nonprescription and prescription medications shall be in the original container with 
directions intact and labeled with the child’s name.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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♦ All medications shall be stored properly.  When refrigeration is required, medicine shall be 
stored in a separate, covered container so as to prevent contamination of food or other 
medications.  

♦ All medications shall be stored so they are inaccessible to children. 

♦ Any medication administered to a child shall be recorded, and the record shall indicate the 
name of the medication, the date and time of administration, and the amount given. 

♦ Medications shall not be provided to a child if the provider has not completed pre-service or 
orientation training that includes medication administration. 

Comment:  Medications include prescription medicines, over-the-counter medicines, salves 
and lotions, including those for itches, rashes, and diaper rash.  Over-the-counter medications 
should be given only following package directions regarding dosage, length of time given, 
frequency given, etc.  Any instructions beyond those on the labeling should have a doctor’s 
authorization. 

Emergency Plans 
Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(4) 

♦ Emergency plans in case of man-made or natural disaster shall be written and posted by 
the primary and secondary exits.  The plans must map evacuation routes and tornado and 
flood shelter areas. 

♦ Fire and tornado drills shall be practiced monthly.  Documentation of monthly practice shall 
be kept on file. 

Comment:  This can be as simple as a chart showing the date the drills were practiced, the 
time of the day, and how long it took to evacuate all the children safely. 

♦ You must have procedures in place for the following: 

• Evacuation to safely leave the facility 

• Relocation to a common, safe location after evacuation 

• Shelter-in-place to take immediate shelter where you are when it is unsafe to leave that 
location due to the emergent issue 

• Lock down protocol to protect children and providers from an external situation 

• Communication and reunification with families 

• Continuity of operations 

• Procedures to address the needs of individual children, including those with functional 
or access needs 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Safe Sleep 
Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(5) 

You must follow safe sleep practices as recommended by the American Academy of 
Pediatrics for infants under the age of one.  

♦ Infants will always be placed on their back for sleep.  

♦ Infants will be placed on a firm mattress with a tight fitted sheet that meets Consumer 
Product Safety Commission federal standards. 

♦ Infants shall not be allowed to sleep on a bed, sofa, air mattress or other soft surface.  No 
child shall be allowed to sleep in any items not designed for sleeping, but not limited to, an 
infant seat, car seat, swing, bouncy seat. 

♦ No toys, soft objects, stuffed animals, pillows, bumper pads, blankets, or loose bedding will 
be allowed in the sleeping area with the infant. 

♦ No co-sleeping will be allowed. 

♦ Sleeping infants will be actively observed by sight and sound. 

♦ If an alternate sleeping position is needed, a signed physician authorization with statement 
of medical reason is required. 

Discipline 
Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(6) 

Discipline shall conform to the following standards:  

♦ Discipline shall be designed to help the child develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect 
for the rights of others.  

♦ Corporal punishment, including spanking, shaking, and slapping, shall not be used.  

♦ Punishment that is humiliating or frightening or causes pain or discomfort to the child shall 
not be used.  

♦ Punishment shall not be administered because of a child’s illness or progress or lack of 
progress in toilet training, nor shall punishment or threat of punishment be associated with 
food or rest.  

♦ No child shall be subjected to verbal abuse, threats, or derogatory remarks about the child 
or the child’s family.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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Meals 
Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.8(7) 

♦ Regular meals and snacks which are well balanced and nourishing shall be provided.  
Children may bring food to the child care home for their own consumption, but shall not be 
required to provide their own food.  

♦ Clean, sanitary, drinking water shall be readily available in indoor and outdoor areas, 
throughout the day. 

Children’s Files 
Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.9(237A.12) 

You must maintain an individual file for each child and update it annually or when you become 
aware of changes.  

Comment:  Individual files may be in letter-size manila envelopes and contained in one 
expandable file folder, or be actual individual file folders.  To protect family confidentiality, 
make sure that the information is kept so that parents are able to see information about their 
own child only.  

The child’s file shall contain:  

♦ Identifying information including, at a minimum,  

• The child’s name and birth date,  
• The parent’s name, address, and telephone number,  
• Special needs of the child, and  
• The parent’s work address and telephone number.  

♦ Emergency information including, at a minimum,  

• Where the parent can be reached,  
• The name and telephone number of the child’s regular source of health care, and  
• The name, telephone number, and relationship to the child of another adult available in 

case of emergency.  

♦ A signed medical consent from the parent authorizing emergency treatment.  

Comment:  A signed medical consent form is very important in case of emergencies.  This 
form greatly reduces the time lost in obtaining emergency treatment for a child.  You may 
wish to check with your local hospital emergency rooms to determine if they will accept any 
form signed by the parents, or if they require their own completed form.  Also, check 
whether they require the form to be notarized.  

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
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♦ An admission physical examination report signed by a licensed physician or by a designee 
in a clinic supervised by a licensed physician.  

♦ A statement of health condition signed by a physician or designee submitted annually from 
the date of the admission physical.  For a child who is five years of age or older and 
enrolled in school, a statement of health status signed by the parent or legal guardian may 
be substituted for the physician statement. 

♦ A list signed by a parent that names persons authorized to pick up the child.  The 
authorization shall include the name, telephone number, and relationship of the authorized 
person to the child.  

Comment:  It is very important that any child in care be released to only persons who are 
on this list.  Request a photo identification of people whom you do not recognize on sight.  
If you release a child to anyone not on the list, and if something should happen to that child, 
you could be held liable.  

♦ A signed and dated immunization certificate provided by the Iowa Department of Public 
Health shall be on file for each child enrolled.  For the school-aged child, a copy of the most 
recent immunization record shall be acceptable.  

Comment:  To see current immunization required by the Department of Public Health, visit 
http://idph.iowa.gov/immtb/immunization/laws. 

Immunization certificates must be signed by a physician (MD or DO) or county health 
official and must list the dates of the doses and the health providers.  Medical exemptions 
must be signed by a MD or DO (not a chiropractor).  Religious exemptions shall be signed 
by the parent or guardian or legally authorized representative.  This exemption is only valid 
when notarized. 

♦ Written permission from the parents for their child to attend activities away from the child 
care home.  The permission shall include:  

• Times of departure and arrival.  
• Destination.  
• People who will be responsible for the child.  

Comment:  This could include such events as trips to the library or grocery store, or a “field 
trip” such as to the fire station or a farm.  It also includes instances when a child is 
transported to dance class, Scouts, etc. by another child’s parent or a person designated 
by the parent.  

Parental permission is needed whenever children in child care will not be at the child care 
so that parents know where their child is at and have unlimited access to their child.  

If the child meets the definition of homelessness as defined by section 725(2) of the 
McKinney Vento Homeless Assistance Act, the family shall receive a 60 day grace period 
to obtain medical documentation. 

http://idph.iowa.gov/immtb/immunization/laws
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Comment:  The term “homeless,” “homeless individual,” and “homeless person” means: 

• An individual or family who lacks a fixed, regular, and adequate nighttime residence.  

• An individual or family with a primary nighttime residence that is a public or private place 
not designed for or ordinarily used as a regular sleeping accommodation for human 
beings, including a car, park, abandoned building, bus or train station, airport, or 
camping ground. 

• An individual or family living in a supervised publicly or privately operated shelter 
designated to provide temporary living arrangements (including hotels and motels paid 
for by federal, state, or local government programs for low-income individuals or by 
charitable organizations, congregate shelters, and transitional housing).  

• An individual who resided in a shelter or place not meant for human habitation and who 
is exiting an institution where he or she temporarily resided. 

• An individual or family who will imminently lose their housing, including: 

 Housing they own, rent, or live in without paying rent; 
 Housing sharing with others; and 
 Rooms in hotels or motels not paid for by federal, state, or local government 

programs for low-income individuals or by charitable organizations. 

The individual or family has no subsequent residence identified and lacks the resources 
or support networks needed to obtain other permanent housing.  

• Unaccompanied youth and homeless families with children and youth defined as 
homeless under other federal statutes who have: 

 Experienced a long-term period without living independently in permanent housing, 

 Experienced persistent instability as measured by frequent moves over such period, 
and 

 Can be expected to continue in such status for an extended period of time because 
of chronic disabilities, chronic physical health or mental health conditions, substance 
addiction, histories of domestic violence or childhood abuse, the presence of a child 
or youth with a disability, or multiple barriers to employment. 

Training 
Legal reference: 441 IAC 120.10(237A.12) 

Iowa’s Child Care Provider Training Registry is an online tool where child care professionals 
can locate and enroll for DHS-approved professional development.  Center directors and other 
designated staff can enroll employees and track their professional development in a 
centralized location.  To access and enroll for DHS-approved professional development 
opportunities, please click https://ccmis.dhs.state.ia.us/trainingregistry/. 

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ACO/chapter/441.120.pdf
https://ccmis.dhs.state.ia.us/trainingregistry/
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Prior to registration and every five years thereafter, you shall complete: 

♦ Minimum health and safety trainings in the following areas: 

• Prevention and control of infectious disease, including immunizations 

• Prevention of sudden infant death syndrome and use of safe sleeping practices 

• Administration of medication, consistent with standards for parental consent 

• Prevention of and response to emergencies due to food and allergic reactions 

• Building and physical premises safety, including identification of and protection from 
hazards that can cause bodily injury such as electrical hazards, bodies of water, and 
vehicular traffic 

• Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and abusive head trauma 

• Emergency preparedness and response planning for emergencies resulted from natural 
disaster or a man-caused event 

• Handling and storage of hazardous materials and the appropriate disposal of bio-
contaminants 

• Precautions in transporting children 

♦ Two hours of Iowa’s training for mandatory reporting of child abuse and every five years 
thereafter. 

♦ First-aid and cardio pulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training: 

• Training shall be provided by a nationally recognized training organization, such as the 
American Red Cross, the American Heart Association, the National Safety Council, or 
Emergency Medical Planning (Medic First Aid) or by an equivalent trainer using 
curriculum approved by the Department. 

• First-aid training shall include certification in infant and child first aid. 

• You shall maintain a valid certificate indicating the date of first-aid training and the 
expiration date. 

• You shall maintain a valid certificate indicating the date of CPR training and the 
expiration date. 

♦ On-line CPR and first aid courses are not approved for continuing education or training to 
meet regulatory requirements. 

Minimum health and safety training may be required prior to the five year period if content has 
significant changes that warrant the training be renewed. 
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Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse  

It is mandatory for you to report to the Department immediately when you discover signs of 
abuse in the course of caring for a child.  You must make both an oral and a written report 
when there is reason to suspect that the child has suffered child abuse.  

The first step in reporting suspected child abuse is to call your local Department office or call 
toll-free any time, day or night:  1-800-362-2178.  You must make this oral report within 24 
hours.  If the child’s life is in immediate danger, call the police.  

The written report must follow within 48 hours of the oral report.  By law, the oral and written 
reports must contain:  

♦ The name and home address of the child and of the child’s parents or other persons 
responsible for the child’s care.  

♦ The child’s age.  

♦ The child’s present whereabouts, if not the same as the parent’s or other person’s home 
address.  

♦ The nature and extent of the child’s injuries, including any evidence of previous injuries.  

♦ The names of other children in the same home.  

♦ Any other information that the person reporting believes might be helpful in establishing the 
cause of the injury to the child, the identity of the persons responsible for the injury, or the 
identity of the persons providing assistance to the child.  

People who make a child abuse report or cooperate in the investigation of a report have 
immunity from any civil or criminal liability, if they report or cooperate in good faith.  Any 
mandatory reporter who knowingly fails to report suspected child abuse is civilly liable for 
damages caused by not reporting.  Failure to report is also a misdemeanor offense.  
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Be a Germ Buster…  Wash Your Hands! 
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Clean Dishes 
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Spray Sanitizer 
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Health and Safety Recommendations 

Best Practice for Child Care Homes 

Note:  Most of the information in this section comes from Caring for Our Children, National 
Health and Safety Performance Standards:  Guidelines for Out-of-Home Child Care Programs, 
Third Edition, 2011.  Available at:  http://cfoc.nrckids.org/.  This information is best practice for 
the health and safety of children in your care. 

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) 

Child care providers who use swimming pools must be trained in infant and child CPR.  
This training is also recommended for providers who use wading pools.  Providers who 
care for children with heart problems should also be trained in infant and child CPR. 

Reason:  The need for cardiac resuscitation is rare.  Children who have specific heart 
problems, such as cardiac arrhythmia, or children who are drowning in cold water 
(swimming pools, wading pools), require cardiac resuscitation.  Except for these two 
situations, the heart does not stop beating until respiratory failure occurs and causes 
permanent brain damage.  Child care home providers often work alone and are solely 
responsible for the health and safety of children in care.  You should have the necessary 
skills to manage any emergency while caring for all children in the group. 

Comment:  Contact your child care resource and referral agency about the training 
schedule for CPR. 

First Aid Training 

The National Standards define first aid as the first steps you take when responding to an 
injury or sudden illness.  First aid also includes the emergency care and treatment of a 
child before medical help arrives.  In Iowa, first aid training is required for child care home 
providers.  The training includes rescue breathing (mouth-to-mouth) and first aid for 
choking (management of a blocked airway).  Rescue breathing is the process of 
breathing air into the lungs of a person who has stopped breathing.  This process is also 
called artificial respiration. 

Comment:  Contact your child care resource and referral agency about the training 
schedule for first aid. 

http://cfoc.nrckids.org/
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Suggested First Aid Supplies 

First aid kits need to be readily available wherever children are in care.  This includes one 
kit for vehicles used to transport children and one to remain at home.  Here are some 
characteristics for first aid kits: 

♦ A kit should be a closed container for storing first aid supplies. 
♦ A kit should be available to your staff members at all times. 
♦ Each kit must be out of reach of children. 

The first aid kit should contain at least the following items: 

♦ Adhesive strip bandages, plastic bags for cloths, gauze, and other materials used in 
handling blood 

♦ American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) standard first aid chart or equivalent first aid 
guide 

♦ Bandage tape 
♦ Cold pack 
♦ Disposable nonporous gloves (similar to gloves used in hospitals; also called latex 

gloves) 
♦ Emergency medication needed for children with special needs 
♦ Emergency phone numbers 
♦ Parents’ home and work phone numbers 
♦ Poison Control Center phone number 1-800-222-1222 
♦ Eye dressing 
♦ Flexible roller gauze 
♦ Liquid soap 
♦ Non-glass thermometer to measure a child’s temperature 
♦ Pen or pencil and note pad 
♦ Safety pins 
♦ Scissors 
♦ Small plastic or metal splints 
♦ Sterile gauze pads 
♦ Triangular bandages 
♦ Tweezers 
♦ Water 

First aid kits must be refilled after each use. 
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Reason:  As the provider, you are responsible for protecting each child and making sure 
that your staff members can handle emergencies.  First aid was adequate treatment for 
84.4 percent of the injuries in a study that reviewed 423 injuries.  The supplies needed for 
child first aid should be on hand for use where the injury occurs. 

