
 

SS-0702-3  (Rev. 10/09) 1 

PARENT GUIDE TO  

CHILD DEVELOPMENT HOME REGISTRATION 

Iowa uses a system for regulation of child development homes known as registration.  Providers 
self-certify that they meet the minimum requirements for registration.  The requirements listed in 
this document apply to registered child development homes.  Iowa law limits the number of 
children a home may care for, whether the home is registered or not.  A nonregistered child care 
home may care for up to five children.   

In issuing a registration certificate, the Department of Human Services (DHS) is stating that the 
provider has certified in writing that the provider will comply with the state regulations in all areas 
of child development home operation.  Responsibility for making sure the requirements are met 
rests primarily with the provider, the parents of children attending that child development home, 
and the community. 

All child development home providers have certified to DHS that their child development home 
meets all of the requirements described here.  (These requirements come from 441 Iowa 
Administrative Code, Chapter 110.)  Providers must display their Certificate of Registration in a 
conspicuous place.  You may review the registration file on a child development home by making 
arrangements with the local DHS office. 

If you have good reason to believe a child development home does not meet these requirements, 
please report the problem to the local DHS office.  Your verbal or written report should include 
the name and address of the home and each specific requirement you believe is not being met.  A 
staff person from DHS will contact the child development home to investigate. 

DHS must seek to check 20% or more of all child development homes in the county during the 
state fiscal year for compliance with registration requirements contained in this handbook.  In 
accordance with legislation passed in 2009, the target percentage of homes that DHS will seek to 
inspect will gradually increase to 100% per fiscal year starting July 1, 2013. 
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Number of Children.  No greater number of children shall be received for care at any one time 
than the number authorized on the registration certificate.  The number of children allowed under 
each category is shown in the following chart.   

For all categories, a provider’s own infant and preschool-age children are counted in the total, but 
the provider’s own children who are attending school are not counted. 
 

Number of Children Allowed in Care by Child Development Home Category 

 Category A Category B Category C 

Under 24 months 4 at a time 
Only 3 may be 
under the age of 
18 months 

4 at a time  
Only 3 may be under the 
age of 18 months 

4 at a time  
Both providers must be 
present when 4 children 
under the age of 18 
months are in care.  

Under school age, 
including under 24 
months 

6 6 12 
If more than 8 are present, 
both providers must be 
present. 

School-aged 
(kindergarten or a 
higher grade) 

2 
for less than 2 
hours at a time 

4 
Can be full-time in child 
care when no school.  
Assistant required if more 
than 8 are present for 
more than 2 hours at a 
time. 

2 
for less than 2 
hours at a time 

Additional part-
time  

0 2 at any one time 2 at any one time 

Maximum capacity 8 12 16 
If more than 8 children are 
present, both providers 
must be present. 

Maximum for 
inclement weather 
and emergency 
school closings 

8 12 
If more than 8 children are 
present, must have a 14 
year-old assistant. 

16 
If more than 8 are present, 
must have 18-year-old 
assistant. 

 
Facility and provider requirements vary, based on the category of home.  The following chart 
outlines the facility, provider, and training requirements for child development homes. 
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Child Development Home Facility, Provider, And Training Requirements 

Category Facility Requirements Provider Qualifications Training Requirements 

A ♦ Fire extinguisher  
♦ Smoke detectors 

♦ 18 years old 
♦ 3 reference letters 

♦ Within 1st 3 months: 
♦ Mandatory reporter 

training 
♦ First aid with rescue 

breathing 
♦ 1st year of registration:   

12 hours training, 2 hours 
must be health and safety 

♦ 2nd year and following:  
12 hours of training 

B ♦ 35 square feet per 
child indoors 

♦ 50 square feet of child 
space outdoors 

♦ Quiet area for sick 
children 

♦ Fire safety: 
♦ Fire extinguisher 
♦ Smoke detectors 
♦ Two direct exits 

♦ 20 years old 
♦ High school diploma or 

GED 
♦ Has either: 

• 2 years experience 
working directly with 
children in child care, or  

• CDA or 2- or 4 -year 
degree in child care 
related field AND 1 
year of experience 
working directly with 
children in child care  

♦ Within 1st 3 months: 
♦ Mandatory reporter 

training 
♦ First aid with rescue 

breathing 
♦ 1st year of registration:   

12 hours training, 2 hours 
must be health and safety 

♦ 2nd year and following:   
12 hours of training 

C ♦ 35 square feet per 
child indoors 

♦ 50 square feet of child 
space outdoors 

♦ Quiet area for sick 
children 

♦ Fire safety: 
♦ Fire extinguisher 
♦ Smoke detectors 
♦ Two direct exits 

One provider who meets these 
qualifications must always be 
present: 
♦ 21 years old 
♦ High school diploma or 

GED 
♦ Has either: 

• 5 years experience 
working directly with 
children in child care 

• CDA or 2 or 4 year 
child care related degree 
AND 4 years 
experience directly with 
children in child care 

The co-provider shall meet the 
qualifications of a Category B 
provider. 

