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Dear Judi, 
 
This letter is in regards to the 5/5/14 follow through compliance check of your Level B, Registered Child 
Development Home.  Iowa Code Chapter 237A and 441 Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 110, 
describes specific requirements that must be met by a Registered Child Development Home.  The 
following areas were out of compliance at the time of my visit: 
 
Iowa Communication 143: 

“For the protection of children, Iowa Code Chapter 237A requires that to be registered, child care 

providers and others in the home must submit to checks for criminal or child abuse history. The 

Department submits record checks for: 

♦ Every operator of a child development home. 

♦ All staff members, including substitute providers, with direct responsibility for child care. 

♦ Anyone 14 years and older who is living in the child development home. 

♦ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone.” 
 
This worker observed an unidentified male who was later determined to be Judi’s paramour come out 
to the living room area from another area of the house.  This worker asked Judi if this individual has 
ever had a background check with the department.  Judi stated that they had not and that “he is not 
usually present when daycare children are here.”   This worker instructed Judi that a background 
check will need to be performed on this individual since he was present when daycare children were 
at the home. 
 

110.4  No more children are in care than the rules for the specific category will allow. 
There were 15 non-school aged children present in the home from 2:15 to 2:45 pm.  There were 10 
non-school-aged children present from 2:45 until 3:50 pm.  There were 5 children under the age of 24 
months present from 2:15 until 3:50 pm.  This worker had Judi sign a safety plan stating that she 
would remain within the statutory number of children allowed at any given time for her daycare.  
Please see attachment. 
 

110.5(1) Conditions in the home are safe, sanitary, and free of hazards. 
This worker observed Judi’s approved substitute place two 5 year old children in the backseat of her 
vehicle to provide transport to them without a proper child restraint device as required by Iowa law. 
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110.5(1)a  Numbers for each child’s parent, physician, and a responsible person are accessible by 

the phone. 
Judi needs to add school and emergency backup contacts to her emergency contact sheet.  This 
requirement was due to be completed by 4/17/14. 
 

110.5(1)b  All medicines and poisonous, toxic, or otherwise unsafe materials are secured from 
access by a child. 

Judi needs to place items in bathroom labeled “Keep Out Of Reach of Children” in higher inaccessible 
area or child locked area for children.  There were unsafe items present in the cabinet underneath of 
the bathroom sink and items in the medicine cabinet above the bathroom sink that needed to be 
secured.  This requirement was due to be completed by 4/17/14. 
 

110.5(1)f Combustible materials are kept away from furnaces, stoves, gas dryers, or water 
heaters. 

Judi needs to store paper towels at least three feet away from the stove.  This requirement was due 
to be completed by 4/17/14. 
 

110.5(2) A provider file is maintained and contains: 
 

110.5(2)a A physician’s signed statement of health and immunization status on the provider and 
all members of the household who may be present when children are in the home.  Statements 
must be obtained at the time of initial registration and updated every two years. 

Judi needs to show proof of immune status for MMR and Polio shot for herself and proof of 
immunization status for MMR, Polio and dTap for Patricia.  This requirement was due to be completed 
by 3/18/14.  Patricia’s form was checked but not dated underneath section of the form reviewing 
immunization history. 
 

110.5(3) Activity Program. 
 

110.5(3)e All play equipment and materials are in a safe condition, for both indoor and outdoor 
activities. 

Judi will have carpet laid in place in her living room to cover up hazards present with asbestos tiles by 
3/19/14.  This worker observed an area rug in the living room; however it did not cover up all of the 
tiles that had cracks in them.  The area rug present in the living room was dirty and needed to be 
vacuumed.  There were children laying on this carpet for nap time at the start of this worker’s visit. 
 

110.5(8) Children’s Files 
 

110.5(8) An individual file is maintained for each child and updated annually or when there are 
changes.  Each file contains: 

 
110.5(8)a Identifying information including, at a minimum, the child’s name, birth date, parent’s 

name, address, telephone number, special needs of the child and the parent’s work address and 
telephone number. 