Comment:  You can leave a first aid kit in all vehicles used to transport children. 

Gun (Firearm) Safety 

The National Standards recommend that the following not be permitted: 

♦ Firearms 
♦ Pellet or BB guns (loaded or unloaded) 
♦ Darts 
♦ Bows and arrows 
♦ Toy guns and weapons 

If these items are present, they must: 

♦ Be unloaded 
♦ Be equipped with child protective devices 
♦ Be kept under lock and key in areas the children cannot access 

For best practice, let parents know about this policy. 

Reason:  From 1990-1998 in Iowa, 47 children under the age of 14 died because of 
firearms.  Children have a natural curiosity, especially about firearms.  They see weapons 
glamorized on television.  The risk for injury and death of young children due to firearms 
is becoming more obvious.  Children cannot make the distinction between a toy and a 
real weapon.  The potential for a tragic accident is great.  These items should not be 
available to children.  

Health-Related Emergencies Policy 

You should have a written policy outlining the procedures and actions you will take in the 
event of a health-related emergency.  The policy should address the following: 

♦ First aid measures 
♦ Contacting emergency medical services 
♦ Transporting of an ill or injured child 
♦ Contacting parents 
♦ Care for the other children in your care during the emergency 

Comment:  Assistance with developing policies is available from your child care health 
consultant at your child care resource and referral agency.  
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Hot Tubs and Natural Bodies of Water 

The National Standards say that children should not be permitted in hot tubs, spas, or 
saunas.  Toddlers and infants are especially at risk of overheating.  These areas should 
be secured so that children do not have unsupervised access.  Bathtubs, buckets, diaper 
pails, and other pails of water should be emptied immediately after use.  Portable wading 
pools are not recommended.  A national study concluded the following: 

♦ Infants are most likely to drown in bathtubs 
♦ Toddlers are most likely to drown in swimming pools 
♦ Older children and adolescents are most likely to drown in freshwater (rivers, lakes, 

ponds) 

Children who need assistance with toileting should not be allowed in toilet or bathroom 
areas without direct visual supervision.  Children under age five should not be left 
unattended in a bathtub or shower. 

Reason:  These safety measures prevent injury and drowning.  Small children can drown 
within 30 seconds in as little as two inches of liquid.  Any body of water, including hot 
tubs, pails, bathtubs, and toilets present a drowning risk to young children.    

An estimated 50 infants and toddlers drown each year in buckets containing liquid used 
for mopping floors and other household chores.  Of all buckets, the five-gallon size is the 
most dangerous for young children because of its tall straight sides and its weight with 
even just a small amount of liquid.  Top-heavy infants and toddlers cannot free 
themselves when they fall into a five-gallon bucket headfirst.   

Small portable wading pools do not permit enough control of sanitation and safety.  They 
promote spread of infectious diseases.  While swimming pools pose the greatest risk for 
toddlers, about one-fourth of toddler drownings are in other freshwater sites, such as 
ponds or lakes.  The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends: 

♦ Swimming lessons for all children over age five 

♦ Constant supervision of infants and young children when they are in the bathtub or 
around other bodies of water 

♦ Installation of fencing that separates homes from residential pools 

♦ Use of personal flotation devices when riding on a boat or playing near a river, lake or 
ocean 

♦ Teaching children the dangers of drug and alcohol consumption during aquatic 
activities 

♦ Stressing the need for parents and teens to learn cardiopulmonary resuscitation 
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Comment:  Sprinklers, hoses, or small individual water buckets are safe alternatives as a 
cooling or play activity.  Flotation devices should never be used as a substitute for 
supervision.  The need for constant supervision is especially important for very young 
children and children with physical disability or mental retardation.  Knowing how to swim 
does not make a child drown-proof.  

Handling and Storing Human Milk 

Child care providers often worry about handling human milk and the possible spread of 
infection.  Human milk may carry various bacteria or virus.  The Centers for Disease 
Control and Prevention now know that people handling human milk in child care settings 
are at low risk of getting an infection from human milk.  Universal (standard) precautions 
are no longer recommended when feeding or handling human milk.  Gloves are not 
required for feeding human milk or for cleaning up spills of human milk. 

Ill Children Policy 

You should have a written policy outlining the procedures and actions you will take in the 
event of a child becoming ill while in your care.  The policy may also address the event of 
a parent bringing an ill child to you for care.  Your policy should be based on your 
knowledge, skills, and level of comfort in caring for ill children.  You, parents, and your 
child care health consultant should work together to develop your policy.  Consider 
including the following items as you develop your policy: 

♦ Signs and symptoms of illness to help determine if the child should stay in your care 
or be excluded 

♦ Methods for keeping parents informed about the health status of their child 

♦ Record keeping to document the ill child’s health status during the day 

♦ Special comfort measures you are willing to take for an ill child (like offering soft or 
bland foods, a quiet supervised rest area, and giving medications) 

Comment:  You have the authority to determine when children are too ill to be in your 
child care home.  When considering caring for an ill child, you must consider the well-
being of all children in your care.  
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Immunizations for Child Care Providers 

You should talk with your health-care provider about immunizations.  Immunizations 
offered are often for measles, mumps, rubella, diphtheria, tetanus, and polio.  Other 
immunizations include varicella (chickenpox), influenza, pneumonia, hepatitis A, and 
hepatitis B.  You should talk with your health-care provider and determine if you live in a 
high-risk area for hepatitis A. 

The National Standards suggest that child care providers also receive the following 
immunizations: 

♦ Varicella (also known as chickenpox) 
♦ Hepatitis A  
♦ Hepatitis B 
♦ Influenza (suggested for adults age 50 and older) 
♦ Pneumococcal for pneumonia (suggested for adults age 65 and older) 

Reason:  Healthy adults caring for children have a greater risk of getting sick.  These 
infections can be prevented by vaccines but are still a cause of death and disease for 
adults.  Child care providers are at great risk for contracting these diseases when working 
with children.  Vaccines are safe and effective in preventing these diseases.  Adults need 
vaccines to decrease disease and to remove possible sources that spread disease to 
children. 

Comment:  Contact your health-care provider if you have questions about your 
immunizations or your immune status. 

Infant Sleeping Positions 

As a registered home provider, the Department’s rules require you to place children under 
the age of one year on their backs to sleep.  A physician may prescribe a different sleep 
position for children with special needs.  The National Standards state that all infants 
must be placed on their backs to sleep unless a physician has prescribed a different 
sleep position.  For naps and nighttime sleeping, infants should: 

♦ Be placed on their backs 
♦ Be placed on a firm mattress 
♦ Be placed in individual infant cribs 
♦ Have no soft bedding, pillows, blankets, bumper pads, and stuffed animals in the crib 
♦ Sleep at a room temperature of 65 to 75 degrees Fahrenheit  
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Infants who sleep on their backs on a firm surface have a reduced risk of Sudden Infant 
Death Syndrome (SIDS).  SIDS is the sudden and unexpected death of a seemingly 
healthy infant.  SIDS usually occurs between the ages of three weeks and five months.  
Physicians are still not certain what causes SIDS.  Sleep position and exposure to 
secondhand smoke are related to SIDS deaths.  When infants can easily turn over from 
their backs to their “tummies,” they should be put down to sleep on their backs but 
allowed to choose which sleeping position they prefer. 

As of June 28, 2011, all cribs sold in the United States must meet federal requirements 
for overall crib safety.  These requirements include: 

♦ Traditional drop-side cribs cannot be made or sold; immobilizers and repair kits are 
not allowed. 

♦ Wood slats must be made of stronger woods to prevent breakage. 

♦ Crib hardware must have anti-loosening devices to keep it from coming loose or falling 
off. 

♦ Mattress supports must be more durable. 

♦ Safety testing must be more rigorous. 

The date of manufacture of a crib is a permanent marking generally found on the 
mattress support or below the headboard or footboard.  If the manufacture date of any 
crib in your program is before June 28, 2011, you should confirm that a Certificate of 
Compliance (COC) exists.  Information about what must be on the COC (i.e., 
manufacture and model, name/address/contact info of tester, location of test, etc.) can be 
found on the CPSC website.  Any documentation from a business selling cribs must 
specify that it complies with Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 1219 for full-size cribs 
and Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) 1220 for non-full size.  The documentation has to 
say more than “the crib meets new federal requirements.”  A non-full size crib must come 
with its own mattress to be in compliance.  A warning label on the mattress will refer 
consumers back to manufacturer if the mattress becomes non-useable. 

For more information, go to http://www.cpsc.gov/en/Safety-Education/Safety-Education-
Centers/cribs/. 

Reason:  Placing infants to sleep on their backs instead of their stomachs has been 
associated with a dramatic decrease in deaths from SIDS.  When infants develop the 
motor skills to move from their backs to their sides or stomachs, it is safe to put them to 
sleep on their backs and allow them to change to whatever position makes them 
comfortable.  Once the child has learned to turn over easily from back to stomach, it is not 
recommended that you move sleeping infants onto their backs.   

http://www.cpsc.gov/en/Safety-Education/Safety-Education-Centers/cribs/
http://www.cpsc.gov/en/Safety-Education/Safety-Education-Centers/cribs/
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If a child has an illness or a disability that leads to airway obstruction in the back sleeping 
position, parents should give you a physician’s note telling you the need for stomach 
sleeping and any other special arrangements required for that child. 

Comment:  Infants who are back-sleepers at home but are put to sleep on their tummies 
in child care have a higher risk of SIDS.  “Tummy time” when the child is awake and 
observed helps muscle development.  It also reduces the tendency for back positioning to 
flatten the back of the head.  Alternatives to blankets include sleepers or other sleep 
clothes.  

Lead Poisoning 

Iowa law requires child care home providers who operate a home built prior to 1960 to 
perform a visual assessment of the child care home for lead-based paint hazards.  
Identified hazards must be repaired in accordance with Iowa Department of Public Health 
rules, unless a certified lead inspector has determined that the paint is lead-free. 
Documentation must be provided to the Department with initial and renewal applications. 

For further information about conducting visual assessments and applying interim 
controls, as well as complying with the Iowa Department of Public Health lead rules, you 
may contact the Iowa Department of Public Health’s Lead Poisoning Prevention Program 
at 1-800-972-2026.  An Iowa Department of Public Health brochure that addresses visual 
assessments and interim controls is available at:  http://idph.iowa.gov/lpp. 

A DVD recording of the 2009 Iowa Department of Public Health and Iowa Department of 
Human Services ICN Lead Hazards training is available through your area’s Child Care 
Resource and Referral Agency. 

What is Childhood Lead Poisoning? 

Childhood lead poisoning is a disease that occurs when children have too much lead 
in their bodies.  Most children with lead poisoning do not look sick.  Lead-poisoned 
children may: 

♦ Be easily excited 
♦ Have problems paying attention 
♦ Complain of stomachaches and headaches 
♦ Be more tired than usual 

Lead-poisoned children may have learning problems when they start school.  
Children with very high lead levels may have severe brain damage or even die. 

http://idph.iowa.gov/lpp
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How Do Children Become Lead-Poisoned? 

Lead poisoning is usually caused by lead-based paint found in homes built before 
1960.  Over 50 percent of the homes in Iowa, both in urban and rural areas, were 
built before 1960.  Children who live in or visit these homes become lead-poisoned if 
they: 

♦ Put lead-based paint chips in their mouths 

♦ Put dust or dirty hands, toys, bottles, or pacifiers in their mouths 

♦ Chew on surfaces painted with lead-based paint 

♦ Play in dirt or a sandbox near an old building or where an old building was torn 
down  

♦ Breathe in dust from lead-based paint that is being sanded, scraped, or removed 
with a heat gun 

Is Lead Poisoning a Problem in Iowa? 

In Iowa, one child in every seven is lead poisoned.  Among the group of children 
born from January 1, 1991, through December 31, 1995, 37 percent had at least one 
blood lead test before age six.  Of children tested, 13 percent had elevated blood 
lead levels.  This is nearly three times the national average of 4.4 percent. 

What Is a Visual Assessment?  Who Can Do the Visual Assessment? 

In a visual assessment, you will assume that all of the paint in the building is lead-
based paint.  You do not need to hire someone to do the visual assessment for you.  
If you want to test surfaces to see if they actually have lead-based paint on them, 
you need to hire a lead inspector or risk assessor who is certified by the Iowa 
Department of Public Health.  Since this can be costly, we recommend that you 
conduct the visual assessment.   

The Iowa Department of Public Health has a publication that explains how to do the 
assessment.  For a copy of this, call the Lead Poisoning Prevention Program at 
1-800-972-2026. 
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Examples of Lead Hazards 

Lead-based paint is a hazard to small children if it 
is peeling, chipping, chalking, cracking, or 
otherwise deteriorating.  When paint chips off 
these surfaces, all layers of paint usually come off 
together.  This is a hazard that can cause lead 
poisoning because the bottom layers of paint may 
contain lead, even if the surface has been 
repainted with lead-free paint.  

Paint that has an “alligator” cracking pattern or 
rubs off on your hands (chalks) is usually lead-
based paint.  Cracked or chalking paint is a 
hazard that can cause lead poisoning. 

Old varnish that looks cloudy may contain lead. 

Lead-based paint was often mixed with varnish to 
give it a deeper, richer color.  If the finish is 
cracked or peeling, old varnish is a hazard that 
can cause lead poisoning. 

 

Lead-based paint that is in good condition may be 
a hazard on: 

♦ Surfaces children can chew on (window sills, 
stair railings, porch railings). 

♦ Surfaces where paint is often damaged by 
hard impacts (doors, door frames, corners). 

♦ Surfaces where paint is worn by being walked 
on such as floors and stairs. 

♦ Lead dust may be on floors and other surfaces 
if you have recently done any remodeling or 
repainting in your home. 

