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IOWA DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES 

$25 Annual Fee Initial Letter to Payee 

 

   

 

 

A new law requires an annual fee for child support services 

 This is NOT a Bill – Do Not Send Money  

This letter tells you about a once a year $25 fee required to cover some of the costs of child support 
services.  This law is effective October 1, 2007.  This yearly fee is different than any application fee 
you paid. 
When is a fee due? 
The law now requires payment of a $25 fee on a case: 

• When the family receiving services has never gotten public assistance (Family Investment 
Program – FIP benefits)*.   

• And when support payments of at least $500 in a year** are sent to a family 
 
The fee is not due for a case if: 

• The fee for that case was paid in another state this year, or 
• You got public assistance for that case in any state. 

 
You can use the form on the next page to tell us you paid the fee in 
another state or got public assistance. 
 
Who pays the fee? 
You do.  Iowa law says the person getting support pays the fee.  The Child Support Recovery Unit 
takes the fee from your support after we’ve sent you $500 in a year.  If we can’t take it all from one 
payment, we will take it from the next ones.  
 
If I have more than one case, is a fee due on each case? 
Yes.  If you get support from more than one payor, a fee is due on each case where at least $500 in 
support is sent to you.  
 
If you have any questions about this letter, please call 1-888-229-9223 or 515-242-5530 in the Des Moines 
area or outside the United States (weekdays 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM). 
     
 
* The public assistance must have been received under Title IV-A of the Social Security Act.  It could also be called TANF, ADC, or some other 
name if received in another state.  The public assistance is a monthly amount received for basic living expenses, not money to pay for child care, car 
repairs, or an emergency one-time payment.  It also does not include food stamps or Medicaid. 
** For the fee, a year starts October 1st and ends the following September 30th.  For example, the first year the fee is due starts October 1, 2007 and 
ends September 30, 2008. 
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Iowa Department of Human Services 
 

Policy Regarding Discrimination, Harassment, Affirmative Action, and Equal Employment Opportunity 
 
It is the policy of the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS) to provide equal treatment in employment and provision of services to applicants, 
employees and clients without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, religion, age, disability, political belief or veteran status. 
 

To file a complaint or concern, please contact DHS at: 
 

Iowa Department of Human Services, Administrator, Diversity Program Unit, 1305 E. Walnut, Des Moines IA  50319-0114; fax (515) 281-4243; or email: 
stopit@dhs.state.ia.us 

 
If you have any questions about this letter, please call 1-888-229-9223 or 515-242-5530 in the 
Des Moines area or outside the United States (weekdays 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM). 
 
  
 
 
 
 

 This is NOT a Bill –Do Not Send Money

Tell us below if: 
• You got public assistance in another state (not Medicaid or food stamps), or 
• The $25 annual fee was paid in another state this year. 

 
I got public assistance in the state of __________________ from ___________________ to 
_________________ for this  
 
child(ren) ____________, _______________, _________________, __________________, 
____________________. 
 
Or the $25 fee was paid on (date) _________________________ in the state of 
___________________. 
 
Send this information to: 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I certify under penalty of perjury and pursuant to the laws of the State of Iowa that the preceding is 
true and correct. 
 
Signature: 
______________________________________________________

Date: 
________________________________
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