
 

Important Information for You and Your Family Members 
About the Estate Recovery Program 

What is the estate recovery program? 
Medicaid is a government program that pays for health care for people with limited income.  If you are 
assigned to a Managed Care Organization (MCO) through Medicaid, the state pays the MCO a monthly 
amount, called a capitation fee, for the MCO to manage your medical services.  Medicaid covers many 
services, for example, primary care, hospital stays, prescriptions, and more.  It also pays for people to 
live in a nursing home, if that is what they need. 

To help pay for these services, every state must have a Medicaid Estate Recovery Program.  If you 
received Medicaid benefits, which includes capitation fees paid to MCOs, the state of Iowa has the right 
to ask for money back from your estate after your death.  The state will never ask for more money back 
than it paid for your Medicaid services.  Estate recovery laws were passed by the U.S. Congress and all 
50 states.  In Iowa, the estate recovery program is run by the Iowa Department of Human Services 
(DHS). 

Who does estate recovery impact? 
Estate recovery only applies to Medicaid recipients who: 

• Are age 55 or older, or 
• Are under age 55 and live in a medical facility and will probably not return home. 

What part of an “estate” can be recovered? 
An “estate” includes all: 

• Real property, such as your house, land, etc. 
• Personal property, such as household goods, personal effects, cars, etc. or 
• Any other asset that you own at the time of your death. 

This includes items you own with someone else such as property, trusts, most annuities, and retained 
life estates. 

Can repayment be delayed? 
Medicaid repayment can be delayed if the repayment will create a hardship for your family.  DHS 
decides, on a case-by-case basis, who gets a hardship.  Your family will receive a letter about estate 
recovery and repayment.  Your family will have 30 days from when the letter is received to apply for 
hardship.  Hardship exists for a person applying for the waiver when: 

• The total household income is less than 200% of the federal poverty level for the size of the 
household, and 

• The total household resources are not more than $10,000, and 
• Recovering the resources of the “estate” denies your family of food, clothing, shelter or 

medical care that might put a person’s life or health in danger.  

Medicaid repayment may be delayed if you have a spouse or a dependent child who is under age 21, 
blind, or disabled at your death. 

For more information, call Iowa Medicaid Member Services Toll Free: 800-338-8366  
515-256-4606 (Des Moines area)  

8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m., Monday – Friday 
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