 

Lead in soil is a hazard when children play in 
areas of bare soil next to old buildings.  Areas of 
bare soil where buildings have been torn down 
are also a hazard to children.  Paint chips and 
lead in the soil of these areas can poison children. 
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Liability Insurance 

The National Standards recommend that you carry the following insurance:  

♦ Accident insurance on children 
♦ Liability insurance 
♦ Vehicle insurance on any vehicle you own or lease that is used to transport children 

Reason:  With current increases in lawsuits, protection against liability (i.e., responsibility) 
is needed.  This defense helps with financial security, peace of mind, and public relations.  
Protection through liability insurance provides stability for families you serve and for your 
business. 

Comment:  Liability insurance should include coverage for injuries, illnesses, and giving 
medications. 

Medication in Child Care 

Medication use in child care is common.  You often have an important role in fulfilling a 
child’s health-care needs.  The National Standards state that all medication should be 
stored in a locked container out of the reach of children.  Some medications may need to 
be stored in a refrigerator.  All medications should be labeled with the child’s name, 
including over-the-counter medicine.   

When you handle medications:  

♦ Wash your hands before and after giving the child the medicine. 
♦ Use accurate measuring tools, like dosage spoons, dosage droppers or syringes. 
♦ Always disinfect the surface where you are preparing medication before and after 

giving it to the child. 

When you give medications:  

♦ Match the name of the child to the name listed on the medication label.  They must be 
the same. 

♦ Read and understand the directions on the label and prescription.  Be very aware of 
special conditions (take with meals, take at bedtime, etc.). 

♦ Give the medication according to the prescribed methods and the prescribed dose. 

♦ Observe and report any side effects from medications. 

♦ Record each medicine and dose given to the child. 

♦ Remember you can always call the pharmacy listed on the label for clarification.   
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A sample form for medication administration is contained in this handbook.  The form 
gives you the parent’s permission to give the parent’s child medication and allows you to 
record the action on the same form. 

Reason:  You need to be aware of what medications the child is receiving and when, who 
prescribed the medicine, and what the known reactions or side effects may be in case a 
child has a negative reaction to the medicine.  This medication record is especially 
important if medications are frequently prescribed or if long-term medications are being 
used. 

Nonprescription medications should be given according to the manufacturer’s instructions 
unless a health-care provider provides written instructions otherwise. 

Comment:  You can make copies of the sample form in this guidebook for each child’s 
file. 

Pets in Child Care Homes 

The National Standards suggest that any pet or animal children might have contact with, 
whether indoors or outdoors, should have the following traits: 

♦ Be in good health 
♦ Show no evidence of carrying any disease 
♦ Be fully immunized 
♦ Be maintained on a flea, tick, and worm control program 

A current, time-specified certificate from a veterinarian should be on file showing these 
conditions.  All contact between animals and children should be closely supervised so 
that you can remove any child immediately if the animal shows signs of distress or the 
child shows signs of treating the animal inappropriately.  The National Standards suggest 
that potentially aggressive animals should not be in the same physical space with the 
children. 

Reason:  The risk of injury, infection, and aggravation of allergy from contact between 
children and animals is great.  You must plan carefully when having an animal in your 
home and when visiting a zoo or local pet store.  Children should be brought into direct 
contact only with animals known to be friendly and comfortable in the company of 
children.   

Dog bites to children under age four usually occur in home-like settings.  The most 
common injury sites are the head, face, and neck.  Dog bites cause an estimated 600,000 
injuries and 10-20 deaths every year.  Many human illnesses can be acquired from pets.  
Many children with allergies have symptoms when they are around animals.  About 
6 percent of the U.S. population is allergic to animals.  About 25 percent of people being 
treated for allergies are sensitive to dogs and cats. 
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Comment:  Bringing animals and children together has both risks and benefits.  Pets 
teach children how to be gentle and responsible, about life and death, and about 
unconditional love.  However, animals can pose serious health risks.  You must be sure 
an animal is healthy and is a suitable pet to bring into contact with children as determined 
by a recent check-up to the veterinarian. 

Animals Not Appropriate for Child Care 

The National Standards recommend that the following animals not be allowed in 
child care settings: 

♦ Ferrets 
♦ Turtles 
♦ Iguanas 
♦ Lizards or other reptiles 
♦ Birds of the parrot family 
♦ Wild or dangerous animals 

Reptiles and exotic animals may be considered if: 

♦ The animals are kept behind a glass wall in a tank or container where a child 
cannot touch the animals or reach inside of the tank; or if 

♦ The local board of health grants authority for possession of such animals 

Reason:  Animals, even pets, are a source of illness for people.  People may be a 
source of illness for animals.  Reptiles may carry salmonella, a type of bacteria that 
causes diarrhea and fever.  Even turtles, baby chickens, ducks, dogs, and cats can 
carry salmonella.  This creates a risk to children who are likely to put unwashed 
hands in their mouths.  

Care for Pets 

When pets are kept in or near the home, procedures should be written and followed 
for their care and maintenance.  Proof of current pet immunizations should be signed 
by a veterinarian and kept on file.  These conditions should be met when animals 
are kept at the home: 

♦ The animal’s living quarters should be enclosed and kept clean of waste to 
reduce the risk of human contact with this waste. 

♦ Animal cages should be of an approved type with removable bottoms and should 
be kept clean and sanitary. 

♦ Litter boxes should not be located in areas where there are children. 
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♦ All animal waste should be removed immediately from children’s areas and 
discarded as required by local health authorities. 

♦ Animal food supplies should be kept out of reach of children. 

♦ Live animals and fowl (chicken, hen, rooster) should be excluded from food 
preparation, food storage, and eating areas. 

♦ Home providers and children should wash their hands after handling animals, 
animal food, or animal wastes. 

Reason:  Animals, even pets, are a source of illness for people.  People may be a 
source of illness for animals.  Handwashing is the most important way to reduce the 
spread of disease.  Unwashed or improperly washed hands are primary carriers of 
infections.  A pet’s food can become contaminated by standing at room temperature 
or by being exposed to animals, insects, or people. 

Radon 

Radon is a naturally occurring, radioactive gas that is the second leading cause of lung 
cancer.  Radon can seep into your home through very small openings in basement walls 
or floors.  Iowa has the highest portion of homes with elevated radon in the United States.   

Testing for radon is easy and inexpensive.  You may want to contact the Iowa Air Quality 
Coalition at 800-206-7818 to obtain information and a low-cost or no-cost radon detector.  
If you find a radon problem, it can be fixed.  The Iowa Radon Hotline can answer 
questions regarding radon in your home at 800-383-5992. 

Second-Hand Smoke and Use of Tobacco Products in Child Care 

Iowa law does not allow smoking in child care homes or in vehicles used to transport 
children.  Secondhand smoke in the air and on clothing increases the chances of all the 
following: 

♦ Sudden Infant Death Syndrome 
♦ Lower respiratory tract infections (such as pneumonia and bronchitis) 
♦ Chronic middle ear infections 
♦ New cases of asthma in children who did not have symptoms before exposure to 

smoke 
♦ Increased number and severity of asthma attacks 

Other uses of tobacco lead to illness in adults, like cancer of the mouth, throat, stomach, 
and bladder. 
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Reason:  The National Standards say that scientific research has linked breathing 
problems to secondhand smoke.  No children, especially those with breathing problems, 
should be exposed to additional risk from the air they breathe.   

When infants and young children are exposed to secondhand smoke, they become at risk 
of developing more serious illnesses when they get common breathing infections.  
Separation of smokers and nonsmokers within the same air space does not get rid of or 
decrease exposure to secondhand smoke.  Cigarettes used by adults are the main cause 
of house fires. 

Comment:  Even if cigarettes are smoked outside the home, the odor and materials from 
the cigarettes remain on skin and clothing and affect children’s health.  By not using 
tobacco products in your home, you can help keep the children in your care safe and 
healthy.    

For information to help stop smoking, call Quitline Iowa at 1-866-U-CAN-TRY 
(866-822-6879).  Knowledgeable and supportive counselors from the Iowa Tobacco 
Research Center answer this toll-free number.  You can receive free materials by mail.  
These materials cover helpful topics such as cravings, stress management, and more.   

You can receive three to eight optional follow-up phone calls for continuing support.  Your 
counselor can provide you with stop-smoking resources in your area.  These resources 
include local support groups, clinics, and consultants.  For more information, visit their 
website at https://iowa.quitlogix.org/. 

Contact for Private (Septic) Sewer Inspection 

Your private sewer systems must be checked for safe operation within one year of 
becoming registered.  Local Boards of Health oversee the onsite wastewater program.  
An estimated 80 percent of the private septic systems in Iowa do not meet the standards 
of Iowa law.  This means untreated wastewater is entering the environment.   

To find out if your system meets state law, contact your local county health department 
(or county sanitarian) for an inspection.  You can generally find these listings in the 
government pages in your phone book.  If you cannot find contact information for your 
area, the Iowa Department of Public Health can help you.  There may be a fee for the 
inspection.  The cost to fix or replace septic systems is variable. 

Division of Health Protection and Environmental Health 
Iowa Department of Public Health 
321 East 12th Street, Lucas Building 
Des Moines, IA 50319 
515-281-7726 

https://iowa.quitlogix.org/
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Reason:  Pollutants contained in wastes from households include human wastes, 
ground-up food from sink disposals, and laundry and bath waters.  These pollutants have 
disease-causing organisms in them that can harm children in your care.  The National 
Health and Safety Performance Standards, Guidelines for Out-of-Home Childcare 
Programs state that sewage facilities must be provided and inspected according to state 
and local rules.  To keep the children in your care safe and healthy, have your sewer 
system inspected. 

Trampolines 

Trampolines are not developmentally appropriate for use with children under age five 
(National Program for Playground Safety:  800-554-PLAY).  CPSC estimates in that in 
2012, there were 94,900 hospital emergency room-treated injuries associated with 
trampolines. 

From 2000 through 2009, the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission has received 
reports of 22 deaths involving trampolines.  The following caused these deaths: 

♦ Colliding with another person on the trampoline 
♦ Landing improperly while jumping or doing stunts on the trampoline 
♦ Falling or jumping off the trampoline 
♦ Falling on the trampoline springs or frame 

Reason:  Almost all of the trampolines associated with injuries were located in 
backyards.  Here are some rules to follow to prevent serious trampoline injuries. 

♦ Allow only one person on the trampoline at a time. 
♦ Do not attempt or allow somersaults. 
♦ Use shock-absorbing pads that completely cover the springs, hooks, and the frame. 
♦ Place the trampoline away from structures and other play areas. 
♦ Ladders should not be used.  They provide unsupervised access by small children. 
♦ Children under age six should NOT use a full-sized trampoline. 
♦ ALWAYS SUPERVISE children who use a trampoline. 

Comment:  For further information regarding trampoline safety, contact the National 
Program for Playground Safety at 800-554-PLAY located at the University of Northern 
Iowa.  The Consumer Product Safety Commission also has information about trampoline 
use at 1-800-638-2772 or online at http://www.cpsc.gov. 

http://www.cpsc.gov/
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Transportation 

The National Standards recommend that you have a written policy for the safe transport 
of children to and from your home for any reason, including field trips or special outings.  
Address these items in your policies and practice: 

♦ Child to staff ratio during transport. 

♦ Child supervision during transport, including never leaving a child alone in a vehicle.  
Do not leave children alone in a vehicle with a window open. 

♦ Backup arrangements for emergencies. 

♦ Seat belt and car seat use. 

• Each child must have an individual seat belt.  

• All children 12 years old or younger should be properly secured in the back seat 
whenever possible.  This reduces their risk of fatal injury. 

• The American Academy of Pediatrics recommends that infants ride in rear-facing 
safety seats until they are at least two years of age or until they reach the highest 
weight or height allowed by their car seat’s manufacturer. 

• Children who have outgrown their rear-facing, should ride in forward-facing safety 
seats as long as they fit.  Ears should be below the top of the back of the seat, with 
shoulder below the seat strap slots. 

• In spite of age, children who have outgrown their child safety seat (e.g., weigh 
more than 40 pounds or stand taller than 40 inches) should use a belt-positioning 
booster seat.  Lap/shoulder belts usually do not fit properly until a child is 4' 0" tall 
and weighs 80 pounds.  Most children under age eight should use a booster seat 
to ride safely. 

♦ Licensing of vehicles and drivers. 

♦ Maintenance of vehicles. 

♦ Safe use of air bags. 

• The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention say that until vehicles are 
equipped with air bags that are safe and effective for children, children who are 12 
years old and younger should NOT ride in a front passenger seat that is equipped 
with an air bag. 

• Even if the vehicle has an air bag, the rear seat is the safest seating position for 
children. 
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Reason:  Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death in the United States.  
Therefore, you must help to protect the children in your care by abiding by minimum 
requirements related to transporting children in the absence of their parents. 

Safety restraints are effective in reducing death and injury when used properly.  As the 
caregiver, you are responsible for making sure that children are fastened correctly in a 
restraint system. 

Children have died from heat stress from being left alone in closed vehicles.  
Temperatures in hot cars can reach dangerous levels within minutes.  From 1996 through 
2000, more than 120 children died from heat stroke after being trapped in a vehicle.  
These children were either left in the car by caregivers or they got into the cars on their 
own and could not get out.  Heat is much more dangerous to children than it is to adults.  
When left in a hot vehicle, a young child’s core body temperature may increase three to 
five times faster than an adult’s.  This can cause permanent injury and even death. 

Comment:  Problems between the design of the child passenger safety seat, vehicle 
seat, and seat belt system can be life threatening to children.  To avoid harming children 
in your care: 

♦ Read the vehicle owner’s manual and child restraint device instructions carefully. 

♦ Test the car safety seat for a safe, snug fit in the vehicle. 

♦ Have the car seat installation checked by a certified car seat technician at an 
approved car seat check station in the community. 

♦ Remember that the rear vehicle seat is the safest place for a child of any age to ride. 
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Sample DHS Forms 
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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Payment Application for Nonregistered Providers 
 New  Renewal  

 

Instructions 

Fill out Section A with information about yourself.  

Fill out Section B OR Section C depending on where you will provide care: 

Check the box that applies and fill out the sections indicated: 
 I will care for children in my home 

If you checked this box, fill out section B. 
 I will care for children in their own home 

If you checked this box, fill out section C.   
Read the information in section D and sign and date the application. 
 