♦ Within 1st 3 months 
♦ Mandatory reporter 

training 
♦ First aid with rescue 

breathing 
♦ 1st year of registration  

12 hours training, 2 hours 
must be health and safety 

♦ 2nd year and following   
12 hours of training 
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CHILD DEVELOPMENT HOME STAFF 

The child development home provider must: 

♦ Give careful supervision at all times. 

♦ Give consistent, dependable care and be capable of handling emergencies. 

♦ Frequently exchange information with the parent of each child to enhance the quality of 
care. 

♦ Be present at all times.  If an emergency occurs or an absence is planned, DHS-approved 
substitute care shall be provided.  When an absence is planned, the parents shall be given 
at least 24 hours’ prior notice. 

Record Checks 

DHS submits record checks for: 

♦ Every operator of a child development home. 
♦ All staff members with direct responsibility for child care, including substitutes. 
♦ Anyone 14 years and older who is living in the child development home. 
♦ Anyone who might have access to a child when the child is alone. 

The purpose of the record checks is to determine whether the person has any founded 
child abuse reports, has any criminal convictions, or is on the sex offender registry. 

If the record check shows that a person has any of the following criminal conviction or 
abuse records, that person cannot be registered as a child development home provider, 
work or live in a child development home, receive public funding for providing child 
care, or live in a home that receives public funding for providing child care. 

♦ Founded child or dependent abuse that was determined to be sexual abuse. 
♦ Placement on the Sex Offender Registry. 
♦ Felony child endangerment or neglect or abandonment of a dependent person. 
♦ A felony domestic abuse. 
♦ A forcible felony. 
♦ Felony crime against a child, including but not limited to sexual exploitation of a 

minor. 

If the record check shows that the person has any of the following criminal conviction 
or abuse records, that person cannot be registered as a child development home 
provider, work or live in a child development home, receive public funding for 
providing child care, or live in a home that receives public funding for providing child 
care for a period of five years from the date of the conviction or abuse report. 

♦ Conviction of controlled substance offense under Iowa Code Chapter 124. 
♦ Founded child abuse that was determined to be physical abuse. 
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If the record check shows a criminal conviction or founded child abuse report for 
convictions other than those listed above, the Department sends that person a Record 
Check Evaluation form.  On this form, the person explains the nature of the incident, 
changes the person has made since the incident, and why the person should be 
approved in spite of the incident.  After reviewing the Record Check Evaluation form, 
DHS determines if the person can be registered or live in a registered home. 

In the evaluation, the Department considers: 

♦ The nature and seriousness of the crime or abuse in relation to the position sought. 
♦ The time elapsed since the commission of the crime or founded abuse. 
♦ The circumstances under which the crime or founded abuse was committed. 
♦ The degree of rehabilitation. 
♦ The number of crimes or founded abuses committed by the person involved. 

Assistants 

Depending on the number of children in care, the provider may be required to have an 
assistant.  The minimum age requirement for the assistant varies, depending on the 
category of child development home (please refer to chart on “Number of Children 
Allowed in Care”).  The purpose of the assistant is to help the provider, not to 
substitute for the provider.  The assistant may never be left alone with the children.  
Ultimate responsibility for supervision of the children is with the child care provider. 

Substitutes 

The child care provider shall assume responsibility for providing adequate and 
appropriate supervision at all times when children are in attendance.  Ultimate 
responsibility for supervision is with the child care provider.  Substitute providers must 
be 18 years of age or older.  All child development home regulations regarding 
supervision and care of children apply to substitutes.  Any substitute provider shall 
have the same responsibility for providing adequate and appropriate supervision.   

Except in emergency situations, the child care provider shall inform parents in advance 
of the planned use of a substitute provider. 

Substitute care may be used in the home up to 25 child care hours per month and for an 
additional period of up to two weeks in a 12-month period.  This limit applies to the 
child development home, regardless of the number of persons who may be providing 
the substitute care.  The provider shall maintain a written record of the number of hours 
substitute care was provided, including the date and the name of the substitute 
provider. 
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CHILD DEVELOPMENT HOME PROGRAM STANDARDS 

A child development home must be located in a single-family residence that is owned, rented, or 
leased by the person or, for dual registrations, by at least one of the persons named on the child 
development home’s certificate of registration.  This may include an apartment, condo, or 
townhouse. 

