
 

 

Subject: Iowa’s Corrective Action Plan for FY2019-2021 Child Care Development Fund (CCCDF) State Plan 
Date: January 14, 2019 

 

The Iowa Department of Human Services is the Lead Agency for the CCDF State Plan. The State Plan outlines the federal 
requirements for accepting CCDF funds and the state must include responses to describe how it is meeting each of those 
requirements.  The federal Office of Child Care (OCC) then reviews the CCDF State Plan and determines if the state is meeting the 
requirements.  If the OCC determines a requirement is not met they require a corrective action plan and may also impose a fiscal 
penalty.   
 
The FFY 19-21 CCDF State Plan included 240 sections requiring responses.  Iowa’s plan was submitted in August 2018.  In December 
2018, the OCC provided Iowa with written feedback that Iowa’s plan was conditionally approved.  As part of the conditional approval 
they identified six sections where they determined that Iowa was not meeting requirements. No fiscal penalties were imposed however; 
a corrective action plan must be submitted to federal partners no later than February 28, 2019.  Additionally Iowa has received a waiver 
to continue work on meeting background check requirements.   
 
The Federal OCC will be conducting an on-site monitoring visit to Iowa in August 2019 to further evaluate compliance with the CCDF 
State Plan. 
 
The table below outlines the areas Iowa must review and address by October 1, 2019.  
*Iowa may request an additional 1 year waiver for background check requirements* 

 
 
 

CFR 
Citation 

State Plan 
Citation 

CCDF Requirement State of Iowa 
Current Process 

Challenge  
Next steps 

45 CFR 
98.21 

3.1.7 
Graduated 
Phase out of 
Assistance 

Annual redetermination by Lead 
Agency(LA) must be set at a 
second threshold of income 
eligibility in accordance with 
one of the following options:  

 85 percent of SMI for a 
family of the same size  

A family whose 
income exceeds 
145% FPL at their 
annual 
redetermination 
review is eligible for 
the new Child Care 

LA is not permitted 
to have a 12 month 
limit on CCA Plus.  

CCA Plus program 
will need to be set 
within an 
acceptable federal 
income threshold 
without a time 
limit.   



2 

 

                       Or 
 Provides justification for 

second eligibility threshold 
that is an amount lower 
than 85 percent of SMI for 
a family of the same size 
but above the Lead 
Agency's (LA) initial 
eligibility threshold  

Assistance (CCA) 
Plus program for 
another12-month 
certification period 
or until their income 
exceeds 85% SMI, 
whichever comes 
first. Need for 
Service beyond 
income eligibility 
must also be met  

 
Develop 
Corrective Action 
Plan (CAP) 

45 CFR 
98.21 

3.3.3 
Change 
reporting 
during the 12 
month 
eligibility 
period 

Must limit notification 
requirements to items that 
impact a family’s eligibility (e.g., 
only if income exceeds 85 
percent of State Median Income 
(SMI), or there is a non-
temporary change in the status 
of the child’s parent  as working 
or attending a job training or 
educational program)  
 

Family must report 
any changes. The 
LA acts on changes 
that reduce a 
family's copayment 
or increase the 
families subsidy 
If the reported 
changes would 
reduce a family's 
subsidy the Lead 
Agency does not 
act on those 
changes unless :  
 

 family's 
income 
exceeds 85 
percent SMI or  

 there is a non-
temporary 
change 
ineligible 
activity in 
which case 90 
days is given 

LA has families 
report income 
changes to the LA to 
assist in determining 
if they will exceed 
85% of the SMI. LA 
cannot require 
reporting of this 
information unless it 
is known that the 
family will exceed 
income over 85% of 
SMI. 
 

 
Families will be 
required to only 
report non 
temporary change 
and income above 
85% SMI. 
 
Develop CAP 
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to start an 
eligible 
activity.  