A.  Tell Us About You 
 

Last Name First Name Middle Name Birth Date 

Maiden Name or Other Last Names Landline Phone Number 
(       ) 

Cell Phone Number 
(       ) 

Last four digits of Social 
Security Number 

Address where care is provided Mail Address (if different) 

 
 

City  State Zip City  State Zip 

 

B.  Nonregistered - Tell Us About The People Who Live With You  

List the names of other adults and children who live with you.  If you need more space, please use another piece of 
paper and attach it to this. 

Last Name First Middle Birth Date Last four digits of Social 
Security Number  

   

   

   

   
 

C.  In-Home - Tell Us About The Family for Whom You Will Provide Care 

You must care for at least three CCA eligible children to be an In-Home provider.  List the names of the parent(s) and 
the children you will provide care for.  If you need more space, please use another piece of paper and attach it to this. 

 First Name Last Name 

Parent   

Parent   

Child   

Child   

Child   

Child   
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D.  Your Signature 

I certify that: 

1. The location at which I provide child care is a single-family residence that I own, rent, or lease.  (This does not 
apply if I provide In-Home care.) 

2. I have read Comm. 95, Minimum Health and Safety Requirements for Nonregistered Child Care Home 
Providers.  I meet the provider, home safety, and number of children requirements. 

3. I understand the limits regarding the children in care. 
• If I provide Nonregistered care, the total number of children present at any one time will never exceed five.  

This includes my own children who are not in school yet.  There shall never be more than four children 
under two years of age at any one time. 

• If I provide In-Home care, I will care only for the children who live in the family home.  I will not provide 
care to any other children. 

4. While I provide care, parents or caretakers will have access to their children, unless a court order will not allow 
it. 

5. I know the Department may refuse to enter into or revoke an existing Child Care Assistance Provider 
Agreement, form 470-3871, when: 
• A hazard to the safety and well-being of a child exists and I cannot or refuse to fix the hazard, or 
• I have sent in claims for payment that I am not eligible for. 

6. I know Iowa law requires that criminal record and child abuse checks be completed on all people who live in my 
home and are 14 years of age or older. 

7. I know the following people may be unable to provide child care or to live in a child care home: 
• People who have been convicted of a crime against another person 
• People with a record of founded child abuse 

8. I know that a person who has founded child abuse or has been convicted of a crime may not be able to get Child 
Care Assistance payments.  

Signature of Applicant Date 

 
You Have the Right to Appeal 

You or the person helping you may request a hearing in writing if you do not agree with any action 
taken on your case.  You may contact your county DHS office about legal services that are available 
based on your ability to pay.  You may also call Iowa Legal Aid at 1-800-532-1275.  If you live in Polk 
County, call 243-1193. 

You Will Not Be Discriminated Against 

It is the policy of the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS) to provide equal treatment in employment 
and provision of services to applicants, employees and clients without regard to race, color, national origin, 
sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, religion, age, or disability. 

If you feel DHS has discriminated against or harassed you, you can send a letter of complaint to: 
Iowa Department of Human Services, Office of Human Resources, 1st floor, 1305 E. Walnut, Des Moines IA 
50319-0114, fax (515) 281-4243 or via e-mail stopit@dhs.state.ia.us. 
 

mailto:stopit@dhs.state.ia.us
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Department of Human Services 

Health, Safety, and Fire Standards 
Checklist for Child Care Homes with a 

Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement 

Name Telephone Number Date of Inspection 

Street Address City State Zip Code 

Date of entering into a provider agreement  

The following are requirements contained in Code of Iowa, Chapter 237A or in Iowa Administrative Code 
Chapter 120 that child care homes with a child care assistance provider agreement must meet. 

For each requirement, check the “yes” box if the home meets the requirements, or the “no” box if the home 
does not meet the requirement.  If the answer is no, complete the comment column with a few words 
describing where the deficiency was found, how many “items” were missing (such as children’s files, 
immunization cards, etc.) or what the problem was.  If a requirement does not apply to this particular home, 
enter “NA” for not applicable in the “yes” box. 

YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

   A provider’s own infants and 
preschoolers are counted.  A 
provider’s own school-age children 
are not counted.  A relative’s children 
are counted, regardless of age. 

 

  120.5 Parents are afforded unlimited access to 
their children and to the providers caring 
for the children whenever their children 
are present, unless parental contact is 
prohibited. 

 

  120.6 No more than five children shall receive 
care at any one time.  

 

  120.7(1) The provider meets the following require-
ments: 

 

  a Gives careful supervision at all times.  

  b Frequently exchanges information with 
the parent of each child to enhance the 
quality of care. 

 

  c Gives consistent, dependable care.  

   Is capable of handling emergencies.  
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YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

  d Is present at all times, except if emer-
gencies occur or an absence is planned. 

 

   If absence is planned, care is provided by 
a DHS-approved substitute. 

 

   If absence is planned, the parents are 
given at least 24 hours prior notice. 

 

  e Shall be free of the use of illegal drugs 
and shall not be under the influence of 
alcohol or of any prescription or non-
prescription drug that could impair their 
ability to give careful supervision.  

 

  f Be at least 18 years of age.  

  120.7(2) Substitutes.  The provider shall assume 
responsibility for providing adequate 
and appropriate supervision at all times 
when children are in attendance.  Any 
designated substitute shall have the same 
responsibility for providing adequate and 
appropriate supervision.  Ultimate 
responsibility for supervision shall be with 
the provider. 

 

  a All standards regarding supervision and 
care of children apply to substitutes. 

 

  b Except in emergency situations, the 
provider must inform parents in advance 
of the planned use of a substitute. 

 

  c The substitute must be 18 years of age or 
older. 

 

  d Use of a substitute is limited to: 
• No more than 25 hours per month. 
• An additional period of up to two 

weeks in a 12-month period. 
These limitations do not apply when the 
provider is engaged in jury duty or official 
duties related to the provider’s 
membership on a state board, committee, 
or policy-related body. 

 

  e The provider maintains a written record of 
the number of hours substitute care is 
provided, including the date and the name 
of the substitute. 

 

  120.8 Conditions in the home shall be safe, 
sanitary, and free from hazards. 
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YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

  120.8(1)a Has a non-pay working telephone.  A cell 
phone can be the primary phone. 

 

   Emergency numbers posted for police, 
fire, ambulance, and poison information 
center. 

 

   Number for each child’s parent, a person 
who can be reached when the parent 
cannot and child’s physician is written on 
paper and readily accessible by the 
working telephone. 

 

   All travel vehicles must have a paper 
copy of emergency parent contact 
information. 

 

  b Electrical wiring shall be maintained.  

   All accessible electrical outlets are safely 
capped or are tamper-resistant electrical 
outlets. 

 

   All electrical cords are properly used.  
This means not found under rugs, over 
hooks, through door openings, etc. 

 

  c Combustible materials are kept away 
from furnaces, stoves, gas dryers, or 
water heaters by a minimum of three feet. 

 

  d Safety barriers are at stairways and doors 
as needed. 

 

  e An annual laboratory analysis shows 
satisfactory bacteriological quality if a 
private water supply is used.  Nitrate 
analysis when children under 2. 

 

   If water is determined unsuitable for 
drinking, commercially bottled water or 
water treated and approved by the health 
department is provided. 

 

  f A safety barrier surrounds any heating 
stove or heating element, in order to 
prevent burns. 

 

  g Has not less than one 2A 10BC rated fire 
extinguisher in a visible and readily 
accessible place on each child-occupied 
floor. 
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YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

  h Has a minimum of one single-station, 
battery-operated, UL-approved smoke 
detector in each child-occupied room and 
at the top of every stairway. 

 

   Each smoke detector has been installed 
according to manufacturer’s recommen-
dations. 

 

   Each smoke detector is tested monthly, 
and a record is kept for inspection 
purposes. 

 

  i Smoking and use of tobacco products 
prohibited at all times in the home and 
vehicles used to transport children.  
Smoking and use of tobacco products 
prohibited in outdoor play area during 
hours of operation.  

 

   Nonsmoking signs are posted at every 
entrance of the home and in every 
vehicle used to transport children.  
Signs include telephone number for 
reporting complaints, and 
www.iowasmokefreeair.gov. 

 

  j Homes served by private sewer systems 
shall be in compliance with discharge 
restrictions.  Discharge of untreated 
waste water is prohibited.  Compliance 
shall be verified by local board of health 
at time of renewal or new registration. 

 

  k For homes built prior to 1960, provider 
must complete visual assessment for lead 
hazards and apply necessary interim 
controls on any chipping and peeling 
paint, using DPH lead-safe work 
methods.  Form 470-4755, Lead 
Assessment and Control, is submitted 
with each initial and renewal application. 

 

  l The child care home shall be located in a 
single-family residence that is owned, 
rented, or leased by the provider. 

 

  m Any driver who transports children shall 
have a valid driver’s license for the type of 
vehicle driven.  Child restraint devices 
shall be utilized. 
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YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

  n Providers inform parents of the presence 
of any pet in the child development home. 

 

   All dogs and cats have annual exami-
nations.  Records of the exams are on file 
and must verify that routine immun-
izations are current and animal is free of 
endo and ecto parasites. 
Form 470-5153, Veterinary Health 
Certificate, is on file. 

 

   Pet birds are purchased from an 
approved dealer.  Examined by a 
veterinarian to verify free of infectious 
diseases.  Children are not allowed to 
handle pet birds. 

 

   Aquariums are well maintained and 
installed so that children cannot get in the 
water or pull over the tank. 

 

   All animal waste is immediately removed 
from the children’s areas and properly 
disposed of. 

 

   No animals are allowed in food prepa-
ration, storage or serving areas during 
food preparation and serving times. 

 

   Children shall not perform any feeding or 
care of pets or cleanup of pet waste. 

 

  o Injury report forms are maintained for any 
injury requiring first aid or medical care.  
The forms are completed on the date of 
occurrence, shared with parents, and 
copies are in the child’s file. 

 

  120.8(2) Outdoor space.  

  a A safe outdoor play area is maintained in 
good condition throughout the year. 

 

   Play area has a fence when located on a 
busy thoroughfare or near a hazard. 

 

   Has both sunshine and shade areas.  

   Is kept free from litter, rubbish, and 
flammable materials. 

 

   Is free from contamination by drainage or 
ponding of sewage, household waste, or 
storm water. 

 



 

470-5385  (Rev. 1/17) Page 6 of 10 

YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

  b When a swimming pool or wading pool is 
on the premises: 

 

   Wading pools are drained daily and are 
inaccessible to children when not in use. 

 

   If not fenced, both in and above-ground 
pools must have a cover that meets or 
exceeds ASTM standards when not in 
use. 

 

   Fence for above-ground pool is four feet 
high and non-climbable. 

 

   Fence for in-ground pool is flush with 
ground, non-climbable, and at least four 
feet high. 

 

  c If children use above-ground or in-ground 
swimming pools: 

 

   Written permission from the parents is on 
file. 

 

   Equipment needed to rescue a child or 
adult is accessible. 

 

   The provider accompanies and provides 
constant supervision while the children 
use the pool. 

 

   The provider has completed training in 
CPR for infants, toddlers, and children.  
Documentation of current certification is 
on file. 

 

  120.8(3) Medications and hazardous material.  

  a All medicines and poisonous, toxic, or 
otherwise unsafe materials are secured 
from access by a child. 

 

  b First-aid supplies are available and easily 
accessible in the home, outdoor play 
area, in any vehicle used to transport 
children, and on field trips. 

 

   The first-aid kit shall, at a minimum, 
include adhesive bandages, bottled 
water, disposable tweezers, and 
disposable plastic gloves. 

 

  c Medicines are given only with written 
authorization from the doctor or parent. 

 

   Prescribed medicines are accompanied 
by a doctor’s or a pharmacist’s direction. 
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YES NO REF. # RULE COMMENT 

   All medicines are in original containers 
with directions intact and labeled with the 
child’s name. 

 

   Medicines are stored properly including 
refrigeration in a separate covered 
container. 

 

   Medicines are inaccessible to children.  

   Any medication provided to a child shall 
be recorded indicating the name of the 
medication, date, time, and amount given. 

 

  d Medications are not provided if the 
provider has not completed pre-service 
orientation that includes medication 
administration.  

 

  120.8(4) Emergency plans.  

  a Emergency and disaster plans for fire and 
tornado are written and posted by primary 
and secondary exits. 

 

   The plans shall clearly map building 
evacuation routes in case of fire, a safe 
place indoors in case of tornado, and 
flood shelter areas. 

 

   Fire and tornado drills are practiced 
monthly and documentation kept on file 
for the current year and previous year. 

 

  b Procedures are in place for: 
• Evacuation to safely leave the facility,  
• Relocation to a common, safe location 

after evacuation, 
• Shelter-in-place to take immediate 

shelter where the child is when it is 
unsafe to leave that location due to the 
emergent issue,  

• Lock down to protect children and 
providers from an external situation, 

• Communication and reunification with 
families, 

• Continuity of operations, and  
• Procedures to address the needs of 

individual children, including those with 
functional or access needs. 

 

  120.8(5) Safe sleep.  Provider must follow safe 
sleep practices as recommended by AAP 
for infants under one year of age. 
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  a Infants are placed on back to sleep.  

  b Infants are placed on firm mattress with 
tight fitted sheet that meets CPSC 
standards. 

 

  c Infants are not allowed to sleep on bed, 
sofa, air mattress, or other soft surface.  
No sleeping occurs in items not designed 
for sleeping such as, but not limited to, 
infant seat, car seat, swing, bouncy seat. 

 

  d No toys, soft objects, stuffed animals, 
pillows, bumper pads, blankets, or loose 
bedding is allowed in sleeping area. 

 

  e Co-sleeping is not allowed.  

  f Sleeping infants will be actively observed 
by sight and sound. 

 

  g If an alternative sleeping position is 
needed, a signed physician authorization 
with state of medical reason is required. 

 

  120.8(6) Discipline.  

  a Corporal punishment including spanking, 
shaking, and slapping is not used. 

 

  b No punishment is used which is 
humiliating or frightening, or causes pain 
or discomfort to the child. 

 

  c No punishment is administered because 
of a child’s illness, or progress or lack of 
progress in toilet training. 

 

   No punishment or threat of punishment is 
associated with food or rest. 

 

  d No child is subjected to verbal abuse, 
threats, or derogatory remarks about the 
child or the child’s family. 

 

  e Discipline is designed to help the child 
develop self-control, self-esteem, and 
respect for the rights of others. 

