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PREPARE FOR CPS ASSESSMENT 
Policy Procedure 

Review Intake 
Information 
Iowa Code section 
232.71B 

Review intake information and his

� Review the Child Protective Se
form 470-0607. 

� Review information from syste
(STAR, FACS, IABC, ACAN). 

� Recontact reporter if appropria

Case Responsibility 
Iowa Code section 
232.71B 

Upon being assigned a case for C
assessment, consider the followin

� Are there collateral contacts th
made before you observe and 
subjects of the report? 

� Is the child named in the repor
children under the care of the a
perpetrator under immediate th

WORKER SAFETY 
Policy Procedure 

CPS Worker Safety 
 

Consider the risk of the situation b
the initial contact with the family: 

� History of domestic violence? 

� Location extremely isolated or 

� Indication of mental illness, dru
volatile behavior? 

� Firearms or other weapons in t

� Indications to suggest the man
illegal drugs in the home? 
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Plan when, where, and how the observation 
of the child will take place. 

Prior behavior is an indicator of future 
behavior; therefore, historical information 
should be reviewed to allow the CPW to 
complete a thorough assessment. 

PS 
g: 

at should be 
interview the 

t, or any other 
lleged 
reat? 

Confidential access to the child victim is 
sometimes needed when the child’s safety 
or immediate needs warrant it. 
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efore making 

dangerous? 

g abuse or 

he home? 

ufacturing of 

Careful evaluation of the allegations should 
be made to address the immediate safety 
needs of all children and the CPW. 

Consult with your supervisor on the 
involvement of law enforcement when any 
element of risk to worker safety is identified. 
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CHILD SAFETY 
Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Initiate the 
Assessment 
Iowa Code section 
232.71B 

Begin the assessment within the response time 
frame for observation of the child established 
during the intake process: 

� One hour 
� 24 hours 
� 96 hours 

One hour:  Immediate threat or high risk to 
the child’s safety. 

24 hours:  Report doesn’t involve 
immediate threat or high risk to the child but 
person alleged responsible has access to 
child. 

96 hours:  Report doesn’t involve 
immediate threat or high risk to the child and 
person alleged responsible does not have 
access to child. 

OBSERVING THE CHILD VICTIM 
Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Observing the Child 
Victim Without 
Parental Consent 
Iowa Code sections 
232.68, subsection 3, and 
232.71B, subsection 6 

Determine if confidential access is required: 

� Request the juvenile court to order access to 
the child if the child’s safety is in question at 
your option. 

� If the court refuses to issue an order, consult 
with supervisory staff.  Supervisory staff may 
contact program staff or legal staff to 
determine a course of action.   

� Obtain prior supervisory approval.  If no prior 
supervisory approval, notify supervisor ASAP 
following access. 

� Make reasonable effort to contact the parent 
or guardian on the same day that you see the 
child, except when doing so would endanger 
the child or others. 

� Document reason for confidential access in 
the Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary, form 470-3240. 

Every child protective assessment case has 
the potential for unexpected confrontation.  
A thorough intake and preparation reduces 
the likelihood of danger, but the child 
protective worker should always remain 
alert to possible danger. 

There are situations when it is necessary to 
observe or interview children without prior 
parental consent.  Confidential access to the 
child victim is sometimes needed when the 
child’s safety or immediate needs warrant it. 

Observe the Child and 
the Child’s 
Environment 
 

When you observe a child victim: 

� Have a witness present. 

� Describe and document all physical injuries. 

� Observe other children who are in the care of 
the person alleged responsible for the abuse 
when concerns regarding the protection of 
these children are identified. 

When observing a child over age four, do 
not touch the child, remove the child’s 
clothing or convince the child to remove 
clothing. 

When observing a child under age four, you 
may view the child’s unclothed body other 
than genitalia or pubes with the parent’s 
permission. 

Observe Other 
Children in the Home 
 

Observe other children who are in the care of the 
person alleged responsible for the abuse when 
concerns regarding the protection of these 
children are identified.   