Need for child that just started at daycare. 
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110.5(8)b Emergency information including where the parent can be reached, the name, street 
address, city and telephone of the child’s regular doctor, and the name number, telephone number, 
and relationship to the child of another adult available in case of emergency. 

Need for child that just started at daycare. 
 

110.5(8)c A signed medical consent from the parent authorizing emergency treatment. 
Need for child that just started at daycare. 
 

110.5(8)d For infants and preschoolers: An admission physical examination, on the first day of 
attendance, including past health history, status of present health, allergies and restrictive 
conditions, and recommendations for continued care when necessary.  The date of the exam is not 
more than 12 months before the child’s first day of attendance. 

Need for child that just started at daycare. 
 

110.5(8)f A list signed by the parent which names persons authorized to pick up the child, their 
telephone number, and relationship to the child. 

Need for child that just started at daycare. 
 

110.5(8)g A signed and dated immunization certificate provided by the state department of 
public health. 

Need signature and date on form for Izaac.  This requirement was due to be completed by 4/17/14.  
Need for child that just started at daycare. 
 

110.5(8)i Written permission from the parent(s) for their child to attend activities away from the 
child development home.  It must include times of arrival and departure, destination, and person(s) 
responsible for the child. 

Need for Ty, A.S.(6), A.S.(2).  This requirement was due to be completed by 4/17/14. Need for child 
that just started at daycare. 
 

110.5(9) The provider meets the following requirements: 
 

110.5(9)a Gives careful supervision at all times. 
This worker observed two children under the age of 24 months in high chairs in the kitchen area 
unattended by the daycare staff for 2 minutes or less while they were in the living room dealing with 
other daycare children and daycare parents dropping off children. 
 

110.9(1) SPECIFIC REQUIREMENTS FOR CHILD DEVELOPMENT HOME CATERGORY “B” 
 

110.9(1)a Not more than six preschool children present at any one time including infants. 
There were 15 non-school aged children present in the home from 2:15 to 2:45 pm.  There were 10 
non-school-aged children present from 2:45 until 3:50 pm.   
 

110.9(1)b Of these six children, not more than four children who are 24 months of age or 
younger are present at any one time. 

There were 5 children under the age of 24 months present from 2:15 until 3:50 pm. 
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110.9(1)f When more than 8 children are present for more than two hours, a DHS-approved 
assistant at least 14 years old is present. 
This worker observed Angel’s daughter Allyson assisting with some of the daycare children during 
today’s visit.  This worker asked Judi is approved as an assistant for her daycare at this time.  Judi 
stated that she is going through the process to have this done.  This worker confirmed through the 
KT system that Allyson is not an approved assistant for Judi’s daycare. 

 
You were required to have all non-compliance items completed  from your 2/27/14 compliance visit by 
4/17/14.  There were non-compliance items still present during your follow up visit.   The Department of 
Human Services will begin the process of revoking your child developmental home registration 
certificate. 
 
Please do not hesitate to contact me at DHS at (319) 208-5521 if you have any questions regarding this 
letter.   
  
Sincerely,  
 
Chad Reckling 
Social Worker II  
 
Always Remember: 
 
Child Care Resource and Referral is an excellent resource for providers to access training options and support in 
your area.  You can reach Child Care Resource and Referral at 1-866-324-3236  
 
As you plan your future trainings to meet your 24 hours of training requirement, please remember that you need 
to use only DHS approved training and only 12 hours can be by self-study.  You can access the approved training by 
going to http://www.dhs.state.ia.us/Consumers/Child_Care/Professional_Development.html and you can sign up 
for training at https://ccmis.dhs.state.ia.us/trainingregistry/   
 
All providers need to maintain compliance with rules set out in Iowa Administrative Code, Chapter 110, which 
includes:  441 IAC 110.5(1): Check with the appropriate authorities to determine how the following local, state, or 
federal laws apply to you: • Zoning code • Building code • Fire code • Business license • State and federal income 
tax • Unemployment insurance • Worker’s Compensation • Minimum wage and hour requirements • OSHA • 
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). 