 

  120.8(7) Meals and snacks.  

  a Regular meals and snacks that are well-
balanced and nourishing shall be 
provided. 

 

  b Children may bring food to the child care 
home, but are not required to provide 
their own food. 
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  c Clean, sanitary drinking water shall be 
readily available in indoor and outdoor 
areas, throughout the day. 

 

  120.9 Files.  

  120.9(1) Children’s files.  An individual file is main-
tained for each child and updated 
annually or when there are changes.  
Each file contains:  

 

  a Identifying information including, at a 
minimum, the child’s name, birth date, 
parent’s name, address, telephone 
number, special needs of the child, and 
the parent’s work address and telephone 
number. 

 

  b Emergency information including where 
the parent can be reached, the name, 
street address, city, and telephone of the 
child’s regular doctor, and the name, 
telephone number, and relationship to the 
child of another adult available in case of 
emergency. 

 

  c A signed medical consent from the parent 
authorizing emergency medical and 
dental treatment. 

 

  d An admission physical examination report 
signed by physician or clinic designee. 

 

  e A statement of health signed by a 
physician submitted annually. 

 

   For school aged children:  An annual 
statement of health condition signed by 
the parent or legal guardian, annually 
from date of admission physical.  

 

  f A list signed by the parent which names 
persons authorized to pick up the child, 
their telephone number, and relationship 
to the child.  

 

  g A signed and dated immunization certifi-
cate provided by the state Department of 
Public Health. 

 

  h Written permission from the parent(s) for 
their child to attend activities away from 
the child development home.  It must 
include times of arrival and departure and 
destination. 
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  i If a child meets definition of homeless-
ness, required medical documentation is 
obtained within 60 days of enrollment. 

 

  120.10(1) Prior to provider agreement and every 
five years thereafter, minimum health and 
safety training. 
Prevention and control of infectious 
disease, including immunizations.  Pre-
vention of sudden infant death syndrome 
and use of safe sleep practices. 
Administration of medication, consistent 
with standards for parental consent. 
Prevention of and response to emergen-
cies due to food and allergic reactions. 
Building and physical premises safety, 
including identification of and protection 
from hazards that can cause bodily injury, 
such as electrical hazards, bodies of 
water, and vehicular traffic. 
Prevention of shaken baby syndrome and 
abusive head trauma. 
Emergency preparedness and response 
planning for emergencies resulting from a 
natural disaster or a human-caused 
event. 
Handling and storage of hazardous 
materials and the appropriate disposal of 
biocontaminants. 
Precautions in transporting children. 

 

  120.10(2) Prior to issuance of a provider agreement 
and every five years thereafter, the 
provider shall complete two hours of 
Iowa’s training for mandatory reporting of 
child abuse. 

 

  120.10(3) Provider shall have first aid training and 
CPR and maintain valid certification. 

 

 
Signature of person completing form Agency Date 
   

 
Signature of provider Co-Provider (Child Development Home C only) Date 
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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Child Care Assistance Provider Agreement 

Child Care Provider Information 

In order for you to receive payment under the Child Care Assistance Program, you must provide the following 
information about your legal name and tax ID.  Please fill out either Box A OR Box B. 

Box A 
Individual 

If you answer Yes to Individual, please provide your Social Security Number (SSN) to use as your tax ID. 

Are you:  (Pick one) Yes No SSN 

Individual?      –   –     

If the answer to this question is No, complete Box B.  
Provider Last Name Provider First Name 

Address Where Care is Provided  Mailing Address (if different)  

City State Zip City State Zip 

Phone Phone 

 
Box B 

Corporation/Partnership/Government/Sole Proprietor 

Is your business:  (Pick one) Yes No Please provide your Employer Identification Number. 

Corporation or LLC   EIN 

Partnership     -        

Government   NOTE:  Your legal business name and tax ID (EIN) must 
match IRS records. Sole Proprietor   

Provider Legal Business Name 

Doing Business As (DBA) Name 

Address Where Care is Provided  Mailing Address (if different)  

City State Zip City State Zip 

Phone Phone 
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Eligible Provider 

I must meet all federal, state, and local standards that pertain to the child care services being provided under 
this payment Agreement. 

I must not assign, transfer, or subcontract any interest in this Agreement.  This means that payment for 
services made under this Agreement can only go to the provider named in this Agreement for care provided at 
the location named in this Agreement. 

Provider Rate Information 

Please tell us the rates you charge for child care services (include all rates that you charge). 

A ½ day rate is the rate you charge for up to 5 hours of care.  A daily rate is the rate you charge for an entire 
day (up to 10 hours of care).  A weekly rate is the rate you charge for an entire week of care. 

 Infant/Toddler Preschool School Age 

Rate Basic Rate Special 
Needs Basic Rate Special 

Needs Basic Rate Special 
Needs 

½ day       

Full day       

Hourly       

Weekly       

If you offer discount rates for second children or employees, or you have special rates for before and after 
school care, summer, etc., list these charges below: 

  

  

  

By signing this form, I agree to participate as a provider of child care services approved by the Iowa 
Department of Human Services (hereafter ‘Department’) and/or the PROMISE JOBS program and assure the 
Department that I will comply with the provisions of this Agreement. 

Sign page 1 and return pages 1 through 4.  Keep pages 5 through 7 for your records. 

Name of Child Care Provider (please print) 

Signature of Child Care Provider Date 
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This area to be completed by DHS worker only 

Provider Type  Provider Number  

Payments made by the Department will be in accordance with 
the “Approved ½ Day Rate” as listed below 

Age Group  Approved ½ Day Rate * 

Infant/toddler 
Basic Rate  

Special Needs Rate  

Preschool 
Basic Rate  

Special Needs Rate  

School Age 
Basic Rate  

Special Needs Rate  

Other rates:  (Second child, before and after school, summer, employee discount, etc.) 

Effective Date Termination Date 

* You will be paid the ½ day rate you normally charge or the maximum state reimbursement 
rate, whichever is less. 

⇒ The Department of Human Services shall determine eligibility for services and shall 
authorize services if eligible.  You may appeal through Department appeal procedures if 
you are dissatisfied with agency decisions. 

Signature of Department Representative Date 
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I understand the payment I will receive for providing child care for the Department of Human Services: 
 1. Will be based on a five-hour unit of service. 
 2. Will be effective only during the effective period of this Agreement.  If I fail to renew this Agreement, 

any payments made after the termination date may be subject to recoupment. 
 3. May be re-negotiated before the termination date, with the agreement of all parties. 

Client Fees 
I understand: 
 1. I am responsible for collecting all fees assessed to the client, as determined by the Department, 

directly from the client.  The Department can’t collect these fees. 
 2. I will not bill any Child Care Assistance participant more than the required fee for the units of care 

provided, as stated on the participant’s Notice of Decision. 
 3. I must maintain a record of all fees collected from clients and this record shall be available, upon 

request, for audit by the Department or its representatives. 
 4. I can’t charge the participant any additional fees except for a late fee if the child is not picked up 

timely, an “activity fee” to cover the cost of field trips, or the cost of care used beyond the units 
approved on the participant’s Notice of Decision. 

Billing and Payment 
I understand: 
 1. I must provide the service as authorized on the client Notice of Decision or Certificate of Enrollment 

before submitting the claim for payment. 
 2. At the end of each billing period, I will submit a Child Care Assistance Billing/Attendance, form 

470-4534, to the Department only for the actual hours of child care services that were provided.  This 
form must be signed by the provider and the parent and I must keep a copy of the signed form for my 
records. 

 3. I have the option to submit attendance online through the KinderTrack web portal.  If I choose to do 
so, I must print a Child Care Assistance Billing/Attendance Provider Record, form 470-4535, which 
must be signed by the provider and the parent and kept for my records. 

 4. If I am not able to use form 470-4534 or 470-4535, I must keep adequate attendance records instead.  
To be considered adequate, attendance records must include the child’s name, the dates and daily 
time in and time out entries for days the child was in care, and the signature of the parent or other 
adult designee certifying the attendance is accurate. 

 5. I will be paid only for the hours of care that were authorized by the Department on the Notice of 
Decision or Certificate of Enrollment. 

 6. I cannot bill the Department or PROMISE JOBS more than what I charge other families for the same 
service. 

 7. I cannot request or accept additional payment from families, except for the client fees mentioned 
above. 

 8. If I exceed the allowed child capacity for my facility based upon the number and ages of children, this 
Agreement may be terminated and any payments may be recouped. 

 9. Failure to comply with this Agreement or other Department child care rules may result in recoupment 
of payments made and termination of this Agreement for up to 36 months. 
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Payment for Child Absences 
I understand: 
 1. I may bill for up to four days of absences per month (in accordance with the units approved for that 

day) only when a child is scheduled to be in attendance that day but is absent from care. 
 2. I may not bill for a day of absence if this policy is not applied to private pay families. 
 3. Holidays may be paid as an absent day only when the child care facility is closed for business, the 

child is normally scheduled to be in attendance on that day and these days are charged to private pay 
families.  Holidays are included in the four days maximum per month. 

 4. I may not bill for days of absences when I am not available to provide care (vacation or sick). 

Record Keeping and Auditing 
I understand: 
 1. I am responsible for keeping accurate records that document times and dates of care provided to 

each individual child funded by the Department or PROMISE JOBS. 
 2. These records must be kept for five years. 
 3. If this case is selected for review or audit authorized by the Department, I will make these records 

immediately available, upon request, to substantiate the services I provided and received payment 
from Child Care Assistance funds. 

 4. Failure to keep accurate attendance records that have been signed by the parent, may result in 
termination of this Agreement and repayment of funds for time periods that I am unable to provide 
adequate attendance verification to support the payments I have received. 

Protective Child Care 
 1. I understand that to provide protective child care, I must be a licensed or registered child care 

provider unless otherwise approved by the Department. 
 2. I will cooperate with all aspects of the child’s/family’s Departmental Case Permanency Plan. 

Special Needs Child Care 
 1. Parents are responsible to provide the Department with written documentation that their children 

meet the definition of “special needs.” 
 2. I understand that in order to receive “special needs” reimbursement rates, I must provide 

documentation to the Department that I am responding to a child’s special needs with (but not limited 
to) adaptive equipment, more careful supervision, or special staff training. 

Other Provider Requirements 
Nondiscrimination: 

I will not discriminate because of race, color, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, 
religion, age, disability, or political belief against any person seeking services. 

Change Reporting: 

I am responsible for reporting changes in my household members, substitutes, assistants, address, 
phone number, criminal convictions, etc. within 10 days of any change.  Failure to report these changes 
may result in recoupment of funds paid to me and termination of this Agreement. 
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Abuse Reporting: 

I understand that as a registered or licensed provider, I am a mandatory reporter regarding suspected 
child abuse of children in my care and will report any suspected incidents of child abuse to the 
Department of Human Services immediately by phone and follow up with a written report.  The number 
for reporting suspected child abuse is 800-362-2178. 

I have a written policy stating how I will report suspected child abuse. 

Confidentiality: 

I will respect the privacy of the client and keep the client’s relationship with the Department confidential.  
Personal information about the client may not be shared with anyone but the Department worker and the 
client.  Failure to respect the client’s privacy could result in cancellation of this Agreement and legal 
sanctions, if warranted. 

Indemnity: 

I understand that I have the status of an independent contractor only and shall in no sense be an agent, 
employee, or servant of the state of Iowa, the Iowa Department of Human Services, any of its employees, 
or its clients.  I will not hold the state of Iowa, the Iowa Department of Human Services, its employees, or 
its clients liable, as I shall be responsible for all activity in the delivery of services. 

Drug-Free Environment: 

I will provide a drug-free child care environment in accordance with Executive Order Number 38. 

Audits or Investigations: 

I understand that when fraudulent practices are suspected, a referral may be made to an investigative 
unit, and that I must cooperate with the investigation.  I agree to permit federal, state, and local officials to 
monitor and evaluate my child care facility with or without notice. 

Repayment: 

I understand that I may have to repay money received in error or as a result of failure to comply with 
Department rules, failure to report changes, or fraudulent billing. 

Agreement Termination 

Non-compliance with any of the provisions of this Agreement may result in termination of this Agreement upon 
ten days written notice from the Department.  Termination of this Agreement may prevent you from making 
application for another Agreement.  The Department may also refuse to enter into subsequent agreements with 
you for up to 36 months. 

This Agreement may also be terminated upon mutual agreement of the parties. 

Both parties agree that except in case of emergencies such as illnesses, death, or fire, ten days advance 
notice shall be given to allow for the arrangement of alternate service provision for clients. 

Agreement Renewal 

This Agreement must be renewed every two years from the effective date of this Agreement.  Failure to 
enter into a new Agreement will result in termination. 
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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Lead Assessment and Control 

Instructions:  Complete this form if you will be providing child care in home that was 
built before 1960. 

1. As of December 1, 2009, this form must be submitted with all initial applications.  If you 
have a valid registration on November 1, 2009, you must assess and control lead 
hazards and complete this form by June 30, 2010, for submission with your next renewal 
application after that date. 

2. Complete the interim control table (page 2) for each visual assessment and application 
of interim controls to lead hazards. 

3. Sign and date the form before submitting it to the Department with your application. 
Category C homes must include signatures of both providers.  Retain a copy for your 
records. 

4. Start a interim control table for each registration period, and submit both pages of the 
form with each renewal application. 

A link to the Iowa Department of Public Health pamphlet, “Lead Poisoning, How to Protect 
Families” is found at:  https://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/LPP/protect_iowa_families.pdf  

Visual Assessment Applicant Initials 
 
I certify that I have conducted visual assessments of internal and external 
surfaces of my child care facility.   
 

 

 
I certify that I DID NOT find any lead hazards. 
 

 

 
I certify that I DID find lead hazards, and I have applied interim controls to 
these hazards.   
 
 

 

 
A certified lead inspector as defined in Iowa Department of Public Health 
IAC 641 – Chapter 70 has determined that the paint is lead-free.   
 
(Attach approved documentation to this form.)   
 