� Other children who are in the same home as 
the parents when the parents are alleged to 
be responsible for the abuse 

� Other children in the same facility when the 
person alleged to be responsible for the 
abuse works or lives at the facility 

When observing the other children, follow 
the same timeframes and guidelines used 
for observing the child named in the report. 

When the child and parent are at a domestic 
violence shelter, shelter staff may decline to 
confirm their presence to you. 

RC-0086  (10/06) Page 2 

http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/policyanalysis/PolicyManualPages/Manual_Documents/Master/17-B.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/policyanalysis/PolicyManualPages/Manual_Documents/Master/17-B1.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/policyanalysis/PolicyManualPages/Manual_Documents/Master/17-B3.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/policyanalysis/PolicyManualPages/Manual_Documents/Master/17-B.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/policyanalysis/PolicyManualPages/Manual_Documents/Master/17-B1.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/policyanalysis/PolicyManualPages/Manual_Documents/Master/17-B3.pdf


Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Observe Children in 
Domestic Violence 
Shelter 
 

If shelter care staff refuse to share information, 
indicate you have reason to believe the parent 
and child are living at the shelter. 

� Leave a message for the parent with the 
shelter care staff. 

� If the parent has not contacted you within one 
working day, consult your supervisor 
regarding the need for juvenile court 
intervention. 

 

INITIAL SAFETY ASSESSMENT 
Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Safety Assessment 
 

Complete a safety assessment within five 
business days of intake: 

� On the Safety Assessment/Plan, form 
470-4132, document: 
• Each safety factor associated with the 

allegation. 
• The family functioning domain most 

closely associated with each identified 
safety factor. 

• Actions taken or services initiated to 
address each identified safety factor. 

� On the Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary, form 470-3240, document: 
• Specific individuals, behaviors, conditions, 

and circumstances associated with each 
identified safety concern. 

• Brief description of the abuse allegations. 
• A narrative summary of your observations 

findings, and determination. 

� Obtain supervisory approval of the safety 
assessment. 

Immediate steps should be taken at the 
moment the CPW becomes aware of any 
safety factor that puts a child in danger of 
harm. 

While policy allows up to 5 days to complete 
the safety assessment, the CPW should 
always be aware of the 17 safety factors 
and carefully assess the safety of each child 
at every contact. 

The information gathered during the safety 
assessment process will become the 
foundation for the Child Protective Services 
Assessment Summary. 

Safety Decision 
 

Choose one of the following three safety 
decisions: 

� Safe:  No safety factors were identified. 

� Conditionally safe:  One or more safety 
factors were identified and the child can be 
protected by a voluntary safety plan with the 
parents. 

� Unsafe:  One or more safety factors were 
identified and the child cannot be protected by 
a voluntary safety plan with the parents. 

Before a decision of “unsafe” is reached, 
evaluate reasonable efforts to prevent 
placement.  Such consideration should 
include: 

� Family resources, neighbors or 
individuals in the community. 

� Community agencies or services. 

� Have the alleged perpetrator leave the 
home. 

� Have the nonabusing caregiver move to 
a safe environment with the child. 

When any of the above reasonable efforts 
are utilized to protect the child, a safety plan 
must be completed reflecting the conditions 
and caregiver’s agreement. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Child is Conditionally 
Safe 
 

Complete a safety plan with the primary 
caretaker responsible for the safety of the child: 

� Describe what tasks will be done and services 
provided to address how behaviors, 
conditions, and circumstances associated 
with the safety concern will be “controlled.”  
Indicate what will be done, by whom, how 
often, and for how long. 

� Indicate how the plan will be monitored. 

� Obtain supervisory approval of safety plan. 

� Obtain family agreement with the safety plan. 

When a child is determined to be 
conditionally safe, the CPW must create a 
safety plan to document the actions taken 
and services provided to ensure child 
safety. 

Family involvement in the development of 
the safety plan is imperative.  Family-
centered principles support the premise that 
the greater the family’s participation, the 
more ownership the family has in successful 
outcomes.   