Activity Program.  There is an activity program which promotes self-esteem and exploration and 
includes: 

♦ Active play. 
♦ Quiet play. 
♦ Activities for large muscle development. 
♦ Activities for small muscle development. 
♦ Play equipment and materials in a safe condition, for both indoor and outdoor activities which 

are developmentally appropriate for the ages and number of children present. 

Children’s Files.  All of the following information must be in your child’s individual file on the 
first day your child attends child care: 

♦ The child’s name, birth date, parent’s name, address, telephone number, special needs, and 
your work address and telephone number. 

♦ A list signed by you which gives the name, telephone number, and relationship of all persons 
authorized to pick up your child. 

♦ Emergency information including where you can be reached; the name, street address, city and 
telephone number of the child’s regular source of health care; and the name, telephone 
number, and relationship to the child of another adult available in case of emergency. 

♦ A signed medical consent from your authorizing emergency treatment. 

♦ For each infant and preschool-age child, an admission physical examination report signed by a 
licensed physician that includes past health history, status of present health, allergies and 
restrictive conditions, and recommendations for continuing care when necessary.  (A statement 
of health condition signed by a physician or designee must be given annually after the date of 
the admission physical.) 

♦ For each school age child, a statement of health status signed by the parent or legal guardian. 

♦ A signed and dated immunization certificate provided by the Iowa Department of Public 
Health.  (For a school-age child, a copy of the most recent immunization record is acceptable.) 

The file must also include written permission from you for your child to attend activities away 
from the child development home.  The permission must include times for departure and arrival, 
destination, and the names of persons who will be responsible for the child. 
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Health and Safety.  Conditions in the home are safe, sanitary, and free of hazards.  This includes: 

♦ A non-pay, working telephone with emergency numbers posted, and numbers for each child’s 
parents, a responsible person who can be reached when the parent is unavailable, and the 
child’s physician.  Cell phone not used as the primary phone. 

♦ All medicines and poisonous, toxic, or otherwise unsafe materials secured from access by a 
child. 

♦ First aid supplies available. 

♦ Medicines given only with parent’s or doctor’s written authorization. 

♦ All accessible electrical outlets safely capped and electrical cords properly used (not running 
cords under rugs, over hoods, through door openings, or other use that has been known to be 
hazardous). 

♦ A safety barrier surrounding any heating stove or heating element, and combustible materials 
kept away from furnaces, stoves, or water heaters. 

♦ Safety gates at stairways and doors provided and used as needed. 

♦ A safe outdoor play area maintained in good condition, fenced when necessary, with both 
sunshine and shade areas. 

♦ Fire or tornado emergency plans posted by all exits, with documented monthly fire and 
tornado drills. 

♦ Annual laboratory analysis of a private water supply. 

♦ Private sewer or waste water treatment facilities and equipment tested for efficient functioning 
and improper leakage. 

♦ Current immunizations for animals and animal waste disposed of properly.  Animals not 
allowed in food preparation areas while food is being prepared or served. 

♦ Pools fenced or covered.  Wading pools drained daily and inaccessible to children when not in 
use. 

♦ If children are allowed to use swimming pools, written permission from parents on file, rescue 
equipment available, and provider accompanies and supervises the children during water 
activities. 

♦ Children under the age of one year placed on their backs when sleeping unless otherwise 
authorized in writing by a physician. 

♦ Smoking and the use of tobacco products prohibited at all times in the home and in every 
vehicle in which children receiving care in the home are transported.  Nonsmoking signs 
posted at every entrance of the home and in every vehicle used to transport children. 

♦ Smoking and the use of tobacco products prohibited in the outdoor play area during the hours 
of operation.   
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♦ Home built before 1960 inspected for lead-based paint hazards and hazards repaired in 
accordance with Iowa Department of Public Health and Iowa and Iowa Department of 
Human Services rules.  

♦ Parents informed about any pets in the home. 

Meals.  Regular meals and midmorning and midafternoon snacks shall be provided which are 
well balanced, nourishing, and in appropriate amounts.  Children may bring food to the child 
development home for their own use, but may not be required to provide their own food. 

Discipline.  Discipline shall conform to the following standards: 

♦ Corporal punishment, including spanking, shaking, and slapping, shall not be used. 

♦ Punishment that is humiliating or frightening or hat causes pain or discomfort to the child 
shall not be used. 

♦ Punishment shall not be administered because of child’s illness or because of progress or lack 
of progress in toilet training, nor shall punishment or threat of punishment be associated with 
food or rest. 

♦ No child shall be subjected to verbal abuse, threats, or derogatory remarks about the child or 
the child’s family. 

♦ Discipline shall be designed to help the child develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect 
for the rights of others. 
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