 

 
Child Development Home Applicant Signature Date 

Child Development Home Applicant Signature Date 

 

https://idph.iowa.gov/Portals/1/Files/LPP/protect_iowa_families.pdf
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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Interim Control Table 
Date of 
Visual 

Assessment 
(mm/dd/yy) 

Location of 
Identified Hazard 

Description of 
Identified Hazard 

How Hazard 
Controlled 

Date Work 
Completed 
(mm/dd/yy) 

Name of Person 
Who Completed 

the Work 

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 

     

 
 



 

Comm. 95 (Rev. 10/16) Page 67 

Sample Provider Forms 
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Child Intake Information 
 
Child’s Name Birth Date 

Child’s Address Phone 

Name Child is Called 

Parent or Guardian Parent or Guardian 
Name Name 

Home Address Home Address 

Work Address Work Address 

Work Phone Work Phone 

Does your child have any special needs that I need to be aware of?  

 

 

Physician to call if child becomes ill:  

Address:  Phone:  

Other person to notify if parent or guardian cannot be reached in an emergency:    
Name Phone # Relationship 

   

   

   

(Also list the emergency contacts below if you wish to allow them to pick up your child.) 

The following persons are allowed to pick up my child from day care in the event that I am unable to: 
Name Phone # Relationship 

   

   

   

   

Anyone NOT permitted to pick up my child (with copy of court order, if applicable) 

 

Parent’s Signature:  Date:  

Parent’s Signature:  Date:  
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Emergency Medical Treatment Authorization 
Permission for medical care in parental absence. 

Child’s Full Name  Birth Date  

Name child answers to:  

I,   parent or guardian of the child named above give my 

permission to  , child care home provider, to secure and 
authorize such emergency medical care and treatment as my child might require while under the 
Provider’s supervision.  I also authorize the Provider to administer emergency care or treatment as 
required, until emergency medical assistance arrives.  I also agree to pay all the costs and fees 
contingent on any emergency medical care and treatment for my child as secured or authorized under 
this consent. 

NOTE:  Every effort will be made to notify parents immediately in case of emergency.  In the event 
of an emergency, it would be necessary to have the following information: 

Name of Parent or Legal Guardian:  
Address:  
Home Phone:  Work Phone:  

Name of Parent or Legal Guardian:  
Address:  
Home Phone:  Work Phone:  

Doctor:  
Doctor’s Address:  
Doctor’s Phone:  

Preferred Hospital to Contact:  
Address:  Phone:  

Persons to be contacted in emergency if the parents are unavailable: 

Name Home Phone Work Phone Relationship 

  

  

Present medication(s):  
Known allergies:  
Date of last tetanus:  Religious Preference:  
Insurance:  

Father’s signature:  Date:  

Mother’s signature:  Date:  
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Child Injury / Incident Report Form Business or program name: 
 Phone number: 
Fill in all blanks and boxes that apply. Address: 

Child’s name:  Gender:    M      F Birthdate:  Incident date:  

Time of incident: :  am/pm Witnesses:  

Name of parent or legal guardian notified:  Time notified: :  am/pm 

Notified by (name of staff person):  

Was EMS (911) or other medical professional notified?    No      Yes Time notified: :  am/pm 

What EMS services responded or other medical professional provided advice?  

Location where incident occurred:   Classroom   Dining room   Doorway   Gym   Hall 
  Kitchen   Motor vehicle   Office   Playground   Restroom   Stairway   Unknown 
  Other (specify)  

Equipment or product involved (check all that apply):   Child-proof container   Climber 
  Playground surface   Medication error   Motor vehicle   Sandbox 
  Slide   Swing   Tricycle/bike   Toy (specify):  
  Other equipment (specify):    No equipment or product involved 

 

 Child care provider reported to the Consumer Product Safety Commission the equipment or product involved in the 
injury.      Yes      No CPSC Telephone:  1-800-638-2772 CPSC website:  http://www.cpsc.gov/  

Cause of injury or incident (check all that apply):   Animal related   Bite, animal   Bite, human 
  Child behavior related   Choking   Cold or heat overexposure   Fall, running or tripping 
  Fall to surface:  Estimated height of fall _____ feet Type of surface:  
  Hit or pushed by another child   Injured by object   Medication error 
  Motor vehicle   Sting, insect, bee, spider or tick bite 
  Other (specify):  

Describe injury or incident:  Include the parts of body injured and the type of injury markings.  For medication errors 
describe medication and exact circumstances of the error. 
 
 

First aid or treatment given on-site:  (Examples:  cold pack, comfort, wound cleaning, bandage applied, behavior 
intervention):  
 
 
 
First aid or treatment given by (name of person):  

Medical or dental care needed day of injury or incident: 
  No doctor’s or dentist’s treatment required   Doctor or dentist office visit same day required 
  Treated as an outpatient in emergency room   Hospitalized 

Signature of staff member:  Date:  
 

Signature of parent or person authorized by parent:  Date:  
 

Complete this section with details obtained in days following event. Date of late entry:  
Follow-up treatment needed:  
Reduced or limited activity required for ______ days. 
Corrective action needed to prevent reoccurrence:  

Signature of person making late entry:  

American Academy of Pediatrics, Pennsylvania Chapter.  Model Child Care Health Policies, 4th ed.  Washington D.C.:  National 
Association for the Education of Young Children, 2002.  Adapted for use by the Iowa Departments of Human Services and Public 
Health for use by child care businesses.  To order more free copies of this form call 800-369-2229.  July 2007 

White page is for parent or guardian.  Yellow page is to be kept with the child’s health record. 

http://www.cpsc.gov/
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Child Name: 
 

Infant, Toddler, Preschool Age – Child Health Form 
 

PARENTS/GUARDIAN (Complete pages 1 and 2 – Child Information) 
Child’s name Child’s birthdate 

Child Care Facility:  

Telephone #:  
Parent/Guardian name #1 Parent/Guardian name #2 

Child home address #1 Telephone # 1 

Child home address #2 Telephone #2 

Where parent/Guardian # 1 works Work address Home phone # 

Work # 

Cellular # 

Home email 

Work email 

Where parent/Guardian # 2 works Work address Home phone # 

Work # 

Cellular # 

Home email 

Work email 

In the event of an emergency, the child care provider is authorized to obtain EMERGENCY MEDICAL or DENTAL CARE even if 
the child care facility is unable to immediately make contact with the parent/guardian.      YES      NO 

During an emergency the child care provider is authorized to contact the following person when parent or guardian cannot be 
reached. 

Parent/Guardian signature:  Date:  
Alternate emergency contact person’s name:  Phone #:  

Relationship to child:  Cellular #:  
Child’s doctor’s name Doctor telephone # 1 Hospital choice:  

  

Phone #:  
Doctor’s address After hours telephone # Does child have health insurance? 

  Yes, Company:  

  

ID #:  
Child’s dentist’s name (or family’s dentist name) Dentist telephone # 1 Does child have dental insurance? 

  Yes, Company:  

  
ID #:  

Dentist’s address After hours telephone # 
 NO, we do not have health 

insurance. 

 NO, we do not have dental 
insurance.  

 Please help us find health or dental 
insurance.  

Other health care specialist name 
 
 
Type of specialty 

Telephone # 
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Infant, Toddler, Preschool Age – Child Health Form 
PARENTS/GUARDIAN  Complete this page.  Child’s name:  

Tell us about your child's health.  Place an X 
in the box  if the sentence applies to your 
child.  Check all that apply to your child.  This 
will help your health care provider plan your 
child’s physical exam. 

 Growth.  I am concerned about my child’s 
growth. 

 Appetite.  I am concerned about my child’s 
eating/ feeding habits or appetite. 

 Rest.  I am concerned about the amount of 
sleep my child needs. 

 Illness/Surgery/Injury.  My child had a 
serious illness, injury or surgery. 

 Body Health.  My child has problems with skin, 
birthmarks, Mongolian spots, hair, fingernails or 
toenails.  

Map and describe color/shape of 
skin markings, birthmarks, scars, moles 

 
 Please describe:  Eyes\vision, glasses 

 Ears\hearing, hearing aids or device, earaches, tubes 
in ears 

 Nose problems, nosebleeds, runny nose 
 Mouth, teething, gums, tongue, sores in mouth or on 
lips, mouth-breathing, snoring 

 Frequent sore throats or tonsillitis 
 Breathing problems, asthma, cough, croup 
 Heart, heart murmur 
 Stomach aches, upset stomach, spitting-up 
 Using toilet, toilet training, urinating 
 Bones, muscles, movement, pain when moving, uses 
assistive equipment 

 Nervous system, headaches, seizures or nervous 
habits (like twitches) 

 Needs special equipment 

 Physical Activity.  My child must restrict 
physical activity.  

 Please describe: 

 Development and Learning.  I am concerned 
about my child’s behavior, development or 
learning.   

 Please describe: 

 Allergies.  My child has allergies.  (Medicine, 
food, dust, mold, pollen, insects, animals, etc.) 

 List equipment: 

 Please describe: 
 Medication.  My child takes medication.  (List the 
name of medication, time medication taken, and the 
reason medication prescribed.) 

 Special Needs Care Plan.  My child has a 
special needs care plan.  (IEP, IFSP, Asthma 
Action Plan, Food Allergy Action Plan, etc.) 
Please discuss with your health care 
provider. 

  

 

Parent/Guardian questions or comments for the health care provider: 

 



 

Comm. 95 (Rev. 10/16) Page 75 

Infant, Toddler, Preschool Age – Child Health Form 
 
 

Health professional complete this page 

Child’s name:  
Birthdate:  Age today:  

Date of exam:  
Height/length:  Weight:  

BMI (start at age 24 months):  

Head circumference (age 2 years and under):  

Blood pressure (start at age 3 years):  

Hgb or Hct (at 12 months):  

Lead risk assessment:  

Blood lead level:  Date  Results  

Sensory Screening 

Vision assessment:  

Vision acuity:  Right eye  Left eye  

Hearing assessment:  Right ear  Left ear  

Tympanometry (may attach results) 

Developmental Screening 
n = normal limits; otherwise describe 

Developmental screening results:  

Autism screening results:  

Psychosocial/behavioral results:  

Developmental referral made today:    Yes      No 

Heart:  

Lungs:  

Stomach/abdomen:  

Genitalia:  

Extremities, joints, muscles, spine:  

Skin, lymph nodes:  

Neurological:  

Health care provider comments: 

 

Allergies 

Environmental:  

Medication:  

Food:  

Insects:  

Other:  

Immunizations  Please attach: 
 Iowa Department of Public Health 

Certificate of Immunization 
 Iowa Department of Public Health 

Certificate of Immunization Exemption Medical 
 Iowa Department of Public Health 

Certificate of Immunization Exemption Religious 
 TB testing completed (only for high-risk child) 

Medication Name Dosage 
 Diaper crème:   
 Fever or pain reliever   
 Sunscreen   
 Other:    

Other medication should be listed with written instructions 
for use in child care.  Medication forms available at 
www.idph.iowa.gov/hcci/products 

Referrals Made 

 Referred to hawk-i today (1-800-257-8563) 

 Other:  

Health Provider Assessment Statement 
 The child may participate in developmentally 

appropriate early care/learning with NO health-
related restrictions. 

 The child may participate in developmentally 
appropriate early care/learning with with 
restrictions (see comments). 

 The child has a special needs care plan.  Type of 
plan:  
(please attach) 

Signature:  
May use stamp. 

Check the provider credential type: 
  MD      DO      PA      ARNP 

Address:  

Telephone:  
 

Iowa Child Care Regulations require an admission physical 
exam report within the previous year and annually.  The 
American Academy of Pediatrics has recommendations for 
frequency of childhood preventative pediatric health care (Bright 

Futures 2015)  https://www.aap.org/en-
us/Documents/periodicity_schedule.pdf 
 

http://www.idph.iowa.gov/hcci/products
https://www.aap.org/en-us/Documents/periodicity_schedule.pdf
https://www.aap.org/en-us/Documents/periodicity_schedule.pdf
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Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care – Infant, Toddler, and Preschool Age 
Bright Futures/American Academy of Pediatrics 

Each child and family is unique; therefore, these Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care are designed for the care of children who are receiving competent parenting, have no manifestations of any important 
health problems, and are growing and developing in satisfactory fashion.  Additional visits may become necessary if circumstances suggest variations from normal.  Developmental, psychosocial, and chronic disease issues for 
children and adolescents may require frequent counseling and treatment visits separate from preventive care visits. 

These guidelines represent a consensus by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and Bright Futures.  The AAP continues to emphasize the great importance of continuity of care in comprehensive health supervision and 
the need to avoid fragmentation of care.  Refer to the specific guidance by age as listed in Bright Futures guidelines (Hagan JF, Shaw JS, Duncan PM, eds.  Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children 
and Adolescents. 3rd ed. Elk Grove Village, IL:  American Academy of Pediatrics; 2008). 

The recommendations in this statement do not indicate an exclusive course of treatment or standard of medical care.  Variations, taking into account individual circumstances, may be appropriate. 

 INFANCY EARLY CHILDHOOD 
AGE1 Prenatal2 Newborn3 3-5 d4 By 1 mo 2 mo 4 mo 6 mo 9 mo 12 mo 15 mo 18 mo 24 mo 30 mo 3 y 4 y 

HISTORY: Initial/Interval                
MEASUREMENTS: Length/Height and Weight                

Head Circumference                
Weight for Length                
Body Mass Index5                

Blood Pressure6                
SENSORY SCREENING: Vision7                

Hearing  8              
DEVELOPMENTAL/BEHAVIORAL ASSESSMENT:                

Developmental Screening9                
Autism Screening10                

Developmental Surveillance                
Psychosocial/Behavioral Assessment                
Alcohol and Drug Use Assessment11                

Depression Screening12                
PHYSICAL EXAMINATION13                

PROCEDURES14: Newborn Blood Screening15                
Critical Congenital Heart Defect Screening16                

Immunization17                
Hematocrit or Hemoglobin18                

Lead Screening19          or 20    or 20    
Tuberculosis Testing21                

Dyslipidemia Screening22                
STI/HIV Screening23                

Cervical Dysplasia Screening24                
ORAL HEALTH25          or    or   or   or    
Fluoride Varnish26                

ANTICIPATORY GUIDANCE                

KEY:   = to be performed  or  = risk assessment to be performed with appropriate action to follow, if positive    = range during which a service may be provided 
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Footnotes for Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care 

 1. If a child comes under care for the first time at any point on the schedule, or if any items are not accomplished 
at the suggested age, the schedule should be brought up to date at the earliest possible time. 

 2. A prenatal visit is recommended for parents who are at high risk, for first-time parents, and for those who 
request a conference.  The prenatal visit should include anticipatory guidance, pertinent medical history, and a 
discussion of benefits of breastfeeding and planned method of feeding, per the 2009 AAP statement “The 
Prenatal Visit” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/124/4/1227.full). 