The CPW should take into consideration the 
family strengths and resources that can be 
built upon to reach a mutual agreement that 
reflects the shared goal of keeping the child 
safe. 

Child is Unsafe 
 

If child removal is necessary, notify the 
supervisor and document the action in the Child 
Protective Services Assessment Summary, form 
470-3240. 

Consider placement options in the following 
order: 

� Voluntary placement with relative or family 
friend 

� Emergency protective custody actions 
through law enforcement, physician or court 
order 

The primary purpose of the assessment is 
to take action to protect and safeguard the 
child. 

A juvenile court order is required if child is 
placed in foster care. 

Juvenile Court Action 
Iowa Code section 
232.71C 

When the safety decision indicates juvenile court 
action is indicated to remove the child or gain 
parental cooperation, complete forms: 

� Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary. 

� CINA petition within 72 hours if emergency 
protective custody required. 

� CINA petition if family will not voluntarily 
accept services and there is a founded 
assessment and the child is under six. 

� There is a founded assessment and the child 
is at moderate to high risk. 

The juvenile court is used to: 

� Grant a court order for the emergency 
protective removal of a child. 

� Grant a court order mandating services 
when the caregivers do not voluntarily 
agree to participate in services.   
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CONDUCTING INTERVIEWS 
Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Make Family Contacts 
Iowa Code sections 
232.68, subsection 3, and 
232.71B 

Complete observation and interviews: 

� Alleged victim 

� Siblings of the alleged victim and other 
children under the care of the alleged 
perpetrator must be seen within the same 
time frames as the victim child 

� Parents or caregivers alleged to be 
responsible 

� Parents or caregivers not alleged to be 
responsible 

� The child’s environment 

Document contacts in the summary of contacts 
section of the Child Protective Services 
Assessment Summary, form 470-3240. 

The siblings of the alleged victim, as well as 
other children under the care of the alleged 
perpetrator, must be interviewed to ensure 
their safety and to determine whether they 
have witnessed the alleged abuse. 

The purpose of interviewing the parent not 
responsible for the abuse is to determine 
what he or she knows about the alleged 
abuse, gather information regarding risk of 
abuse, and assess the parent’s capacity to 
protect the child. 

The child’s environment must be observed 
to determine whether it poses a safety risk, 
as well as, to provide valuable information 
regarding the allegation (i.e., evidence of 
drug use, adequacy of food).  

MAKING COLLATERAL CONTACTS 
Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Make Collateral 
Contacts 
Iowa Code section 
232.71B 

Interview individuals and professionals who are 
familiar with the child and family and can provide 
additional information:    

� Collateral contacts identified by the family 
� Neighbors 
� Teachers and day care staff 
� Physicians and other medical professionals 
� Other service providers 

Document contacts in the summary of contacts 
section of the Child Protective Services 
Assessment Summary. 

Effective selection and interviewing of 
collateral contacts is critical to accurate and 
timely decision-making. 

While family-identified collateral contacts 
must be made, the CPS worker should 
consider additional credible sources of 
information regarding family functioning, 
child well being, and historical events as 
they pertain to child safety. 

MAKING AN ALLEGATION FINDING 
Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Gather Physical and 
Documentary 
Evidence 
Iowa Code section 
232.71B 

For all allegation types, gather physical and 
documentary evidence relevant to the 
allegations:  

� Talk with caregivers about how their behavior 
could have caused the abuse.  When 
possible, obtain an admission by the person 
responsible. 

� Determine if medical evidence exists and 
obtain medical reports. 

� Determine if there is a criminal history or 
criminal charges pending. 

� Determine if the child victim was placed in 
danger of injury or death. 

Documentation of all evidence should be 
relevant to the allegations in the report.  The 
findings of the assessment will determine 
continued DHS involvement with a family, 
voluntarily or involuntarily and, therefore, 
must be thorough and accurate.   

