Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS) Settings Transition

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) have issued regulations that define the settings in which it is permissible for states to pay for Medicaid Home- and Community-Based Services (HCBS).  The purpose of these regulations is to ensure that individuals receive Medicaid HCBS in settings that are integrated in and support full access to the greater community. This includes opportunities to seek employment and work in competitive and integrated settings, engage in community life, control personal resources, and receive services in the community, to the same degree as individuals who do not receive HCBS.

News and Announcements
  • The state submitted a final statewide setting transition plan (STP) to the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) on December 19, 2019. The STP covers the 1915(i) State Plan HCBS program known as HCBS Habilitation Services and all seven 1915(c) HCBS Waivers. The plan covers all HCBS services whether provided through the Fee-for-Service (FFS) delivery system or through a Managed Care Organization (MCO), including any additional HCBS provided as “value-added” or 1915(b) (3) services through an MCO.  The final STP is available on the DHS website.
Information Resources
Other relevant documents on the new HCBS regulations

Home- and Community-Based Services for Members Webpage

External HCBS Resources