 3. Every infant should have a newborn evaluation after birth, and breastfeeding should be encouraged (and 
instruction and support should be offered). 

 4. Every infant should have an evaluation within 3 to 5 days of birth and within 48 to 72 hours after discharge 
from the hospital to include evaluation for feeding and jaundice.  Breastfeeding infants should receive formal 
breastfeeding evaluation, and their mothers should receive encouragement and instruction, as recommended 
in the 2012 AAP statement “Breastfeeding and the Use of Human Milk” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/3/e827.full).  Newborn infants discharged less than 48 hours 
after delivery must be examined within 48 hours of discharge, per the 2010 AAP statement “Hospital Stay for 
Healthy Term Newborns” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/2/405.full). 

 5. Screen, per the 2007 AAP statement “Expert Committee Recommendations Regarding the Prevention, 
Assessment, and Treatment of Child and Adolescent Overweight and Obesity:  Summary Report” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/Supplement_4/S164.full). 

 6. Blood pressure measurement in infants and children with specific risk conditions should be performed at visits 
before age 3 years. 

 7. A visual acuity screen is recommended at ages 4 and 5 years, as well as in cooperative 3 year olds.  
Instrument based screening may be used to assess risk at ages 12 and 24 months, in addition to the well 
visits at 3 through 5 years of age.  See 2016 AAP statement, “Visual System Assessment in Infants, Children, 
and Young Adults by Pediatricians” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/137/1/1.51) and “Procedures 
for Evaluation of the Visual System by Pediatricians” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/137/1/1.52). 

 8. All newborns should be screened, per the AAP statement “Year 2007 Position Statement:  Principles and 
Guidelines for Early Hearing Detection and Intervention Programs” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/4/898.full).   

 9. See 2006 AAP statement “Identifying Infants and Young Children With Developmental Disorders in the 
Medical Home:  An Algorithm for Developmental Surveillance and Screening” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/118/1/405.full). 

 10. Screening should occur per the 2007 AAP statement “Identification and Evaluation of Children with Autism 
Spectrum Disorders” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/5/1183.full). 

 11. A recommended screening tool is available at http://www.ceasar-boston.org/CRAFFT/index.php.  

 12. Recommended screening using the Patient Health Questionnaire (PHQ)-2 or other tools available in the 
GLAD-PC toolkit and at http://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Mental-
Health/Documents/MH_ScreeningChart.pdf.   

 13. At each visit, age-appropriate physical examination is essential, with infant totally unclothed and older children 
undressed and suitably draped.  See2011 AAP statement “Use of Chaperones During the Physical 
Examination of the Pediatric Patient” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/127/5/991.full). 

 14. These may be modified, depending on entry point into schedule and individual need. 

 15. The Recommended Uniform Newborn Screening Panel 
(http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/recommendedpanel/uniformscreeni
ngpanel.pdf), as determined by The Secretary’s Advisory Committee on Heritable Disorders in Newborns and 
Children, and state newborn screening laws/regulations (http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu/sites/genes-r-
us/files/nbsdisorders.pdf), establish the criteria for and coverage of newborn screening procedures and 
programs.  Follow-up must be provided, as appropriate, by the pediatrician. 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/124/4/1227.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/3/e827.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/125/2/405.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/Supplement_4/S164.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/137/1/1.51
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/137/1/1.52
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/4/898.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/118/1/405.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/120/5/1183.full
http://www.ceasar-boston.org/CRAFFT/index.php
http://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Mental-Health/Documents/MH_ScreeningChart.pdf
http://www.aap.org/en-us/advocacy-and-policy/aap-health-initiatives/Mental-Health/Documents/MH_ScreeningChart.pdf
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/127/5/991.full
http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/recommendedpanel/uniformscreeningpanel.pdf
http://www.hrsa.gov/advisorycommittees/mchbadvisory/heritabledisorders/recommendedpanel/uniformscreeningpanel.pdf
http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu/sites/genes-r-us/files/nbsdisorders.pdf
http://genes-r-us.uthscsa.edu/sites/genes-r-us/files/nbsdisorders.pdf
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 16. Screening for critical congenital heart disease using pulse oximetry should be performed in newborns, after 24 
hours of age, before discharge from the hospital, per the 2011 AAP statement “Endorsement of Health and 
Human Services Recommendation for Pulse Oximetry Screening for Critical Congenital Heart Disease” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/1/190.full).  

 17. Schedules, per the AAP Committee on Infectious Diseases, are available at: 
http://aapredbook.aappublications.org/site/resources/izschedules.xhtml.  Every visit should be an opportunity 
to update and complete a child’s immunizations. 

 18. See 2010 AAP statement “Diagnosis and Prevention of Iron Deficiency and Iron Deficiency Anemia in Infants 
and Young Children (0-3 Years of Age)” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/5/1040.full). 

 19. For children at risk of lead exposure, see the 2012 CDC Advisory Committee on Childhood Lead Poisoning 
Prevention statement “Low Level Lead Exposure Harms Children:  A Renewed Call for Primary Prevention” 
(http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead/ACCLPP/Final_Document_030712.pdf).    

 20. Perform risk assessments or screenings as appropriate, based on universal screening requirements for 
patients with Medicaid or in high prevalence areas. 

 21. Tuberculosis testing per recommendations of the Committee on Infectious Diseases, published in the current 
edition of AAP Red Book:  Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases.  Testing should be performed on 
recognition of high-risk factors. 

 22. See AAP-endorsed 2011 guidelines from the National Heart Blood and Lung Institute, “Integrated Guidelines 
for Cardiovascular Health and Risk Reduction in Children and Adolescents” 
(http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/guidelines/cvd_ped/index.htm). 

 23. Adolescents should be screened for sexually transmitted infections (STIs) per recommendations in the current 
edition of the AAP Red Book:  Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases.  Additionally, all adolescents 
should be screened for HIV according to the AAP statement 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/128/5/1023.full) once between the ages of 16 and 18, making 
every effort to preserve confidentiality of the adolescent.  Those at increased risk of HIV infection, including 
those who are sexually active, participate in injection drug use, or are being tested for other STIs, should be 
tested for HIV and reassessed annually. 

 24. See USPSTF recommendations (http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspscerv.htm).  
Indications for pelvic examinations prior to age 21 are noted in the 2010 AAP statement “Gynecologic 
Examination for Adolescents in the Pediatric Office Setting” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/3/583.full).  

 25. Assess if the child has a dental home.  If no dental home is identified, perform a risk assessment 
(http://www2.aap.org/oralhealth/docs/RiskAssessmentTool.pdf) and refer to a dental home.  If primary water 
source is deficient in fluoride, consider oral fluoride supplementation.  Recommend brushing with fluoride 
toothpaste in the proper dosage for age.  See 2009 AAP statement “Oral Health Risk Assessment Timing and 
Establishment of the Dental Home” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/111/5/1113.full), 2014 clinical 
report “Fluoride Use in Caries Prevention in the Primary Care Setting” 
(http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/3/626), and 2014 AAP statement “Maintaining and Improving 
the Oral Health of Young Children” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/6/1224.full).  

 26. See USPSTF recommendations (http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspsdnch.htm).  Once 
teeth are present, fluoride varnish may be applied to all children every 3-6 months in the primary care or 
dental office.  Indications for fluoride use are noted in the 2014 AAP clinical report “Fluoride Use in Caries 
Prevention in the Primary Care Setting” (http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/3/626). 

 

http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/129/1/190.full
http://aapredbook.aappublications.org/site/resources/izschedules.xhtml
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/5/1040.full
http://www.cdc.gov/nceh/lead/ACCLPP/Final_Document_030712.pdf
http://www.nhlbi.nih.gov/guidelines/cvd_ped/index.htm
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/128/5/1023.full
http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspscerv.htm
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/126/3/583.full
http://www2.aap.org/oralhealth/docs/RiskAssessmentTool.pdf
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/111/5/1113.full
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/3/626
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/6/1224.full
http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspsdnch.htm
http://pediatrics.aappublications.org/content/134/3/626
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Child Name: 
 

School-Age Child – Parent Statement of Health 
 

PARENT/GUARDIAN (Please complete pages 1 and 2.) 
Child’s name Child’s birthdate 

Name of school:  

Grade:  School telephone #:  
Parent/Guardian name #1 Parent/Guardian name #2 

Child home address #1 Telephone # 1 

Child home address #2 Telephone #2 

Where parent/Guardian # 1 works Work address Telephone # 

Work # 

Cellular # 

Home email 

Work email 

Where parent/Guardian # 2 works Work address Telephone # 

Work # 

Cellular # 

Home email 

Work email 

In the event of an emergency, the child care provider is authorized to obtain EMERGENCY MEDICAL or DENTAL CARE even if 
the child care facility is unable to immediately make contact with the parent/guardian.      YES      NO 

During an emergency the child care provider is authorized to contact the following person when parent or guardian cannot be 
reached. 

Parent/Guardian signature:  Date:  
Alternate emergency contact person’s name:  Phone #:  

Relationship to child:  Cellular #:  
Child’s doctor’s name 
 
 

  Child does not have doctor 

Doctor telephone # 1 Hospital of choice:  

  

Phone #:  
Doctor’s address After hours telephone # Does your child have health insurance? 

  Yes      No 
Company:  

ID #:  
Child’s dentist’s name 
 
 
 

  Child does not have dentist 

Dentist telephone # 1 Does your child have dental insurance? 
  Yes      No 

Company:  

ID #:  
Dentist’s address 
 

After hours telephone # 
 HELP us find a family doctor or 

dentist. 

 HELP us find health or dental 
insurance.  Other health care/mental health specialist name 

 
 
Type of specialty 

Telephone # 
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School-Age Child – Parent Statement of Health 

PARENT/GUARDIAN  Complete this page.  Child’s name:  

Please use an X in the box  to statements that 
apply to your child. 

 Body Health.  My child has problems with skin, hair, 
fingernails or toenails.  

Date of child’s last physical exam:  

Date of last dental appointment:  

 Growth.  I am concerned about my child’s 
growth.  

 Appetite.  I am concerned about my child’s 
eating habits. 

 Rest.  My child needs to rest after school. 

 Illness/Surgery/Injury.  My child had a serious 
illness, surgery or injury. 

Describe skin marks, birthmarks or scars.  Show us 
where these skin marks are located using the drawing 
below. 

 Please describe: 
 Eyes\vision, glasses or contact lenses 
 Ears\hearing, hearing assistive aids or device, earache, 
tubes in ears 

 Nose problems, nosebleeds 
 Mouth, teeth, gums, tongue, sores in mouth or on lips, 
breathes through mouth 

 Frequent sore throats or tonsillitis 
 Breathing problems, asthma, cough 
 Heart problems or heart murmur 
 Stomach aches or upset stomach 
 Trouble using toilet or wetting accidents 
 Hard stools, constipation, diarrhea, watery stools 
 Bones, muscles, movement, pain when moving 
 Mobility, child uses assistive equipment 
 Nervous system, headaches, seizures or nervous habits 
(like twitches or tics) 

 Females – difficult monthly periods 
 Other special needs 

 Physical Activity.  My child must restrict 
physical activity or needs special equipment to 
be active. 

 Please describe: 

Play With Friends.  My child: 
 Plays well in groups with other children.   
 Will play only with one or two other children.   
 Prefers to play alone.   
 Fights with other children.   
 I am concerned about my child’s play activity with 

other children. 

School and Learning.  My child: 
 Is doing well at school. 
 Is having difficulty in some classes.   
 Does not want to go to school.  
 Frequently misses or is late for school.   
 I am concerned about how my child is doing in 

school. 

 Please describe: 

 Please describe:  Medication.  My child takes medication.  Parents:  
Please review the child care program’s policies about 
the use of medication at child care. 

Medication Name Time Given Reason for Giving Medication 
      

      

      

 Allergy.  My child has allergies.  (Medicine, food, 
dust, mold, pollen, insects, animals, etc.) 

 List allergies: 

 Special Needs Care Plan.  My child has a 
special needs care plan.  (IEP, Asthma Action 
Plan, Food Allergy Action Plan, etc.) Please 
discuss with your health care provider. 

  Yes      No Child has EpiPen, inhaler or other 
emergency medication. 

 

Parent signature (required) Date 
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School-Age Child – Parent Statement of Health 
 
 

Health professional complete this page 

Date of exam:  
Height:  Weight:  
Body Mass Index:  

 There are weight concerns. 
 Referral made to:  

Blood pressure:  
Laboratory Screening 

Blood lead level:  Date:  
 Venous  Capillary (for child under age 6 years) 

Results:  
Hgb or Hct:  
Urinalysis:  
TB testing (high-risk child only):  
Sensory Screening 

Vision acuity:  Right eye  Left eye  
Hearing:  Right ear  Left ear  
Tympanometry:  Right ear  Left ear  
Exam Results (n = normal limits; otherwise describe) 

Skin:  

HEENT:  
Teeth/oral health:  
Date of dentist exam:  or   None to date 
Dental referral made today:    Yes      No 
Heart:  
Lungs:  
Stomach/abdomen:  
Genitalia:  
Extremities, joints, muscles, spine:  
Neurological:  
Psychosocial/behavioral assessment (depression 
screening starting at age 11):  
Allergies 

Environmental:  
Medication:  
Food:  
Insects:  
Other:  

Health care provider comments: 

 

Child’s name:  
Date of birth:  Age:  

Immunizations  Please attach: 
 Iowa Department of Public Health 

Certificate of Immunization 

 Iowa Department of Public Health 
Certificate of Immunization Exemption Medical 

 Iowa Department of Public Health 
Certificate of Immunization Exemption Religious 

Medication 

Health provider authorizes the child to receive the 
following medications while at child care or school.  
(Include over-the-counter and prescribed.) 

Medication Name Dosage 

 Fever/pain reliever   

 Sunscreen   

 Cough medication   

 Other (list all):    
    
    

Other medication should be listed with written 
instructions for use in child care.  Medication forms 
available at www.idph.iowa.gov/hcci/products 

Referrals Made 

 Referred to hawk-i today (1-800-257-8563) 

 Other:  

Health Provider Assessment Statement 
 The child may fully participate with NO health-

related restrictions. 

 The child has the following health-related 
restrictions to participation (please specify): 
  

 The child has a special needs care plan.  Type of 
plan:  
(please attach) 

Signature:  
May use stamp. 