Among the many factors the CPW must 
consider in planning the initial observation of 
the child, the response time, nature of the 
allegations, location of the child, and 
confidential access are critical. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Physical Abuse 
Iowa Code section 
232.68(2a) 
441 IAC 175.21(232,235A) 

Make a finding of physical abuse: 

� Determine if physical injury has occurred 

� Observe or determine symptoms of abuse 

� Describe injury 

� Obtain photographs of injury 

� Determine if injury was accidental 

� Determine if the injury was the result of 
discipline 

The rights of caregivers and children must 
be respected throughout the process of 
determining whether physical abuse has 
occurred. 

� Child four or older:  Removal or 
adjustment of clothing must be voluntary 
on the child’s part.  Do not touch the 
child. 

� Child under four:  Removal of clothing 
permitted except genitalia and pubes.  If 
alleged injury in this area, do not observe 
without parental consent. 

� Determine developmental age when 
inspecting children with mental 
disabilities. 

� Child 10 or older may terminate the 
interview. 

Mental Injury 
Iowa Code section 
232.68(2a) 

Make a finding of mental injury: 

� Gather evidence from a physician or mental 
health professional 

� Describe observable child behavior that 
constitutes a substantial impairment 

In order to establish that mental injury has 
occurred as a result of the actions of 
caretakers, there must be solid evidence in 
the form of a diagnosis by a licensed clinical 
professional as well as clear evidence of 
substantial impairment of child functioning. 

Denial of Critical Care 
Iowa Code section 
232.68(2d) 
441 IAC 175.21(232,235A) 

Make a finding of denial of critical care: 

� Determine if family is financially able to 
provide for child’s needs 

� In the event of environmental hazards, obtain 
photographs 

It is important to separate issues of poverty 
from neglect when assessing allegations of 
denial of critical care.  When the caregiver is 
financially unable to provide for the child’s 
needs, the provision of or referral to 
community resources and services may 
resolve the situation. 

Sexual Abuse 
Iowa Code section 
232.68(2c) 

Make a finding of sexual abuse: 

Closely collaborate with all members of the 
interdisciplinary team, including law enforcement, 
and medical. 

Sexual abuse is any sexual offense 
committed to or with a child.  Sexual abuse 
may result from the actions of a caregiver or 
the omission (failure to protect the child) of a 
caregiver.   

If more than one sexual offense has 
occurred in a single incident, consider the 
most serious offense.  It is not necessary to 
make multiple determinations from a single 
offense. 

Presence of Illegal 
Drugs 
Iowa Code section 
232.68(2f) 

Make a finding of presence of illegal drugs in a 
child’s body: 

� Obtain drug screen and medical laboratory 
reports 

� Talk with caretaker about how child ingested 
drugs 

� Document evidence (i.e., paraphernalia) and 
obtain photographs if possible 

When an infant is born drug-exposed, 
medical laboratory reports are required to 
confirm this.   

When an older child has ingested drugs, the 
focus of the assessment is to determine 
whether the caregiver was directly or 
indirectly responsible. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Bestiality in the 
Presence of a Minor 
Iowa Code section 
232.68(2)(h), 2001 
Supplement 

Make a finding of bestiality in the presence of a 
minor: 

Document a description of the sexual activity with 
an animal that the child engaged in or witnessed. 

Bestiality in the presence of a minor may 
result from the actions of a caregiver or the 
omission (failure to protect the child) of a 
caregiver.   

Dangerous Substance 
Iowa Code section 
232.2(6)(p), 2001 
Supplement 

Make a finding of manufacturing or possession of 
a dangerous substance. 

Determine whether the caregiver did any of the 
following: 

� Unlawfully manufactured a dangerous 
substance, or 

� Knowingly allowed the manufacture of a 
dangerous substance by another person, or 

� Possessed a product used in the 
manufacturing of illegal drugs with the intent 
to manufacture 

Recent years have seen an increase in the 
in-home production of methamphetamines.  
The production process is extremely 
dangerous. 