45 CFR 
98.45 

4.4.1 CCDF 
Payment 
Rates 
sufficient 

LA must certify that CCDF 
payment rates are sufficient to 
ensure equal access for eligible 
families to child care services 
comparable to those families 
not receiving CCDF assistance 
 
Describe how payment rates 
are adequate and have been 
established based on the most 
recent Market Rate Survey 
(MRS) or alternative 
methodology 
 

2018 legislative 
language directed 
the LA to raise CCA 
reimbursement 
rates with the goal 
of raising maximum 
rates to the 50th 
%ile of the 2014 
market rate and to 
increase Quality 
Rating System 
(QRS) 
Infant/Toddler (I/T) 
rates with the goal 
of raising maximum 
rates to the 75th 
%ile of the 2014 
market rate 
effective 01/01/19.  
 

Iowa’s rates are not 
set based on the 
most recent MRS 
(2017). 
 
At time of 
submission (Aug. 
2018) rates were 
based on the 2004 
MRS (+2%, +2%, 
+4%). 
 
As of 01/01/2019 

 35-75th %ile of 
2017 MRS for 
all provider 
types, 
increasing with 
QRS 
involvement.  

 QRS 5 is at the 
75th %ile of the 
2017 MRS. 

 

 
Provide 
Department of 
Human Services 
(DHS) leadership 
with Office of Child 
Care Federal 
response that Iowa 
is not in 
compliance. 
 
Develop a CAP. 

45 CFR 
98.42 

5.3.3 Annual 
monitoring of 
license 
exempt 
providers 
 

LA must have policies and 
practices that require licensing 
inspectors to perform an annual 
monitoring visit of each license-
exempt CCDF provider for 
compliance with health, safety, 
and fire standards. 
 

In-Home providers 
are required to meet 
all training 
requirements in 
minimum health and 
safety, including 1st 
Aid, CPR, 
Mandatory Reporter 
training, and 12 
contact hours of 

Iowa does not 
conduct an annual 
monitoring visit to in-
home programs. 

Develop a CAP. 
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essential health and 
safety content areas  
 
Upon receipt of a 
complaint by the 
LA, the LA may 
conduct a visit to 
evaluate 
compliance 
concerns. 

45 CFR 
98.43 
 

5.4 
Background 
Checks 
 
*Note:  
Officially 
granted a 
waiver for 
5.4, is not 
part of the 
CAP. 

Establish requirements and 
procedures, conduct checks on 
all new and existing staff for 
National Crime Information 
Center (NCIC) National Sex 
Offender Registry 
 
Check of criminal registry in any 
other state where the individual 
has resided in past 5 years 
(existing and new staff) 
 
Check of Sex Offender Registry 
in any other state where the 
individual has resided in past 5 
years (existing and new staff) 
 
Check of Child Abuse/Neglect 
registry in any other state where 
the individual has resided in 
past 5 years (existing and new 
staff) 

Iowa has not yet 
implemented. 
All states applied for 
and received 
extensions through 
9/30/18 and Federal 
Office of Child Care 
committed to 
granting additional 
waivers of up to 2 
years, in one year 
increments 

Iowa has not yet 
implemented. 
 
Iowa has received a 
time-limited waiver 
until 9/30/19 with 
potential 1 year 
renewal. 

 
Continue to work 
with federal 
partners.  

48 CFR 
98.43 

5.4 
Background 
Checks 
 

Establishing requirements and 
procedures for staff members to 
begin work provisionally after 
completing AND RECEIVING 

States received 
feedback from 
Federal partners 
(State Plan (5.4.9 & 

Iowa has received a 
time-limited waiver 
until 9/30/19 with 
potential 1 year 

 
Continue to work 
with federal 
partners.  
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*Note:  
Officially 
granted a 
waiver for 
5.4, is not 
part of the 
CAP. 

satisfactory result on either the 
FBI or State Fingerprint. 

Appendix A.13) 
that as long as 
request was 
submitted, staff 
could start on a 
provisional basis. 
Iowa changed rules 
for child care 
centers to require 
fingerprint 
submission prior to 
employment rather 
than allowing 30 
days before 
submitting  

renewal. 

 