Check the provider type: 
  MD      DO      PA      ARNP 

Address:  

Telephone:  
 

The American Academy of Pediatrics has recommendations for frequency of childhood preventative pediatric health care (Bright 
Futures 2015)  https://www.aap.org/en-us/Documents/periodicity_schedule.pdf 
 

http://www.idph.iowa.gov/hcci/products
https://www.aap.org/en-us/Documents/periodicity_schedule.pdf
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Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care – School-Age Child 
Bright Futures/American Academy of Pediatrics 

Each child and family is unique; therefore, these Recommendations for Preventive Pediatric Health Care are designed for the care of children who are receiving competent parenting, have no manifestations of any important 
health problems, and are growing and developing in satisfactory fashion.  Additional visits may become necessary if circumstances suggest variations from normal.  Developmental, psychosocial, and chronic disease issues for 
children and adolescents may require frequent counseling and treatment visits separate from preventive care visits. 

These guidelines represent a consensus by the American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and Bright Futures.  The AAP continues to emphasize the great importance of continuity of care in comprehensive health supervision and 
the need to avoid fragmentation of care.  Refer to the specific guidance by age as listed in Bright Futures guidelines (Hagan JF, Shaw JS, Duncan PM, eds.  Bright Futures Guidelines for Health Supervision of Infants, Children 
and Adolescents. 3rd ed. Elk Grove Village, IL:  American Academy of Pediatrics; 2008). 

The recommendations in this statement do not indicate an exclusive course of treatment or standard of medical care.  Variations, taking into account individual circumstances, may be appropriate. 

 MIDDLE CHILDHOOD ADOLESCENCE 
AGE1 5 y 6 y 7 y 8 y 9 y 10 y 11 y 12 y 13 y 14 y 15 y 16 y 17 y 18 y 19 y 20 y 21 y 

HISTORY: Initial/Interval                  
MEASUREMENTS: Length/Height and Weight                  

Head Circumference                  
Weight for Length                  
Body Mass Index5                  

Blood Pressure6                  
SENSORY SCREENING: Vision7                  

Hearing                  
DEVELOPMENTAL/BEHAVIORAL ASSESSMENT:                  

Developmental Screening9                  
Autism Screening10                  

Developmental Surveillance                  
Psychosocial/Behavioral Assessment                  
Alcohol and Drug Use Assessment11                  

Depression Screening12                  
PHYSICAL EXAMINATION13                  

PROCEDURES14: Newborn Blood Screening15                  
Critical Congenital Heart Defect Screening16                  

Immunization17                  
Hematocrit or Hemoglobin18                  

Lead Screening19                  
Tuberculosis Testing21                  

Dyslipidemia Screening22                  
STI/HIV Screening23                  

Cervical Dysplasia Screening24                  
ORAL HEALTH25                  
Fluoride Varnish26                  

ANTICIPATORY GUIDANCE                  

KEY:   = to be performed  or  = risk assessment to be performed with appropriate action to follow, if positive    = range during which a service may be provided 
See pages 77 and 78 for footnotes. 
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 Phone Numbers 

Police  Poison Control  
Fire  Paramedics  

Child’s Name Birthdate 
Parents 

Doctor School 
Emergency Contact 

Name Home Work Name Phone 
  M 

F 
   

  M 
F 

   

  M 
F 

   

  M 
F 

   

  M 
F 

   

  M 
F 

   

  M 
F 

   

  M 
F 

   

  M 
F 

   

  M 
F 

   

Home Address  

Telephone Numbers  
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Monthly Medicine Record 
Child Name:  Month  Year  
Child Known Allergies: 
Parent Permission to give medicine:  I give my permission for the child care business to give the following medicine(s) to my child. 
Date: Parent Signature Giving 

Permission: 
Name of medicine on the 
label: 

Medicine dose 
on the label: 

Time of day 
medicine is to be 
given at child 
care:1 

Route of 
medicine as on 
the label: 

Possible side 
effects: 

Required storage: 
  Refrigerate 

  Refrigeration 
not required 

  Medicine is doctor approved and 
doctor authorization form on file at 
child care 

Reason medicine needed: Special instructions for giving medicine:2 

 
 
Beginning date for medicine:  
Ending date for medicine:  

 

Date: Parent Signature Giving 
Permission: 

Name of medicine on the 
label: 

Medicine dose 
on the label: 

Time of day 
medicine is to be 
given at child 
care:1 

Route of 
medicine as on 
the label: 

Possible side 
effects: 

Required storage: 
  Refrigerate 

  Refrigeration 
not required 

  Medicine is doctor approved and 
doctor authorization form on file at 
child care 

Reason medicine needed: Special instructions for giving medicine:2 

 
 
Beginning date for medicine:  
Ending date for medicine:  

 

Date: Parent Signature Giving 
Permission: 

Name of medicine on the 
label: 

Medicine dose 
on the label: 

Time of day 
medicine is to be 
given at child 
care:1 

Route of 
medicine as on 
the label: 

Possible side 
effects: 

Required storage: 
  Refrigerate 

  Refrigeration 
not required 

  Medicine is doctor approved and 
doctor authorization form on file at 
child care 

Reason medicine needed: Special instructions for giving medicine:2 

 
 
Beginning date for medicine:  
Ending date for medicine:  

 

Parent permission to contact pharmacy and physician:  I give my permission for the child care business to contact my child’s pharmacy and 
physician should questions arise or a situation occur that involves my child and the medication. 
Parent Name (print):  Parent Signature:  Date:  
 
1The time of day for the medicine needs to be consistent between home, child care and other programs where the child is located like school.  Ask the parent 
when the medicine is given at home so medicine doses may be evenly spaced for maximum benefit. 
2The medicine may need to be given before meals, after meals, with food, with a specific liquid (water or milk).  All instructions should be written on the medicine 
label or instructions.  When in doubt, call the pharmacy where the prescription medicine was dispensed. 

January 2007 
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Monthly Medicine Record 

Child Name:  
Month  
Year  Day of Month 
Medicine, Dose 
and Route 

Time of 
Day 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 

Example:  Amoxicillin 
250 mg., 1 teaspoon, 
orally 

10 am *                               

 

                                

                                 

                                 

                                 

                                 

*Place your initials in the box showing the medicine was given.  Use an “A” when a child is absent.  Use an “O” when medication is not given for any reason.  
Document the reason the medication was not given and document that the parent was informed. 

Instructions for using Medicine Record: 
• First Column:  Record the medicine name, dosage, and route. 
• Second Column:  Record the time(s) of day the medicine is to be given at child care.  

If the medicine is given more than one time a day, use a separate row for each time 
of day the medicine is to be given. 

• Third – Last Column:  The person who measures and gives the medicine must place 
the person’s initials in the appropriate row (for time) and column (for date) that the 
medicine was given.  Use columns numbered from 1-31 for the date.  The person 
who measures the medicine dosage is the only person allowed to give the medicine. 

 Call the Healthy Child Care Iowa talkline 1-800-369-2229 
to order free copies of this form. 

Iowa Poison Control Center:  1-800-222-1222 

Attach 
Child 
Photo 
Here 
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Emergency Drill Record 

Year  

Month Fire Drills Smoke Alarms Tornado Drills 

January 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

February 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

March 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

April 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

May 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

June 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

July 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

August 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

September 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

October 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

November 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

December 
Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 

Date replaced batteries: Date: 
Evac. time: 
# of children: 
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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Child Care Provider Physical Examination Report 
Child Care Center Personnel  Child Development Home Providers 

Name Date of Examination 

Patient may: 
 have very frequent contact with children (infant through school-age) in care.  
 be responsible for children’s physical care and social development during day and nighttime hours. 
 need to lift children, bend, and stand for long periods of time. 

Child Care Provider Health Concerns (Please check all that apply.) 
 

 Allergies 
 Breathing problems (asthma, emphysema) 
 Diabetes or problems like thyroid, other 
 Heart, blood pressure problems 
 Vision 

 Illegal or prescription drug abuse 
 Neurologic problems (epilepsy, Parkinsonism, other) 
 Smoking or alcohol use 
 Susceptibility to infection, illness 
 Stomach or bowel problems 

 Skin problems (eczema, rashes, conditions incompatible with frequent hand washing, other) 
 Emotional or nervous problems (depression, difficulty handling stress) 
 Musculoskeletal problems (low back pain, susceptibility to back injury, neck problems, arthritis) 
 Hearing or difficulty hearing in a noisy environment 
 Other (explain):  

  

  
 

Immunization Status 

All child care employees and providers shall consult with their physician regarding the receipt of age 
appropriate immunizations in accordance with the current Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices 
(ACIP) recommended immunization schedule.  Individuals involved in the provision of child care often come 
in contact with very young children, whom may or may not be fully immunized against vaccine-preventable 
diseases.  It is essential every child care employee and provider discuss with their physician the benefits 
and risks associated with receiving or not receiving all ACIP age appropriate immunizations before 
becoming involved in a child care setting.  

(PHYSICIAN MUST CHECK ONE AND DATE) 
 Patient’s immunization history was reviewed and patient is current with all ACIP recommended 
immunizations. 

 Patient received consultation regarding the receipt of age appropriate immunizations in accordance with 
the current ACIP recommended immunization schedule and declined the following recommended 
vaccinations: 

  

  

Date:  
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Tuberculosis Screening 

All child care employees and providers shall receive a baseline screening for Tuberculosis.  Baseline 
screening shall consist of two components: 

 1. Assessing for current symptoms of active TB disease.  
 2. Screening for risk factors associated with TB. 

Those individuals identified as belonging to a defined high-risk group or who have signs or symptoms 
consistent with TB disease shall be evaluated for TB infection and TB disease.   

(PHYSICIAN MUST COMPLETE AND CHECK AND DATE BOTH BOXES) 
 TB signs and symptoms screen completed Date:  

 TB risk factor screen completed Date:  

** Tuberculosis medical consultation and TB medications can be accessed by calling the Iowa 
Department of Public Health, Tuberculosis Control Program at 515-281-8636 or 515-281-7504. 

Other Communicable Diseases and Overall Health Status 

Does the individual have a known communicable disease or other health conditions that poses a threat to 
the health, safety, or well-being of children?   Yes      No (If yes, describe in detail below.) 

Does the child care provider have a condition that limits the provider’s ability to safely supervise or evacuate 
multiple dependent children in case of emergency?   Yes      No (If yes, describe in detail below.) 
  

  

  

Conclusion 

 Individual may be involved with child care 

 Individual may be involved with child care, with the following accommodations and restrictions (please 
describe below) 

 Individual may not be involved with child care 

Necessary Accommodations or Restrictions to Meet the Demands of Providing Child Care 
(Please detail.) 

  

  

  

Health Care Provider Signature Date 

Mailing Address Telephone 

Provider Type: 
  MD      DO      PA      ARNP 

Iowa License Number 
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Daily Attendance Record for “Part-Time” Hours 
(Only 2 “part-time” children can be present at one time.  Additional copies may be needed if there are more children attending as “part-time.”) 

Provider’s Name  Month/Year  Page #  

Day 
First Child 

(last, first name) 

Time In 
and 

Time Out 
Second Child 

(last, first name) 

Time In 
and 

Time Out 
Third  Child 

(last, first name) 

Time In 
and 

Time Out 

Total hours 
used for all 

children 
each day 

180 Total hours 
(Start with 180 hours 

and subtract each day’s 
total hours used.  When 

zero is reached there 
are no part-time hours 

left in the month.) 

1         
2         
3         
4         
5         
6         
7         
8         
9         

10         
11         
12         
13         
14         
15         
16         
17         
18         
19         
20         
21         
22         
23         
24         
25         
26         
27         
28         
29         
30         
31         

Total “part-time” hours 
used for this month: 
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Daily Attendance Record for “Part-Time” Hours 
(Only 2 “part-time” children can be present at one time.  Additional copies may be needed if there are more children attending as “part-time.”) 

Provider’s Name Mary Jones  Month/Year May 2002  Page # 1 
 

Day 
First Child 

(last, first name) 

Time In 
and 

Time Out 
Second Child 

(last, first name) 

Time In 
and 

Time Out 
Third  Child 

(last, first name) 

Time In 
and 

Time Out 

Total hours 
used for all 

children 
each day 

180 Total hours 
(Start with 180 hours 

and subtract each day’s 
total hours used.  When 

zero is reached there 
are no part-time hours 

left in the month.) 

1 Jones, Evelyn 8A-9:45A Smith, Terry 1P-2P   2¾ 177¼ 
2         
3 Jones, Evelyn 8A-9:45A     1¾ 175½ 
4         
5         
6         
7         
8 Cooper, Jan 11:30A-1P Smith, Terry 1P-3P   3½ 172 
9         

10 Smith, Sally 1P-2:30P Smith, Terry 1P-2:30P James, Rose 4P-6P 5 167 
11         
12         
13         
14 Greene, Marie 7:30A-9:15A Smith, Sally 1P-3P Smith, Terry 1P-3P 5¾ 161¼ 
15         
16         
17         
18         
19 Greene, Marie 7:30A-8:45A     1¼ 160 
20         
21 Greene, Marie 7:30A-9A     1½ 158½ 
22         
23         
24         
25 Cooper, Jan 2P-3:45P     1¾ 156¾ 
26         
27         
28         
29         
30         
31         

Total “part-time” hours 
used for this month: 23¼ 
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Iowa Department of Human Services 

Child Care Provider 

Pet Health Examination Veterinary Health Certificate 
 

Child Care Provider Pet Information 
 

Name of Pet Owner 

Address 

Name of Pet Species Breed 

Sex Date of Birth Date of Exam 

Rabies Vaccination:  Date Given Date Expires 

 

Veterinary Provider Information 
 

Name of Veterinarian Veterinarian’s License Number 

Address of Veterinarian Phone Number of Veterinarian 

 

Dogs and Cats 

 On the above date I completed a health examination on the dog or cat listed above.  At that 
time I certify that the animal in question was healthy.  The animal is current on all 
recommended core vaccinations, including rabies, and there was no evidence of 
endoparasites (roundworms, hookworms, whipworms) or ectoparasites (fleas, mites, ticks, 
lice) found in or on the animal. 

Birds 

 On the above date I completed a health examination on the bird listed above.  At that time I 
certify that the animal in question was healthy and free of infectious diseases. 

Veterinarian’s Signature Date 
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