The manufacture or possession of the 
dangerous substance must have occurred in 
the presence of the child, under 
circumstances in which there is evidence 
that the child could see, smell or hear the 
manufacture or possession.   

Child Prostitution 
Iowa Code section 
232.68(2e) 

Make a finding of child prostitution: 

� Describe how the person responsible allowed, 
permitted or encouraged the child to engage 
in prostitution 

� Describe how the person responsible enticed 
or engaged the child into prostitution 

This finding does not require that the child 
engaged in a sexual act.  The caregiver’s 
offer or “allowing, permitting or encouraging” 
the child’s exploitation is sufficient. 

This finding does not require the exchange 
of money for a sexual act. 

Co-habits With a 
Registered Sex 
Offender 
 

Make a finding of co-habits with a registered sex 
offender: 

Determine whether the person who is the parent, 
guardian or person having custody or control 
over a child or a person who is a member of the 
household in which a child resides, knowingly 
co-habits with a person registered or required to 
register on the Sex Offender Registry.   

“Residence” is defined in the law to mean 
the place where a person sleeps, which may 
include more than one location, and may be 
mobile or transitory. 

Exceptions to this law are: 

� The registered sex offender is a parent of 
the named victim child, or 

� The registered sex offender is married to 
the person responsible for the care of the 
named child victim, or 

� The registered sex offender is a minor 
residing in the home of their parent, 
guardian or a person having custody or 
control over the minor. 
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Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Placement on 
Registry 
Iowa Code section 
232.71D 

Determine placement on Registry and document 
on Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary, form 470-3240: 

� Indicate confirmed abuse or neglect in the 
specific maltreatment area 

� Determine if the confirmed abuse or neglect is 
lack of supervision, clothing or physical abuse 
and if endangerment or injury was minor, 
isolated, and unlikely to reoccur 

� All confirmed abuse or neglect that do not 
meet an exception are placed on Registry 

� Document placement on Registry decision in 
the Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary 

Placing the name of a person responsible 
for the abuse on the Registry may affect 
employment and licensure opportunities for 
that person if the person wishes to pursue 
child-caring activities. 

Individuals whose names have been placed 
in the Registry have the right to appeal that 
decision. 

ANALYSIS OF SAFETY AND RISK FACTORS 
Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Risk Assessment In the Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary, complete the family risk assessment: 

� Review DHS records, criminal history, and 
summary of contacts 

� Determine risk score 

� Determine policy overrides 

� Assign risk level 

� Obtain supervisory review 

Risk assessment follows safety assessment 
as it looks at the likelihood of future abuse.  
Risk level is used to make decisions about 
the provision of services to the family based 
upon the family’s strengths, needs, and prior 
history. 

Consider the following: 

� Does the caretaker responsible for the 
abuse accept responsibility, demonstrate 
remorse, and accept suggested 
services? 

� Does a caretaker not responsible for the 
abuse demonstrate willingness and 
ability to protect the child? 

Assessment of Family 
Strengths and Needs 

In the Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary, document your assessment of the 
family’s strengths using the family functioning 
domain criteria: 

� Child well-being 
� Parental capabilities 
� Family safety 
� Family interactions 
� Home environment 

It is not necessary that all assessments 
address every item listed in the family 
functioning domains.  Address items that 
are relevant to the given situation. 

Where there are no identified concerns, 
summarize the strengths that support that 
conclusion. 
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SERVICE ELIGIBILITY, REFERRALS, AND CASE TRANSFER 
Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Service Referral 
Iowa Code section 
232.71B(12) and (13) 

Need for services identified by CPW: 

� Present justification and recommendation for 
services to supervisor 

� Obtain supervisory approval if required 

� Prepare service referral package for SWCM 
to include: 
• Safety assessment and safety plan, 
• Family Risk Assessment, form 470-4133, 

and 
• Child Protective Services Assessment 

Summary, form 470-3240 (if available) 

At any point in the assessment process the 
CPW can identify and request services to 
support the child or family and support the 
safety plan. 

The justification for and utilization of the 
service should be reflected in the safety 
plan and the Child Protective Services 
Assessment Summary. 

Supervisory Review CPS supervisory review of findings and 
recommendations: 

� Consult with supervisor throughout the 
assessment process. 

� Discuss case decision and registry placement 
based on needs and strengths and service 
eligibility. 

� Discuss recommendations for services. 

CPS supervisors provide the first level of 
quality assurance within the system.  It is 
important that supervisors be apprised of 
case issues, progress, and decisions 
throughout the assessment process.   

Case Disposition Select the appropriate case disposition from the 
following choices: 

� Removal from home – transfer to SWCM 
� Open for DHS services – transfer to SWCM 
� Refer to community care – close case 
� Provide information and referral – close case 

The case disposition decision is based upon 
criteria including the level of risk, age of 
child, assessment findings, and family’s 
need for services. 

The Life of the Case – Case History 
provides the ability to document and retrieve 
in a concise format the service history 
provided to the family.  Readily available 
information of previous referrals guides the 
CPW in making current decisions. 

Open DHS Case Complete the transfer referral packet to be 
provided to the SWCM: 

� Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary 

� Safety Assessment/Plan, form 470-4132 

� Family Risk Assessment 

� Application for All Social Services, 470-0615 

� Supervisory review 

� Other notes, forms, reports 

Open case for DHS services when the 
following apply: 

� Child is 0 to 6 years old, the allegation is 
founded, and the risk is low, moderate or 
high.   

� Child six years old or older, the allegation 
is founded, and the risk is moderate or 
high.   

� Other supervisory override. 

RC-0086  (10/06) Page 9 

http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/policyanalysis/PolicyManualPages/Manual_Documents/Master/17-B.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/policyanalysis/PolicyManualPages/Manual_Documents/Master/17-B1.pdf
http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/policyanalysis/PolicyManualPages/Manual_Documents/Master/17-B3.pdf


Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

Community Care When the case is not kept open for DHS 
services, consider whether the case meets the 
criteria for community care. 

Discuss with the family their need for services 
and describe providers that are able to provide 
those services. 

Determine whether the family meets the criteria 
for community care referral: 

� Any age child, the allegation is confirmed, and 
the risk is moderate or high. 

� Any age child, the allegation is unconfirmed, 
and the risk is moderate or high.   

� Children age six or older, the allegation is 
founded, and the risk is low. 

If the family meets one of the criteria for 
community care, consider: 

� Does the family need assistance to 
prevent future incidents of abuse? 

� Does the family need support beyond 
formal or informal systems? 

� Are the parents willing to be referred to 
community care services? 

If you can answer Yes to all three questions, 
refer to community care. 

Information and 
Referral or 
Information Only 

Confirmed and not confirmed cases may be 
provided “information only” or “information and 
referral.” 

Record “information and referrals” provided to 
the family as part of the service history section of 
the Life of Case – History. 

 

CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES ASSESSMENT SUMMARY 
Policy Procedure Practice Guidance 

CPS Assessment 
Summary 
Iowa Code sections 
232.71B and 232.71D 

In the Child Protective Services Assessment 
Summary, form 470-3240: 

� Document your analysis of the safety and risk 
factors, family strengths and needs, and 
recommendations for future actions or 
strategies in working with this family. 

� Show the preponderance of credible evidence 
that the allegation is true or false. 

� Provide a rationale for the finding. 

� Obtain supervisory review and approval. 

� Indicate assessment finding of: 
• Not confirmed 
• Confirmed, placed on Registry 
• Founded 

� Note if it is an addendum to previous 
summary. 

The CPW has 20 days in which to arrive at 
a finding regarding the allegation and to 
complete the full assessment. 

The CPW will determine whether the 
incident is confirmed, and whether the 
incident rises to the level of placement in the 
Registry. 

The family’s needs and strengths will be 
assessed and safety and risk factors will be 
addressed. 
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